We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Friendly hostel in Downtown San Jose”
Review of Hotel Kaps Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kaps Place
Ranked #28 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Within very easy walking distance of the central pedestrian area of San Jose, this hostel has lots of private rooms, great staff, a couple of kitchen areas, and a very nice breakfast included in the price. They will also arrange shuttles to and from the airport and have free internet and international calling available for guests. We stayed there on our arrival in Costa Rica and again for a couple of nights before we left to return home.

Room Tip: Double rooms may have private or shared bath so you may want to inquire if that's important to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetirementAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 314 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

I ran across this little place quite by accident, I arrived late into San Jose missing my 7:30 am Interbus pick up, so here I am at the airport at 8 pm and no reservations. I called the place I always stay and find them full but he recommends this place Kaps and the lady cab driver knew the place and thanks goodness because believe me you would never find it otherwise. I am so thankful the lady had held a room for me when she only had two. she met me at the gate, helped me with my luggage and showed me her tea selection. I was in heaven, she had lemon grass. I had my own staircase and I looked over the breakfast/courtyard area. I had a good quiet nights sleep, (I needed a blanket with the fan on) internet was in my room, my own hot shower, breakfast and off to Playa Chiquita I headed. She even helped with Interbus to tell them where I was. Oh, it was only $40. "YOU GO GIRL"

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 128RuthP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was pushed out from another very nearby place where my friends were staying. There were no more rooms so I rolled over to Kaps. Well, what an upgrade. I was paying much less than my friends and having been in the other place was blown away by how much more I was getting for the price!!! I could not think of one additional thing that Kaps could come up with in order to make a traveler's stay more convenient and comfortable. Thanks and see you next time I come to San Jose!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've been to Costa Rica twice - in 2005 and 2013 - and both times I've stayed at Kap's place on my night of arrival (and a couple of other nights during the first trip). The staff are friendly and helpful, and will help with any sort of arrangements you need to make before or after you arrive.

The rooms are basic, and the walls aren't the thickest, but everything is kept neat and clean, and the lobby/lounge area is really charming. Quiet hours are enforced, so even the lounge-facing rooms are pretty quiet at night.

On my last trip, I arrived at around 10pm and had to leave before breakfast and was actually charged $10 LESS than the price I was quoted when I booked.

I'm sure there are plenty of other clean, friendly, inexpensive guesthouses in San Jose, but this is the one I know. When I return to Costa Rica in another few years, I'll probably make another pit stop here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bfloliska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent our last 2 nights in San Jose at Kap's Place and it was fabulous. Everyone was very friendly, rooms were clean and orderly, and the common areas were inviting and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenobia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed the last night in CR here and was pleased with the bright cheerful atmosphere of the place. Only 15 minutes to the center of the city, but very quiet and safe. Don't stay in room 6- it's sandwiched between reception and the communal kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herblady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place comes with high praise by Lonely Planet, and for good reason. Super clean rooms (I was solo in a twin room, $40USD), with private bath and BF included. Wonderful common areas and huge kitchen for self-catering. Great staff. Wi-fi is haphazard, like in much of CR - sometimes on, sometimes off, varying speeds. I had a vehicle and they accommodated (for free) in a secure area, an unexpected bonus. Not a great option for families with small kids, due to the lack of sound insulation (our kids would be too loud for this place). However, a couple or solo - perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
Apartotel  La Perla
Apartotel La Perla
#42 of 78 in San Jose
38 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#38 of 78 in San Jose
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 78 in San Jose
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
513 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#7 of 78 in San Jose
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaps Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaps Place

Address: #1142 Street 19 | Between Avenues 11 & 13 Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $40 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kaps Place 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Costa Rican family will host and meet your needs providing accommodation, travel agency & personalized services (Spanish lessons, Post Surgery Care & meals). A clean, safe, colorful & comfortable setting w/kitchens, 1st class beds, safety boxes, cable TV, hot water. Complimentary: breakfast buffet, tea, coffee, WiFi, internet access, luggage storage & VOIP calls to more than 60 countries. Walk to: downtown, Gold, Jade & National Museums, National Theater, Plaza de la Cultura, Bolivar Zoo & Central Market. No sexual tourism. We also offer: Free Special Breakfast Buffet Free maps and tourist information Free fresh linens Free luggage storage Free Wifi internet and PC's with internet unlimited Free Parking Free table games (pool , pingpong & fussball) Kitchen facilities Free DVD movies/hometheater Book Exchange Hot showers Reception 24/7 And more…. In addition (optional & for extra fee) Laundry Service Airport Shuttle – Private service 24/7 Free International & local phone calls Tours Booking Car rental Bottled water, juice, beer and sodas for sale Discounted tours Spanish, dance, yoga & cooking lessons Massage &beauty in-house service Medical & post surgery recovery assistance Extra info Just 12 minutes walking distance from San Jose downtown Supermarkets, bars, restaurants, hospital, clinics, around the hotel Breakfast & taxes are included in the rate Front desk 24/7 Check in: 2:00 PM (if the room you booked is clean and available when you get here, you can check in) Check-Out: 12:00 MD (you can leave your bags in our luggage Room and pick it up later on) We offer anything you need during your stay. Kaps Place is Your home away from home "Su Casa en San Jose" PURA VIDA!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Kaps Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kap`s Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place San Jose
Kaps Place Hotel San Jose
Hotel Kaps Place Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing