We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartotel La Sabana
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great Hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This Hotel goes out of there way to treat guests. There staff is friendly. The room is very nice and there bed is comfortable. I am very picky when it comes to this because I have a bad back. I liked the pool area that was very clean. They had a nice breakfast. I will return,thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad everything went well during your stay and that you will be visiting us again!! It will be a pleasure to serve you again. Our staff will be so happy to hear your kind words! Thank you and have a great day. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    270
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
244
314
95
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

pros-great breakfast,helpful staff, cute boutique hotel right next to a park (there was a huge free concert the night we went. It was a great way to spend the evening after a long flight), not a bad deal for the price.
cons-we asked for a queen bed and got 2 twin beds.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegA107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad your trip coincided with the International Arts Festival, held in La Sabana Park this past few weeks. We are very priviledged to be so close to the park, it is a great place to relax, exercise and participate in cultural venues! Sorry about the mix up in your reservation, please accept our appologies. We shall discuss what happened and try to avoid this situation in the future, your comments help us improve! Hope to have the priviledge of serving you again in the future. Have a great day and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had decided not to spend time in San Jose so La Sabana was just a one night stop en route to La Fortuna. We arrived late and left early so cannot comment on the local area and in hindsight we would have been better off staying near the airport as you need to go back that way to get to La Fortuna. The rooms are a little dated and quite small but have everything you need in a self catering apartment. Breakfast was good with a few options to choose from including some delicious omelettes. Staff were very friendly and helpful but the one draw back is the hotel's proximity to route 1 as you can hear the trucks from about 5am and they sound their horns a lot - earplugs are helpful!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunson2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad everything went well during your stay, and hope that next time you will be able to spend a little more time in San Jose, so that we can fullly pamper you! We are constantly renovating our rooms, hopefully, we will have the opportunity of serving you again and show you our latest improvements! Thank you again for writing and we wish you a great day. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was a gem that I wouldn't have found had it not been for Tripadvisor. Given the facilities and service, we were pleased with our find and would recommend it to people looking for clean facilities but not overly "corporate" (this is not a Hilton,Intercontinental or a Holiday Inn) but more of an "inn" type feel.

If you're not traveling during rush hour, it's a short ride to the airport (much shorter than I thought) and if you're coming from or to the Coca Cola station area for buses, the taxi ride is about USD$5 and probably about 5 minutes.

The hotel is located down a quiet street off the main road that goes on the north side of Sabana Park. It was immaculate and offers a variety of different types of room (take a look on their web site). We got the Studio Apartment C which had a separate bedroom for us and our 10 year old. We found the service to be excellent - from check in to the security person at the front door and the breakfast area. We never used the kitchen but found it well stocked with all the usual small appliances and with pots, pans, silverware, plates, etc.

Pool facilities were clean and there were a couple of loungers to soak up the sun during the morning hours. It does get pretty cool at night so the pool temperature was a lot colder than we experienced off the Pacific coast. There's a nice coin operated laundry as well so if you are using this property as a longer stay or your last couple of nights before heading to the airport, you can get your own wash and dry done while you're sitting by the pool.

Breakfast - we had stayed in 4 other places throughout Costa Rica prior to our stay in La Sabana. All of them were highly recommended by Tripadvisor and we paid more for a room at those properties than we paid here. Except for a place we stayed at in Bocas del Toro in Panama, the breakfast here was the best we experienced on this holiday. What we liked: variety of different foods to choose from (some places we stayed at basically gave you a plate of a couple pieces of fruit, toast and some cold eggs and called it breakfast) as well as the fact that the two ladies would cook eggs to order if you wanted scrambled, fried eggs or an omelette.

Down the street within walking distance are a variety of different places to eat - from fancy high end to a Burger King and a Rostipollo. If you're going outside of a block or 2 of the property and it's dark out, you might want to consider having the hotel call a taxi for you rather than walking. We were looking for an Argentinian restaurant that we thought wouldn't be too far away from the general area and we walked to see if we could find it. It actually wasn't a long walk but my husband was nervous about the side street that we went down which wasn't too well lit and there were a couple of people who looked to be sleeping outside (at the park) who approached us for money. During the day, the area is bustling and I wouldn't hesitate to go for a walk but our experience that evening made us a bit more cautious wandering too far away after dark.

All in all, we would stay here again based on our experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spahkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review!! Our team will be so happy to know you appreciated every detail they work on: from our security and front desk staff, to the ladies at breakfast and the ones in your rooms making sure everything is tidy and clean. We are blessed with a great group of people, who are caring and generous, and this shows in their work. It was a pleasure serving you and an even greater pleasure knowing everything went well during your stay! Although security in La Sabana is considered to be very good, we do agree with you regarding walking in the area at night. Daytime is very busy and alive, but at night it ibecomes a quiet residential area. If your strolls will take you more than a few blocks away, it is advisible to take a taxi, it´s always best to be a bit more cautious. We do hope you decide to visit Costa Rica again, and that we will have the honor of having you with us for a second time. Have a great day! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here two nights, one night on our way to Puerto Jimenez, and one night on our way back to the US.
The Hotel goes out of their way to pick up guests at the airport (included) and to drop them off when they are departing. Although the hotel is a 15 min drive from the airport, it is a short walk away from the new national football stadium, and La Sabana Park. The staff was incredibly friendly, and helpful. It is much nicer to stay and to do business with a local hotel as opposed to staying at one of the giant American chain hotels. The building has a charm, and is tastefully decorated, the breakfast was delicious, and the staff very pleasant. I would stay here again in a heart beat. The pool is also quite nice, and a good place to chill before heading back to the frantic life back home.
Many thanks to the staff, especially Yonder, and Luis.....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for a great review! It makes us so happy that you enjoyed and noticed everything we have been working on! We believe in constant improvement through creativity, perseverance and care; and it´s so nice that it shows in our work! Whenever you come back to San José it will be a pleasure to serve you again. Thank you and hope you have a wonderful day. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I and our two children stayed here on the first and last nights of our Costa Rica visit. We loved this hotel. It's in a great neighborhood; within walking distance to several good restaurants, a super market (Mas X Menos) and car rental agencies. The surroundings are beautiful and intimate. It's not like an American chain hotel in CR. They serve a delicious cook-to-order breakfast, which is included in the room price. The staff are very friendly and accommodate your every need with a smile. We felt very safe at this hotel at all times. They have a beautiful pool with a patio /garden that's so relaxing. Also the beds and pillows are very comfortable, and there are plenty of bright, non-fluorescent, working lights in the room - a rarity in Costa Rican hotels. If I had to find any fault with this hotel (and that's hard to do) I'd say that the tile in the shower could use updating but the shower itself was plenty warm and had very good pressure so I really can't complain. We stayed in two different rooms during our two stays and they were consistent. Another plus is a new cacao shop, Sibu Chocolate, located literally steps to the right as you walk out the front door of this hotel - absolutely delicious! We'll definitely stay here again on our next trip!

Room Tip: Get a second floor room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for a great review! I am so glad everything went well during your stay. Being a mother myself, I really appreciate a positive feedback from a parent. I know traveling with children is a bit more challenging and that the service needs to be prompt and friendly!! It was great you had a chance to enjoy breakfast at the hotel. The ladies at the cafeteria are not only efficient, but loving people do everything with attention and care. I will pass on your comments to our dear friends George and Julio at Sibu, they will be so happy to know you enjoyed their new chocolate shop! Hope to serve you again in the future, thank you again for your great feedback. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised how the personnel of this hotel did everything they could to accommodate all my needs, ranging from inquiries about restaurants to a repair that was necessary in my bathroom at my second stay. I spent almost a week on 2 occasions at this hotel in the heart of San José during February and March (2014). Of course English was understood and spoken as well.

I recommend the superior rooms overlooking the pool on the second level because they are larger than others, have a small balcony, and they include a kitchen as well.

There is always someone at the front door where the lobby is 24/7 so you know you are secure.

This hotel is a pleasant, smaller, and quiet alternative to the larger chains in the area also offering free shuttle service to and from the international airport.

The included breakfasts where quite generous with lots of variety that included everything from fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, numerous fruit juices, eggs prepared to your choice, toast, etc. You can eat inside or outside by the pool.

The setting is really lovely, as much care has been devoted to colorful flora about the pool area.

The only potential improvement I can think about is providing heated water to the pool. This may come as a surprise, but even in Costa Rica, nights can be cooler depending on elevation and San José is not on the coast. This makes the climate almost ideal and unheated pool water a bit on the chilly side -at least until the dependable sun (during the dry period at least) has warmed it up by about noon.

To Alberto and all the other staff, muchas gracias! I understand better the meaning now of "Pura Vida!"

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room overlooking the pool or settle for a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for such a great review! We are so glad everything went well during your stay. We would like to think we can offer all the services you might enjoy in larger chain hotels, but with the personal touch and attention to details that make us unique. Our team is made up of wonderful kind and loving people, and this shows in their work. Human touch, along with great service and the best location, make us the luckiest hotel on this hemisphere! We hope we can serve you again in the future and are grateful for your positive feedback. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel La Sabana

Property: Apartotel La Sabana
Address: Sabana Norte | From Rostipollos Restaurant 150 Meters North, San Jose 658-1200, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel La Sabana 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartotel La Sabana is the perfect mix between an apartment and a hotel.Our fully serviced apartments are the ideal lodging with the comfort of home yet with all the benefits of a hotel, such as room service, front desk services, private parking, laundry, safe deposit box, breakfast and more.We have very competitive rates, specially for long-stay trips either for a single corporate business traveler, for family groups or groups of friends.Enjoy all the privacy that you need with great independence in a friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Apartotel La Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Sabana Hotel San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing