We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartotel La Sabana
Nearby Hotels
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Adventure Inn(San Jose)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$87
$73
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,008)
Filter reviews
1,008 results
Traveler rating
638
299
46
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
299
46
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricapool areahuge parkyogurtsmall kitchenbeautiful pooleggs cooked to orderdental workquiet locationsecure parkingrestaurants within walking distanceairport shuttlebreakfast was amazingstreet sidesmall hotelsoccer stadiumfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
711 - 716 of 1,008 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Walk around the room floors for just a few minutes in bare feet and your feet will be BLACK on the bottom--my friends' room was the same. Next day I saw the reason why----housekeeping has to use a bath towel, instead of a regular mophead, mounted on a mop pole to mop the floors and halls---and with no mop bucket for rinsing either ! Rooms and halls always seem to just be given a quick vacuuming since mopping them is ineffective anyway. Management needs to properly equip the housekeeping employees so they can do their job.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rickeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We are very sorry and preoccupied about your experience regarding the floors in the rooms and hallways. This morning we had a meeting with all housekeeping personnel and discussed your review and the need to improve in the cleanliness of floors. It was a very productive and positive meeting. With the housekeepers participation as well as new supervision methods and practices, we are sure we will be able to improve. We thank you for sharing this with us and for giving us the opportunity to be better every day. Hopefully, you will give us another opportunity and visit us again, so that we can share the improvements with you. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I spent a week at the Apartotel La Sabana, and was a very wonderful location to reach the city center, very safe, friendly and good price.

Is located close to a beautiful park, some restaurants, and you can take a taxi, that is not expensive, and reach the city center, or go to the Mall (Multiplaza Escazú was really nice),

Good traditional breakfast, and don't miss the pool......
Also free cold bottled water to drink close to the rooms, for you to serve....

Nice stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMS_Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so glad you enjoyed our location. We think we have the best of both worlds: accessible and private at the same time. A short 3 minute taxi ride will take you downtown, and at the same time you will feel in the middle of the tropics enjoying a sun bath next to our pool, surrounded by mosaic art and humming birds zooming by. We hope we can serve you again in the future, best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Why would you go anywhere else? This little gem is in a great location, the room is awesome, the grounds and pool beautiful, I found great resaurants nearby, and the staff is fantastic! Become friends with Yonder and Francico at the front desk and you never have to question the response. You can't get any better service at the Waldorf. I want to move in...great breakfast and coffee. Yowzer! Stephen Z.

Room Tip: Rm. 15 if you are solo.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Wow, thank you for such a great review! We are very proud of our staff, they are such a special group of people. I am sure they would be delighted if you permanently moved in with us! We hope to continously improve and to always be able surprise you with something new everytime you visit. Thank you for considering us your home in San José. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This little hotel was great!! The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and most spoke English fluently. The breakfast was delicious. The rooms were a good size and lovely. The pool and courtyard area was beautiful and calm. This was a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Try and stay away from the rooms near the parking lot, but even then it was not bad at all.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to relax and soak in the tropical sun at our pool. It is a very special spot in the hotel, the mosaic work around the pool and on the fountain was done by local artist Patricia Barrantes. Hope to be able to serve you again in the future! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have stayed here several times in the past 2 years. it is a small hotel on a quiet street just 3 blocks from La Sabana Park and national stadium. Very good base for exploring the San Jose area. Just 15 minutes from SJO on the edge of downtown area. Rooms are very comfortable, good breakfast included, enclosed parking area and great staff. Fast food to nice restaurants within walking distance. Grocery stores nearby, Apartments with full kitchens available at less that $100 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back away from the street. Its a quiet street but there is some traffic and front rooms are very close to street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your nice review! We are very proud of both our location and our staff. As we say, we have the best of both worlds: accessible and private location at the same time! As a team, we strive to also have the best of both worlds: provide service which is highly efficient yet personal. Hope to continue having the pleasure of serving you when you come to San José. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews