We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gardens and house; wonderful people”
Review of Hotel Milvia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Milvia
Ranked #12 of 65 San Jose B&B and Inns
Mountain View, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens and house; wonderful people”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I originally decided to stay at Hotel Milvia because it's only a block away from Universidad Latina, not realizing how lucky I was to find this gem of a hotel. The room was quite large with a private bathroom, amazingly quiet, and decorated with simple elegance. I enjoyed spending time on both the rooftop patio and in the lush and well-maintained gardens. The staff were very nice, breakfast hit the spot. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
10
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is superb. Tucked away and very quiet. The owner could not be more charming and the walls are decorated with his wife's excellent art. The architecture of the building is quite breathtaking. If you are going to San Jose, stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is very quiet and very nice; more like a B&B. Hidden out of the center of town it does require a taxi ride in but worth it! Includes a great breakfast, its clean, the owner and staff are SUPER, nice garden enclave surrounded by high walls and security gate. The decor is tasteful and the rooms are quite large and comfortable. One can walk to the main street area for a shopping center and miscellaneous eateries.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Since the breakfast and lounge areas are downstairs where there are rooms, I would suggest an upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kawena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel Milvia became our home away from home as we based our (too) short week in Costa Rica from here. Steve and Carlos were excellent help in securing bus routes and taxis for us. The breakfasts were perfect for what we wanted. Some of the most interesting and friendly people shared breakfast with us and all were repeat customers who made Hotel Milvia their destination whenever in the San Jose area. When we left on for a night at La Selva Biological Station, we were able to leave our carry-ons at the hotel at no charge, leaving us only having to take our backpacks. The same was true for our 2 nights at Tortuguero. In addition, we were able to use their washer and dryer one night for a very small fee. (If you leave your laundry with them in the morning, they will return it to you neatly folded later in the day for, I believe, $10.00.)

The gate is closely monitored and it feels completely safe. The rooms are spacious and even though ours was on the street and there was street noise, we never found it annoying. If you are looking for a clean, safe, quaint, original place to stay, I highly recommend Hotel Milvia. We were grateful that it was part of our short stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAL1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel was very pleasant and is very much like being at home. The staff was very pleasant and professional. It is a very relaxing place to enjoy a Costa Rican day. On a clear day the mountains surrounding San Pedro are beautiful but on most days the clouds roll in and obscure the view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed there for two nights, and I must say I was a bit disappointed. The reviews were very good, but my boyfriend and I found the hotel to be less than average, the breakfast was very basic- Initially we were not informed that if you wish to have eggs- you need to ask one of the staff.. the hotel itself is nice and cozy, but I cannot say it was a good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I wouldn't stay in San Jose or San Pedro again unless I had to - I find the capital and this suburb where Hotel Milvia is located to be unpleasant. However, since I had to be in San Pedro for a few days, I'm very glad I spent it at Hotel Milvia. This beautiful old mansion-turned-hotel is a quiet and relaxing spot with a stellar staff who made me and my friends feel welcome and at home. The hotel also boasts quirky artwork everywhere, including the guest rooms.

There's also a good Japanese restaurant, a cafeteria with yummy food, and a grocery store all within two blocks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffiniT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ave del Paraiso
Hotel Ave del Paraiso
#2 of 3 in San Pedro
97 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,452 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#14 of 78 in San Jose
135 reviews
3.7 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milvia

Property: Hotel Milvia
Address: San Jose 2050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Milvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Milvia Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing