We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartotel La Sabana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartotel La Sabana
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed in May 2011. I had an awesome experience at this hotel! It is not in the greatest area but what a nice place! The rooms are a bit small but they are clean. The breakfast buffet is AWESOME!! Absolutely delicious! And the staff is sooooo helpful and accomodating!! The grounds are small but just beautiful. What a great stay for a very resonable price! Cristan and Francisco are just awesome! so friendly! I cant wait to go back! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for such a nice review! We are so glad everything went well during your visit. We try to put all our effort and love into everything we do, so that even though we are not a large hotel, you will experience the details and human touch that make a remarkable experience. We hope to be able to see you again and have the pleasure of serving you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    230
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
192
256
80
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stay in this hotel regularly. We live in Costa Rica, and use this every time we visit San Jose, which is a three-hour drive away for us, so it is normally an overnight trip. The staff is wonderful, and we feel like family. Rooms start, depending on season, at $60/night and up. Options include kitchenettes in some, and more. Many rooms have small refrigerators, Pool in the courtyard, some rooms with balconies. The breakfasts here are SUPERB! Fresh fruits, juices, gallo pinto, potatoes, oatmeal, pancakes, toast, eggs cooked to order....served 6 - 9 AM. We have never been disappointed in anything here-we've left things, and they've mailed them to us! Only downside is the showers; they are very small. But overall, this is a terrific find, very inexpensive, immaculately clean, and conveniently located.

Room Tip: All seem quiet unless there is an event in the stadium, or a concert in La Sabana park (rare, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdennisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! We are so glad we can call ourselves your home in San José! Our kitchen staff is a very special group of ladies, they will be so happy to hear you love their brekfast! They are always thinking of new recipes, hopefully we will be able to surprise you on your next visit! Thank you so much and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Well I would definitely choose this place for every single trip in the future.
We stayed in January twice and were more than happy. It is a 20 min drive from the airport. The place itself is just next to a large natural park with amazing vegetation and many activities like boats ride, horse riding etc. The shops - both grocery and everyday staff- as well as the drugs store work late, are in 5 min walk(just be careful crossing the main street) and offer whatever we might have needed.
The resturants are in 5 to 20 min walk - from bbq to mcdonalds and seafood.
Parking within the hotel area is very safe.
There is a pool - quite a large one! - and chairs to relax outside.
The rooms are just very good, large, comfy. We stayed in apartments with a huge kitchen/dining room.
I should have started with the team of the hotel but decided to put it as a final unbeatable point. You feel like you're with your family who know you very well, guess your wishes and do care of you.
This is a good place.
The only issue that were surprising me was the fact that one night it was extremely loud outside...there is a kind of disco or something on the opposite side of the street and they might have had a holiday or something that day. We never heard them any other day we stayed though ( totally 5 days on our way there and back).

Room Tip: Apartments include extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad you found our staff helpful, they are a very special group of people and we are so proud of them! Very sorry to hear that Casa España across the street was a bit noisy. They very seldom have activities going on, but we are always in communication with them to avoid this incidents.

Hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having been to Costa Rica 7 times and lived there for 3 months, I usually stay at in SJO at the beginning and end of my trip(s) when I go to explore the country. I first discovered Apartotel La Sabana May 2011 and then again May 2012. Service here is outstanding - and that is for every individual. Cristian, Francisco and the other gentleman are very pleasant as well as the gentleman who works at the desk in the evening.

If you're looking for Hilton comfort, this is not it. However, if you want clean accommodations and spectacular service this is indeed. My favorite things are the automatic hot water system, refreshing pool with fountain, wireless internet, balcony rooms, and privacy. The hotel does not let in random guests as the desk is guarded. My friends are respectable native ticos and each have always had to wait for me in the lobby which I understand and respect.

Breakfast is an my favorite and the women make the best gallo pinto I've ever head in Costa Rica. The fresh juice is great as well. The hot breakfast is included in your rate. Undoubtedly, I feel safe staying here always. San Jose can have some sketchy parts. Close to here is my favorite bar/restaurant Mac's American Bar. It is filled with ticos and the menu has lots of native food and a "casado" that I could eat daily. The gentleman are great with directions as well as helping you organize local tours. I will always stay here. The included transfer to the airport in Alajuela is a sweet part of the deal as well! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms facing the pool if you can - the fountain sounds nice at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ticachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for such a great review! We are so glad you have decided to make us your home in Costa Rica, and definitely look forward to your visit in May 2013! We are so glad you like our breakfast, one of our favorite areas is the cafeteria; we so enjoy thinking of new projects for our lovely kitchen staff! As they say, the way to the heart is through the stomach! Hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed in San Jose for 7 weeks and stayed at this hotel all the time. Staff is really nice. Breakfast is great. Pool always clean and I liked the family atmosphere ... and the price is right. I stayed in the one bedroom overlooking the street which had a small balcony an on the other side had the view of the pool :) .. room has kitchen with all things needed. There is a supermarket not too far away and the Sabana Park 3 blocks away. ( I went doing my running over there every day). Buses are nearby and they call your taxi if you need one .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nnorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your 7 week stay with us! The park is a great place of joggers, nothing like it in San José! We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markelo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This small hotel is close to the airport and just outside the centre of San Jose. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is nice. There is fruit, yoghurt, bread and there is a cook who makes pancakes, rice or eggs in the morning. Rooms are a little old-fashioned, but clean, so we were content. A few restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you found the hotel up to your expectations. We are currently working on updating our rooms. By early next year, all our rooms will have flat screen TV´s and granite top desks. Also, we are improving the bed sheeting and including a small refrigerator in our Standard Rooms. Thank you for sharing your opinions, they always help us improve! Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I have been operating a tourism business in Costa Rica for over 20 years. This lovely hotel has been a favorite for the past 5 years. It has such a convenient location and we love the inclosed parking area. The grounds are beautiful and impeccably kept. The staff is friendly and helpful. Each time we visit there are new details added to make guests more comfortable and improve the service. They actually keep improving on perfection!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamefisher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We feel so proud and happy to know that you have been noticing the improvements we work on! Hopefully we will always have new ideas and will be able to surprise you everytime you visit! Thank you, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel La Sabana

Property: Apartotel La Sabana
Address: Sabana Norte | From Rostipollos Restaurant 150 Meters North, San Jose 658-1200, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel La Sabana 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartotel La Sabana is the perfect mix between an apartment and a hotel.Our fully serviced apartments are the ideal lodging with the comfort of home yet with all the benefits of a hotel, such as room service, front desk services, private parking, laundry, safe deposit box, breakfast and more.We have very competitive rates, specially for long-stay trips either for a single corporate business traveler, for family groups or groups of friends.Enjoy all the privacy that you need with great independence in a friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Apartotel La Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Sabana Hotel San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing