We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaps Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaps Place
Ranked #2 of 68 San Jose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best place in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed in KAP's place in december and found the place very clean and well kept . The staff , including the manager made a lot of effort trying to locate our luggage that did not come with us on our flight . Very nice atmosphere , great breakfast and referring to mr Yobbb who talks about a pool and noisy people at night . There place has no pool and guests have to be quiet from 22.00 on . And I have seen staff enforcing that rule . I think Mr Yobbb stayed somewhere else , Costa Rica Backpackers perhaps ? I would certainly come back next time .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tremendozapato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Kaps Place.
For us it is a pleasure to read that you have greatly appreciated the atmosphere, location and the amenities offered by us. We are very proud to have meet your needs to your satisfaction. We are striving for continuous improvement of our product to receive more positive comments like yours.
We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Costa Rica!
Warm regards from San José, your Kaps family!!!
PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    86
    19
    14
    9
See reviews for
38
84
74
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Kap's Place for one night in Dec 2013 after landing in Costa Rica. We were exhausted from 14 hours of travel, so we very much appreciated the quiet and relaxing vibe of the hotel. Rooms are modest but comfortable - nice bathrooms. The staff was very warm and friendly, helping us out with recommendations for food and nearby places of interest. The included breakfast was tasty.

We bought a couple beers from the front desk and had fun playing each other in ping-pong. They also have foosball and a pool table. Had we stayed longer we would have enjoyed relaxing in the lounge area (a hammock, some wrap-around cushioned bench seating, a fountain with fish).

Our only issue with Kap's was that they had offered to arrange our transportation from the airport to the hotel. We were told there would be a taxi driver waiting for us when we arrived, however they were nowhere to be found. After getting hassled left and right by random cab drivers, we were forced to ask one of them for help (as we did not have local phone service). Long story short, we got there okay after a somewhat uncertain, stressful cab ride. Upon arrival Karolina was confused that no one was there to pick us up, and after overhearing her phone call with the cab company it was clear that the communication between the two parties is shaky at best.

Besides this little hiccup, we really enjoyed our stay and would come back again in the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taken the time to write us your commentary.
We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Kaps Place offers an home away from yours with a safe, secure and family oriented ambiance with personalized customer service, which is our main goal.

We hope that we may serve you again soon on your next visit to San José.

PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I stayed at Kaps Place. Kaps serves ok breakfasts, always the same fare, but fairly good. The staff is helpful but the place is very noisy at night, more suited for young college students travelers than adults. Folks playing pool, drinking beer, smoking, and carousing until late isn't our idea of comfortable lodging. Cleanliness leaves some to be desired as well. The sink in our room was awfully smelly. Plenty of hot water, though, which isn't the case in many hotels in Costa Rica, in our experience.

Room Tip: Please do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yobbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taken the time to write us your review. Great part of our check-in process is to give our guest a brief explanation of our services we provide and policies that we adhere by making sure that our guest are comfortable during their stay. We have quiet hours in whole of the hotel from 10:00 pm to 8:00 am to make sure that our guest receive that well deserved rest. We sorry that you and your husband wanted to sleep from 7-8 pm but other guests wanted to play i some ping-pong or pool table as we allow until 10 pm. Maybe you should choose another type of hotel for your next vacation.

Happy New Year!

PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

After our wonderful journey throughout Costa Rica, my partner and I received an email from KAP's Place to welcome us back home safely to the United States. At the bottom of this email was a line that touched my heart, "We always will be your Home away from Home!!!" This is exactly how I would describe KAP's Place. Karolina, the hostel owner, was always eager to welcome us to her safe and clean haven centrally located in the country's capital -- even if we were arriving in the middle of the night! She was always happy to see us and excited to hear about our journey throughout whatever part of CR we had just travelled through. CR is a very easy country to travel in but one must almost always travel back to San Jose in order to transfer towards their next destination. We could have gone to other establishments when we were back in San Jose but we knew that we could always expect great things from KAP's Place -- like a wonderful free breakfast, great service and clean rooms. All in all, we stayed at KAP's Place 3 different time during our journey and my partner and I wouldn't even think of staying at a different location after discovering KAP's. I trust Karolina and KAP's Place and will stay there again. Even if I had kids and they went abroad alone, I would have complete piece of mind if they stayed there.

PS: Have Karolina help you plan a trip to Corcovado National Park and Drake Bay! Karolina and KAP's Place are truly proud of Costa Rica and they take great pride in sharing their best and unbiased advice to ensure you have a wonderful experience in their country. She can help you make the initially overwhelming plans for the exciting journey there, which proves to be part of the breathtaking experience. It will change your life!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lehn0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taken the time to write us your commentary.
We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Kaps Place offers an home away from yours with a safe, secure and family oriented ambiance with personalized customer service, which is our main goal. We are located in a very safe, quiet and peaceful neighborhood, just 10 minutes walking from San José downtown, the next time you visit us, we will show you some nice and interesting places that are located near of us. We are just in the way of many nice spots.
We hope that we may serve you again soon on your next visit to San José.
PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have stayed for one month at Kap's Place paying the monthly rate and was happy with my decision. If you are looking for somewhere to get relax this place is completely right for you. Quiet,clean and nice ambiance.I felt like in my home. The place was decorated nicely and calm-atmosphere. Karolina, is the owner and the staff was very helpful and very friendly. They informed me all information (Restaurants,ATM, Banks, etc) what I need. Also you can find the coffee and the tea all day in the lobby. You can enjoy at daily buffet breakfasts in the morning.It was amazing one month in Costa Rica and I ll miss the time at Kap's Place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuratKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Murat

Thank you for taken the time to write us your review. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your long stay with us and that our service was to your satisfaction. Kaps Place is a guesthouse offering personalized customer service with a family, safe and secure ambiance. We do hope that we may be your home in San José on your next visit to Costa Rica.

PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were not really impressed by the hotel. The receptionist got very unfriendly when we wanted to make tea after 10 pm and the way she said it was very rude. The breakfast buffet was not very varied. Rooms also very basic and simple. But the location is nice and the outside area of the hotel too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suza210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taken the time to write us your review. Great part of our check-in process is to give our guest a brief explanation of our services we provide and policies that we adhere by making sure that our guest are comfortable during their stay. We have quiet hours in whole of the hotel from 10:00 pm to 8:00 am to make sure that our guest receive that well deserved rest. We are sorry to read that our policies were re-enforced during your stay. We look forward to having you again with us, but just if you want to respect our policies...

PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Not impressed. With so many options in San Jose, stay somewhere else.

Pet peeves...
Internet curfew @ 10 for public computers, who does that.
Horrible beds
Not the best neighborhood
Looks like my 16 year old sister painted the hostel
Bedding is from 1970s

Positives
Very quite.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taken the time to write us your review. It is very sad to read and also that you are the only customer that is not satisfied with our services, high speed internet and Wifi connections. Also, our rates are very right if you compares with the other guesthouse we offer a lot of facilities that they wont, so $70 for a room for 3 persons with 2 double beds and private bathroom with breakfast buffet and taxes included is GOOD ENOUGH, but cheap-people like you wants everything for free.
However, upon check out informed us that you enjoyed your stay. It is always highly recommended to inform reception at whichever place you are staying what your inconveniences are, so it could be resolved promptly instead of receiving critics like yours. Also, while during your check in process you did not agree with some of our policies, it would have been better that you had chosen a hotel instead of a guesthouse with hotel amenities.

PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaps Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaps Place

Property: Kaps Place
Address: 1142, Street 19 | Between Avenues 11 & 13 Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose 2000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kaps Place 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Costa Rican family will host and meet your needs providing accommodation, travel agency & personalized services (Spanish lessons, Post Surgery Care & meals). A clean, safe, colorful & comfortable setting w/kitchens, 1st class beds, safety boxes, cable TV, hot water. Complimentary: breakfast buffet, tea, coffee, WiFi, internet access, luggage storage & VOIP calls to more than 60 countries. Walk to: downtown, Gold, Jade & National Museums, National Theater, Plaza de la Cultura, Bolivar Zoo & Central Market. No sexual tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Kaps Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kap`s Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place San Jose
Kaps Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing