We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,247)
Filter reviews
1,247 results
Traveler rating
818
347
53
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
818
347
53
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small kitchen quiet location a great place to stay stayed here for one night sauna sabana dentist country neighborhood sjo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 1,247 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2017

I just loved staying here. I was in Costa Rica having some dental work done and this was the perfect place for that. The staff are all warm and friendly and it's nice and quiet. Great smoothies too along with a nice dental friendly menu. They are really good about knowing what special things might be going on not listed in any guide book and since you are only a block or so away from the huge park there are lots of out door options for free things to wander and see and do. You're also within walking distance of the huge soccer stadium if you can happen to catch a game!
Even with all this happening nearby the area is still nice and quiet after dark. I fell in love and will always choose to stay here when I'm in the country from now on.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Victoria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SofiaHon, Gerente at La Sabana Hotel Suites Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Wow, thank you so much for your review!!! So excited to hear you fully enjoyed the experience of staying with us!!! So glad to hear you got to see some of the activities en La Sabana and surroundings! San José is truly a buzzing city and there is always something interesting and stimulating going on! We have put together our Cultural Corner in the Front Desk Area. We always post cultural events and performances happening in San José, as well as fairs and special markets. Surely something for everyone to enjoy!

Thank you so much for writing, hope to serve you again very soon. Have a great day, best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017

The staff at La Sabana was very friendly. The breakfast was good. The pool area was also very nice. Parking was available onsite behind a locked gate. The room was clean, but appeared to be slightly aged. Some updating and renovation may be in order. We stayed at another hotel on our last night in San Jose and although La Sabana is clean and safe, I would choose to stay at the other hotel if I ever return to San Jose.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktrepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SofiaHon, Gerente at La Sabana Hotel Suites Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Thank you for your comments! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Service is one of our most important values, but so is the up-keep of our infrastructure. We are constantly innovating and re-decorating. We welcomed 2017 with new kitchens in all our apartments! We will immediately look into the specific room you stayed in and determine if special work needs to be done there. Thank you for your insight, we know we can do better and strive for excelente every day. We take customer reviews very seriously, your feedback is what drives our evolution and continuous improvement. Thank you and best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017

Delicious Tico style breakfast included. Lovely pool and poolside area. Beautiful colorful decoration and garden. Comfortable bed. Hot shower. Friendly and helpful staff. Very relaxing place to stay. Wish I could have stayed longer.

Room tip: If you have a ground floor room by the pool it can be quite noisy during pool hours
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 731ireneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SofiaHon, Gerente at La Sabana Hotel Suites Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Thank you for your review!! So excited to hear you enjoyed every aspect of the Apartotel La Sabana experience!! We also wish you could´ve stayed longer! Sometimes a couple more days of pampering are needed to show you everything Apartotel and San José have to offer!! Hopefully we will have the honor of doing so very soon! Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here several times in the last few weeks. We used San Jose as a base to fly to multiple locations in Costa Rica using the regional airlines. You could stay closer to the airport but we liked being to explore San Jose between hops. Now that Uber is available, it is really easy to get around San Jose and to the airport. Happily, Ubers were nearby even for our 5:00am departures.(Note:Uber from the international airport is a bit of a trick because they have an official taxi service.) So, it is a great base.

We also thought the staff was great. They were friendly and helpful each time we stayed. They tried to make sure we had everything we needed and were willing to go out of their way to help. For example, we lost a bag in a taxi and they were willing to call the company to track down the bag. Alas, it was an unlicensed taxi from the regional airport :-( and there was no way to trace them. (Seriously, Uber or licensed taxis are the way to go in San Jose).

The breakfasts included in the room rate were excellent. The typical fare was noticeably better seasoned than we experienced elsewhere. The salsa de Limon and spicy salsa were also better than average. We looked forward to those breakfasts.

Finally, the small and medium apartments were very comfortable. We didn't cook but we enjoyed the extra space. In was nice to have air conditioning as we didn't in many other locations. It was also wonderful to have self service laundry! We were traveling light and we needed to wash between hops. We thought we would wash in the sink as we traveled but drying in the humid air just didn't work. We didn't have time for a services so, having a washer and dryer available was priceless.

We recommend this hotel

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank EatSantaBarbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SofiaHon, Gerente at La Sabana Hotel Suites Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Wow, thank you so much for your review!!! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and it sounds like you also had a wonderful overall adventure during your visit to Costa Rica! We are getting excited just reading about it! The way you planned it is actually the best way to go. It enables you to go to many locations without wasting time on the road and also gives you the opportunity of exploring urban life in San José, which has sooo much to offer! What better place to make your base than Apartotel: Your home away from home :).

Hope you have a wonderful day, thank you for writing! Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Spacious apartment within walking distance from centre of San Jose. Rooms are clean and staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is fine; a variety of food. The hotel has a nice swimming pool. Outdoor area is clean and cosy.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SofiaHon, Gerente at La Sabana Hotel Suites Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Thank you so much for writing! So happy to hear you enjoyed our decor and atmosphere! We put much heart and mind to create a beautiful space full of art and color for soul and body to enjoy. Many of our guests call us the Oasis in the City, and we try to live up to the name! Hope we have the chance to serve you again very soon. Thank you for your comments, best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews