We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet small hotel with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartotel La Sabana
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ciudad Quesada, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice quiet small hotel with good location”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have stayed here several times in the past 2 years. it is a small hotel on a quiet street just 3 blocks from La Sabana Park and national stadium. Very good base for exploring the San Jose area. Just 15 minutes from SJO on the edge of downtown area. Rooms are very comfortable, good breakfast included, enclosed parking area and great staff. Fast food to nice restaurants within walking distance. Grocery stores nearby, Apartments with full kitchens available at less that $100 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back away from the street. Its a quiet street but there is some traffic and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice review! We are very proud of both our location and our staff. As we say, we have the best of both worlds: accessible and private location at the same time! As a team, we strive to also have the best of both worlds: provide service which is highly efficient yet personal. Hope to continue having the pleasure of serving you when you come to San José. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    270
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
244
314
95
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

As close to perfect as it gets...
My wife and I found this to be an excellent place to stay...and great value.
The staff is friendly and helpful. They pick you up from the airport on arrival and greet you at the hotel with the snack wagon. I went to SJ for dental work and some late afternoons when we were just hanging around the pool recovering they even brought us soups (that I could eat easily)..it was very thoughtful.
Also.. the breakfast buffet is outstanding !!..and very imaginative.
We stayed in a room overlooking the pool...which I would also recommend.
It's not next to busy Centro... but right across from La Sabana Park (which for me is the best location in SJ)
We are “experienced travelers” ...and found this place to be a gem.
I have added some photos..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkHappyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you su much for your review! We are so happy to know that we could help durng your recovery from dental treatment. We know it can be an exhausting experience and try to make it a little less painful for our guests. We hope you visit us again, it will be a pleasure to serve you! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We arrived after a long day of travel to find a beautiful place to rest! Apartotel La Sabana greeted us with a cup of coffee and cookie, warm smile, and beautiful garden area with pool. The room was clean, comfortable with a good mattress. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. Inside secure parking, felt very safe, walking distance to the park, made our transfer on the interbus for us... We could go on and on, but you get the picture. A must if you are in San Jose.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but a room facing the pool would have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for such a beautiful review! We have a very special group of people that put their hearts into everything they do: from opening the door for you to making your welcome cookies. We are so blessed to have such a great team working for us. They will be delighted to know everything went well with your stay. We hope to be able to serve you again very soon. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked into the hotel at the last minute based upon a recommendation from the owner of the Arco Iris Hotel in Tamarindo. The only available room had a kitchen which we did not need as we were only staying for one night but we needed a room so we ended up paying a bit more.
The hotel was a treat. It is older and thus has some personality with an interesting layout, colourful mosiacs and the provision of chilled drinking water stations on each floor The room was quiet and very clean; an excellent TV in the bedroom and good wifi.
Other reviews have mentioned the breakfast and we can support their high opinion. This was the only hotel we used in Costa Rica that provided hot milk at the breakfast bar so I finally was able to have cafe con leche. There was a selection of juices, eggs prepared to order, traditional foods, etc.
The area is quiet and away from the action. We arrived late and walked two short blocks to a Burger King for our only chain restaurant meal of our trip. We had a free morning before going to the airport and went for a stroll in the La Sabana Park ony one block away. The park felt very safe with joggers and other people - just an excellent way to end of Costa Rica vacation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review. We are so glad we could be a part of your trip to Costa Rica, and that everything worked out so well. Our mosaic work is done by our official artist Patricia Barrantes, a very gifted and talented woman. She is also the painter of our murals depicting life in rural Costa Rica. We hope that you decide to spend more days in San José during your next trip and that we will have the pleasure of serving you again. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here a little while ago. Myself and a buddy rented a 2 bedroom 2 bath suite. Had a huge living room area, and i believe the sofa also pulled out into another bed, so you had basically 3 beds. The only bad thing is for the single guy going there, it is a bit far from the "gringo gulch". The taxi ride will take you about 15-20 minutes to get to the heart of SJ.
If you have just one girlfriend and want a nice quiet place to stay, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We are so glad you found our hotel private and tranquil, we take pride in being an oasis inside our busy city! Our guest´s privacy and relaxation are one of our main goals. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a quiet ,safe neighbor about two miles west of center city and next to Parque Sabana. Helpful, friendly staff, excellent complimentary breakfast,and free transportation to and from the airport all for a modest rate make this a hard to beat place to stay .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you found our location and services up to your expectations! We strive to be the best combination of services, warmth, location and charm in the city! Best regards and hope to be able to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel was very good and quiet, located in a safe area. Though, not very close to a lot of restaurants (especially for walking at night..), and a couple of restaurants that were close, were closed while we were there.
The staff was really nice and really helpful with booking our trips and by double checking some details. The breakfast was really good too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are sorry you found some of the restaurants nearby closed during your visit. San José generally takes it´s vacation during the end of the year and the first week of the new year. Your trip probably coincided with these festivities. We are glad you found our breakfast enjoyable, it is done with much care and thoughtfulness! Best regards and hope to be able to serve you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel La Sabana

Property: Apartotel La Sabana
Address: Sabana Norte | From Rostipollos Restaurant 150 Meters North, San Jose 658-1200, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel La Sabana 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartotel La Sabana is the perfect mix between an apartment and a hotel.Our fully serviced apartments are the ideal lodging with the comfort of home yet with all the benefits of a hotel, such as room service, front desk services, private parking, laundry, safe deposit box, breakfast and more.We have very competitive rates, specially for long-stay trips either for a single corporate business traveler, for family groups or groups of friends.Enjoy all the privacy that you need with great independence in a friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Apartotel La Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Sabana Hotel San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing