We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been great, but..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartotel La Sabana
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We chose this hotel because of it's good standard, nice breakfast AND their transfer service to and from the airport: "We will gladly schedule your transport service from/to the Juan Santamaria International Airport to Apartotel La Sabana This service is free of charge" it says on their web site.

Unfortunately our plane was delayed and at one point we were scheduled to arrive at midnight and were very happy we already had arranged pick up through the hotel. BUT when contacting the hotel with our new flight time they said they couldn't pick us up any longer. Changes to the pick up time had to be made at least 24 hours in beforehand, but how is that possible when the flight is delayed?? And being two girls, the pick up would have been even more important to us when arriving in the middle of the night. We didn't feel comfortable grabbing a taxi at such a late hour.

"Luckily" our flight was even more delayed and we ended up being scheduled the next morning. We contacted the hotel again (and they had our flight no. all the time) and asked if they could arrange pick up in the morning, but still they said there was no way they could help us with pick up. We ended up taking a taxi. Arriving at the hotel we needed change to pay the taxi driver, we only had 20 dollar bills. We asked the hotel staff to help, but they were very difficult saying they couldn't change a 20 dollar bill. At last they lent us the few dollars we needed to pay the taxi driver. If you ask me, the least they could have done was to pay the whole taxi bill when canceling their transfer service because of our delayed arrival!!

When we left the hotel the next day we tried to explain to the staff at the front desk that we had a really bad experience with their transfer service promises and that this experience had colored our whole stay. They showed no sign of understanding. This really disappointed us, again, and is why we rate the hotel as poor. Had they only kept their promise about the transfer service it would have been very close to great. Too bad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Marte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so sorry this situation arised and that we did not act accordingly to solve your problem. You are completely right, we should have been able to provide the transfer service, even if your flight was delayed twice.

We provide the transfer service through a transportation service, who is contracted by our hotel to do so. This company does not offer service from midnight to 4am, this is why we specify in all our information that the service is subject to schedules. Either way, because your flight was delayed twice and you ended up arriving the next morning, the company should have completed the transfer service. And even though the service was not offered by the transportation company, we should have covered the cost of the taxi you took, I agree completely.

We have discussed this situation with all staff and hope this kind of situation will not arise again. Please accept my sincere appologies on my personal behalf and on behalf of all our team. We hope you will give us the opportunity of making it "great" the next time, and we thank you for sharing your experience and helping us improve and evolve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 909 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

In a quiet street away from the main road, all is quiet. The room has a large fridge and most have a balcony facing the swimming pool, with wifi for work. Nice classy tiled artistic pool; one of the best breakfast - inside or by the pool.
Friendly staff. Walking distance to 4 restaurants, 15 mn to grocery store. Will go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DupontTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for such a great review! We are so glad you mentioned our location, we are so happy to have the best of two worlds: accessible yet quiet and private. All our artwork has been done by local artist Patricia Barrantes, our pride and joy; so glad you liked it!! We hope to be able to continue serving you. Thank you for your encouraging words, see you soon! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Loved the hotel itself, the service was great, the staff was pleasant, and the rooms were clean. The only issue is the location which the hotel can't change. If you're in Costa Rica vacationing and are interested in any of the nature tours, San Juan is extremely far from any excursion. There is also very little typical food around, it's really extremely Americanized. They have a huge mall nearby, outback, Starbucks,McDonalds, BUrger King, etc. Not really my scene but if that's what your looking for, then this is your spot. There is also a supermarket near by, which comes handy, and most rooms have a small fridge. They also can exchange US money for you into colones, they offer filtered water throughout the hallways, and the breakfast is amazing! The pool is nice but during the rainy season, which for them is most of the year, you'll never get to use it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLover34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

We are so glad everything went well during your stay! I agree with you, San José has become highly americanized. I think is is a trend in third world countries, but agree that there is a balance to be seeked. It would be ideal to have the convenience and efficiency of first world countries, and still keep our identity. This fine line is very easy to cross, and to be able to balance both ends is an art in itself, as in every aspect of our lives.

I am happy to say there are good news! This year we will be certified in the Sustainable Turism Program. We have been wathering all sorts local, rural and community information on activities, self-guided walk through tours, traditions, recipes, etc. Also, we are shifting all our operations towards local manufacturers and suppliers. We hope to be as authentic as we possibly can! All the art work you saw around the hotel has been designed and executed by local artist Patricia Barrantes, our pride and joy! So there is hope!

Thank you again for your review and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

After having a terrible experience at another hotel, the staff at Apartotel La Sabana was a breath of fresh air. They were professional, helpful, and always available to answer my questions. Other people staying at the hotel had been returning for many years to vacation and for medical appointments and surgeries. The rooms are quite adequate. The breakfast was substantial and changed from day to day. The staff was helpful in pointing out restaurants in the area, and in providing general information. Nothing seemed to be too much for them. I was here for a few weeks while I was recovering from surgery. This is not a surgery recovery center, but they said people who are recovering from cosmetic and dental surgery stay there all the time. I will certainly be returning to this fine place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyGoinGal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

It fills us of such joy to read your review! Thank you so much! We are very proud of having wonderful people in our team, they are very people & solution oriented, and most importantly, they really enjoy what they do! We do hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the future, maybe next time you visit us you will have the chance to do some sightseeing! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This was out first visit to Costa Rica and a friend booked this for us. Originally for one night as we weren't sure of our plans. They were helpful and there were no issues when we needed to change this to 3 nights. Room were clean and a good size, breakfast was great and staff friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fennz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We are so glad everything was up to your expectations! Our focus is and always will be, to set new standards in service and overall customer satisfaction. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future. Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The date traveled is incorrect - I used to live in the neighborhood of Sabana Sur (on the other side of the park from the hotel) and always had my visiting family stay at Apartotel La Sabana. The staff is kind and the hotel is clean, pretty and convenient. It's about a 20-30 minute walk to downtown San Jose. There are buses on the main street about one block from the hotel that will take you downtown; and from the bus stop across the park you can easily get to Escazu and beyond. The Costa Rican art museum is about a 10 minute walk through the park from the hotel.

This is a quiet hotel - not a place to go if you want to party. Sabana/Rohrmoser is a middle/upper middle-class neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notfromhereEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for such a nice review! We are so glad you had your family stay with us during their visits. We are very happy with our location; we can offer a very quiet and private environment, but also easy access to public transportation, both towards the east and west of the city. And we are so greatful for La Sabana, San José´s most beautiful park only a block away from the hotel! Hope to be able to serve you and your family again soon! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here recently after reading such nice reviews. As previously stated, breakfast is consistently good, always fresh fruits and juices and a good variety of other choices. The rooms are a nice size and set up. The views from our room were amazing!! But what impressed me the most was the hospitality of the entire staff. Each staff member that we met was friendly and helpful. Several times Yonder and Mauricio were around to assist us in way or another. They should be commended for their reputation of good service, not only would I return, I would suggest it to others as well. If I could make one suggestion for improvement, it would be the wifi. It was hard to keep a connection.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mansix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for such a nice review! We are very very furtunate to have such a wonderful team, they really are an inspiration to everyone!! Thank you for your comment on the Wi-fi. We have already changed the location of one of the main Access Points, it is working very well now. Sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused. Hopefully, you will see the improvement during your next visit. Best regards and thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.5 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel La Sabana

Address: Sabana Norte | From Rostipollos Restaurant 150 Meters North, San Jose 658-1200, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $90 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel La Sabana 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartotel La Sabana is the perfect mix between an apartment and a hotel.Our fully serviced apartments are the ideal lodging with the comfort of home yet with all the benefits of a hotel, such as room service, front desk services, private parking, laundry, safe deposit box, breakfast and more.We have very competitive rates, specially for long-stay trips either for a single corporate business traveler, for family groups or groups of friends.Enjoy all the privacy that you need with great independence in a friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Apartotel La Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Sabana Hotel San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing