We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best buys in San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartotel La Sabana
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bloomingdale, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best buys in San Jose”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Apartotel La Sabana for 10 days on two occasions this years as well as five days last year. If anything our most recent sojourn was even more pleasant than the first. The La Sabana staff is professional and eager to please, the hotel is spotlessly clean, and the all you can eat breakfast first rate. For the price and location this is the place to stay in San Jose.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay at the La Sabana, make your reservations well before hand as the hotel is ofte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, they really inspire us! We are so glad you have decided to visit us again and again. It is our challenge to innovate and improve on our services, so that each time you come back, we will hopefully exceed your expectations! Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    268
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
242
313
93
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Very warm welcome after a long journey. Nice clean room with an excellent breakfast and beautiful refreshing pool. Great location for walking in Sabana park and several restaurants nearby. Reception very helpful and the airport transfers ran like clockwork.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P-and-R29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are so glad everything worked out during your visit! Thank you for visitng us and for your lovely review. Hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

small apartotel, centered around a small swimming pool. Staff always friendly, smiling and exceedingly helpful. Accommodation spotless, plenty of spces for 3 adults to share. (medium apartment). Beautiful stained glass windows and mosaic work, and plantings around the pool. Coffee and tea available 24/7. (free). Only adverse comment - pool was freezing.

Hotel is within easy walking distance of town centre.3 Restaurants within 10 mins walk. Spanish- good quality but expensive.

An oasis to recover after a long journey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We are very proud of our team, and take pride in them! They are a very special group of people. Tank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and to have been part of your trip to lovely Costa Rica. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night and were very pleased with our room, the staff, the location and the interior court yard. We recieved a warm welcome when we arrived (well before check-in time) and found the room clean, quiet and comfortable. The small interior court yard was a quiet oasis where our 8-year old son enjoyed swimming and watching the birds. The staff were responsive and very professional .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. Our kitchen staff puts a lot of love into the cookies we prepare for our welcome check-in and afternoon snacks, I am so glad you enjoyed them! It is great you were able to relax at the pool, we know that tour itineraries can me tiresome! Hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four different segments on our recent trip to Costa Rica. Rooms, though older and basic were very clean. Nice pool and garden area. Our room balcony which was over looking the pool was a warm and relaxing place to lounge around. Very nice breakfast included. Most noteworthy was the staff, from the doorman to the cleaning people and desk personel. All were extreemly friendly, honest and helpful. Hotel is well located with good resturanats within a short walk or five dollar taxi ride. Only possible negative is that the street it is on gets a little noisy early in the morning if you have a street side room. Not a big problem for us tho. beds were so comfortable we just slept right on thru it all. Altho we can afford a more expensive hotel we will return to this one because of the ambience and friendly atmosphere and fantastic staff. CW Houghton

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwhoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Mr. Houghton, I am so glad you liked the beds! We changed all of our matresses this year and had them custom made for us, they have an extra thick layer of pillow top! Thank you for your kind words, they really keep us motivated and on the right track. We are so glad we could be a part of an excellent trip to Costa Rica.

We have been working in updating the rooms. By early next year all rooms will have flat screen TV´s and granite top desks. Thank you for your opinions, they help us be better each day.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed there nearly ten years ago and just recently this past February. We enjoy the service, the people are very friendly and go out of their ways to make your stay most enjoyable. They are nicely located. Breakfast is excellent. All in all Sofi and her staff do an excellent job and are very people oriented. Looking forward to our next stay. Tus amigos de Nueva Jersey. Ramon y Gemma Pescevich

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyRaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Ramon and Gemma, it was so nice to see you after all these years! It was a lovely surprise for me and for our older staff members. We are so glad we could help make your trip such a success. Please do not let 10 years go by again before coming to say hello! Thank you for your lovely review and hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Aparthotel La Sabana, Costa Rica. Another find recommended by Trip Advisor's reviewers. Am I glad I took your advice!!! Thank you. Reasonably priced, ideally situated 1/2 block from the huge La Sabana Park, which is a lovely, treed park...jogging trails, picnic tables, lovely flowers and plants.The hotel is a superb choice. Quiet, exceptionally clean...tremendous cooked-to-order breakfasts...cereals , mounds of fresh tropical fruits and juices...even porridge!!!!!!!
The staff is terrific. This is a wise choice to make, travellers,

Room Tip: There is a pool and lounge chairs. La Sabana Park is on a main thoroughfare...for bus/taxis. I staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for you kind words! We are so glad your stay went smoothly. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
4.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,385 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 76 in San Jose
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel La Sabana

Property: Apartotel La Sabana
Address: Sabana Norte | From Rostipollos Restaurant 150 Meters North, San Jose 658-1200, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel La Sabana 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartotel La Sabana is the perfect mix between an apartment and a hotel.Our fully serviced apartments are the ideal lodging with the comfort of home yet with all the benefits of a hotel, such as room service, front desk services, private parking, laundry, safe deposit box, breakfast and more.We have very competitive rates, specially for long-stay trips either for a single corporate business traveler, for family groups or groups of friends.Enjoy all the privacy that you need with great independence in a friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Apartotel La Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Sabana Hotel San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing