We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel in chaotic San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartotel La Sabana
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This small hotel is close to the airport and just outside the centre of San Jose. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is nice. There is fruit, yoghurt, bread and there is a cook who makes pancakes, rice or eggs in the morning. Rooms are a little old-fashioned, but clean, so we were content. A few restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you found the hotel up to your expectations. We are currently working on updating our rooms. By early next year, all our rooms will have flat screen TV´s and granite top desks. Also, we are improving the bed sheeting and including a small refrigerator in our Standard Rooms. Thank you for sharing your opinions, they always help us improve! Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 966 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I have been operating a tourism business in Costa Rica for over 20 years. This lovely hotel has been a favorite for the past 5 years. It has such a convenient location and we love the inclosed parking area. The grounds are beautiful and impeccably kept. The staff is friendly and helpful. Each time we visit there are new details added to make guests more comfortable and improve the service. They actually keep improving on perfection!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gamefisher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind words! We feel so proud and happy to know that you have been noticing the improvements we work on! Hopefully we will always have new ideas and will be able to surprise you everytime you visit! Thank you, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a wonderful little hotel. Staff just couldn't get any nicer. The location is great just around the corner from the highway (convenience without the noise) also close to the airport. Has everything you need including a beautiful pool & sauna. They have every accommodation from just a hotel room to efficiencies and full apartments. You are just a few doors from the sabana w/ it's rainbow trees. There is a major grocery store, many nice restaurant choices, casino, major car renting agencies are all within a 2 to 5 minute walk. The bus to take you anywhere in San Jose is just at the bottom of the street. On our last visit my daughter had her wisdom teeth removed. Hotel allowed me to use the kitchen to make her mashed potatoes (the only thing she wanted & could eat easily) Clean, comfortable & friendly...what more do you need?

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bronz1inthekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for such a nice review! We are so glad we could help during your daughter´s treatment. We hope everything worked out fine and that you will be able to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stay at La Sabana Apartotel usually twice a year. The staff is very helpful and professional!
The Breakfast is excellent. The Hotel is located in a nice section of the City of San Jose! The rooms are very nice and are kept very clean by an hard working Staff! The room I stay in has full cooking facilities and a refrigerator. I really appreciate having these facilities.There is excellent Bus service nearby. Pick ups and drop offs at San Jose Airport are done with precision most of the time! Once at La Sabana, I never stayed anywhere else when visiting Costa Rica. La Sabana is a good choice and a good bargain for the price ! The Pool is nice and is kep very clean. I wish the water in the Pool was a bit warmer, but it is a pleasure to swim in as the Pool is rarely crowded! I plan to return again this year !There are Gyms nearby also for those who wish to exercise!

Room Tip: It may pay to seek a front room as car alarms from an Hotel in the rear go off at times!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEPHEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Nice to hear from you Mr. Goloub! Thank you very much for your nice review, we always love hearing from you, and consider you part of the family! We do get a lot of rainfall in La Sabana, this maked it hard to keep the pool warm, but we are working on some ideas! Hope to see you again soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Apartotel La Sabana for 10 days on two occasions this years as well as five days last year. If anything our most recent sojourn was even more pleasant than the first. The La Sabana staff is professional and eager to please, the hotel is spotlessly clean, and the all you can eat breakfast first rate. For the price and location this is the place to stay in San Jose.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay at the La Sabana, make your reservations well before hand as the hotel is ofte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind words, they really inspire us! We are so glad you have decided to visit us again and again. It is our challenge to innovate and improve on our services, so that each time you come back, we will hopefully exceed your expectations! Hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Very warm welcome after a long journey. Nice clean room with an excellent breakfast and beautiful refreshing pool. Great location for walking in Sabana park and several restaurants nearby. Reception very helpful and the airport transfers ran like clockwork.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-and-R29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We are so glad everything worked out during your visit! Thank you for visitng us and for your lovely review. Hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

small apartotel, centered around a small swimming pool. Staff always friendly, smiling and exceedingly helpful. Accommodation spotless, plenty of spces for 3 adults to share. (medium apartment). Beautiful stained glass windows and mosaic work, and plantings around the pool. Coffee and tea available 24/7. (free). Only adverse comment - pool was freezing.

Hotel is within easy walking distance of town centre.3 Restaurants within 10 mins walk. Spanish- good quality but expensive.

An oasis to recover after a long journey.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind words! We are very proud of our team, and take pride in them! They are a very special group of people. Tank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and to have been part of your trip to lovely Costa Rica. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,593 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 78 in San Jose
2,534 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel La Sabana

Address: Sabana Norte | From Rostipollos Restaurant 150 Meters North, San Jose 658-1200, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $95 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel La Sabana 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartotel La Sabana is the perfect mix between an apartment and a hotel.Our fully serviced apartments are the ideal lodging with the comfort of home yet with all the benefits of a hotel, such as room service, front desk services, private parking, laundry, safe deposit box, breakfast and more.We have very competitive rates, specially for long-stay trips either for a single corporate business traveler, for family groups or groups of friends.Enjoy all the privacy that you need with great independence in a friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Apartotel La Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Sabana Hotel San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing