We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to downtown but quiet”
Review of Hotel Kaps Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kaps Place
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed the last night in CR here and was pleased with the bright cheerful atmosphere of the place. Only 15 minutes to the center of the city, but very quiet and safe. Don't stay in room 6- it's sandwiched between reception and the communal kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herblady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 314 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place comes with high praise by Lonely Planet, and for good reason. Super clean rooms (I was solo in a twin room, $40USD), with private bath and BF included. Wonderful common areas and huge kitchen for self-catering. Great staff. Wi-fi is haphazard, like in much of CR - sometimes on, sometimes off, varying speeds. I had a vehicle and they accommodated (for free) in a secure area, an unexpected bonus. Not a great option for families with small kids, due to the lack of sound insulation (our kids would be too loud for this place). However, a couple or solo - perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zenbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Karolina the owner if she likes you/ you'll get a better rate. She may appear to be very nice and helpful.
Kaps doesn't look like much from the outside.
When I entered and waited for a clerk to attend the front desk I was overwhelmed with the smell of incense. The rooms are very small and cramped. Not well kept.
Fun and friendly people stay there. But its way overpriced for what you can get elsewhere.
There is a much better hotel across the street. Cleaner nicer staff and rooms. Its called the Hotel Arnajuez and has a fantastic 5 star breakfast banquet that is included with your stay.
Karolina the owner was nice enough to launder my clothes since I had only the clothes I wore. Id planned to be only a couple of days at the most.
Laundary can be done, but only during the day for a hefty cost $20. Yikes! They were kind enough to make an exception in my situation - they could sense my desperateness.
The laundry/ grocery bag incident, She said I could have large reusable grocery bag they use for Laundary - I said that would be great, how much? She said no, that's ok you keep it.
But when I stayed at the hotel across the street. And return to Kaps with a friend, the desk clerk told my friend I stoled it. Thats just Wrong! I explained to him that she gave it to me. He called Karolina and she said ok for $10 bucks for the large grocery bag being used for laundry. I told the clerk I'd pay when I got back. When I returned Karolina was at the desk and i reminded her Id pay for the bag- Not wanting to argue about it. I didn't have the exact change, so I gave her 20,000 colones ($40) she gives me a $20 back in change. Saying thats all she had - So this bag she originally GAVE me out of the kindness of her heart, then gives me a bad rep with a friend/ hotel guest. Not cool. So it ends up costing me another $20 on top of a $20 load of laundry. Hmm that left a bad empression with me.
Taking advantage of her customers and then wrongly talking badly about them with other guests behind their back is a unacceptable.

I guess we chalk it up to a "Live and learn" experience. There are plenty of more honest/ cheaper places to stay that give much more in return. I won't be back. To Kraps...
Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkGoPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, Propietario at Hotel Kaps Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hello Mark!

Thank you for take your time to make a review of us.

Wow your review is so funny to me btw.

First, I'm sorry that you are traveling with a plastic bag and I'm sorry but my special bags for laundry services are for work, not to give them to the guests as a gift.

Second, when you did check out I told you taht you need return my laundry bag and I offered you a large plastic bag for your stuffs, but you told me you liked my bag and you could pay me for it, so I said okey then Mark. When I returned to the reception you had gone with my bag and without paying for it.
Next day, you came back with my guest Elizabeth and you brought your stuff in my bag and my receptionist knew you had left without paying the bag and he charged you $ 10 which is the cost of the bag when I bought it .

Too bad your comment, but never mind Mark, at least I know you have a better bag than a plastic one don't you think?

Third, if your experience in Kaps was so bad wahy you asked me for a monthly rate? and you told me taht your stay with us was charming, is not that weird of you? I think you should go to the doctor and check your head.

I hope you are doing very well, and please let me know how's your mental treatment going Dear!

Warm regards, God bless you!

P.S. ENJOY YOUR BAG ;)

Sincerely,
Your Dear Friend from KAPS PLACE (The Best Hostel B & B in San José)

Karolina Bermúdez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our two-night stay was a pleasure. Kaps is conveniently located not far (within walking distance) from central San Jose, with handy convenience stores nearby in a relatively quiet neighbourhood. Good continental breakfast and extremely helpful front desk. The reasonable price is well worth it.

Room Tip: Room with a shared b/room offers good privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ormsby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Kap's Place was the first place we stayed upon arriving in Costa Rica. We arrived at the hotel later than we had told them we would be arriving on account of terrifying traffic in San Jose, a street festival blocking streets we needed to go down, and my navigational skills being sub-optimal. They were exceptionally friendly and didn't mind us being late. Our room was very clean and homey feeling.
We had to leave very early for White Water Rafting the following morning so did not get to enjoy breakfast - but saw the preparation for it going on in the kitchen and it looked scrumptious.

We hadn't made arrangements for our final night in Costa Rica because we were traveling around so much we were unsure whether we were going to stay in San Jose or in Playa San Miguel. When we decided, last minute, to go back to San Jose, we called Kap's Place and they were more than accommodating booking us in for a room for the night. We arrived EXTREMELY late and still they were super friendly and welcoming.

Definitely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

One of the highlights of my stay in Costa Rica was the beautiful oasis at Kaps Place, a hostel that feels like your home. From the welcoming and beautiful Karolina to the excellent staff, from the imaginative paintings and decorations in each room to the full-on showers (best in town!), this is one sweet and reasonable place to stay. They help in incredible ways to make your trip easy -- ordering taxis, providing a phone to call home, internet service, you name it.

Room Tip: go for the private bathroom - the room is better and it's worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amira e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I am not a backpacker and this place is noted in Lonely Planet as 'mid range'. I wouldn't say that. It is (good) backpacker style accomodation and reasonably priced. That said, I liked it. Most of all, the front desk is very, very helpful (thank you Dorothy and Carolina for all of your help).

I was in chalet 4. It is small and has a shared bathroom. I felt like I was transported in some LSD trip to Switzerland, but a hispanic, and slightly warmer one.

It's all about sharing kitchens, spaces and conversations at Kap's place. Lots of internet access and a decent little breakfast.

Try the great vegetarian restaurant at the end of the street and Isabel's ust up the road too - nice little sodas.

Room Tip: Chalet 4 is a little small. Try and find a room that is a little larger if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
Apartotel  La Perla
Apartotel La Perla
#42 of 78 in San Jose
38 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#38 of 78 in San Jose
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 78 in San Jose
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#54 of 78 in San Jose
513 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#7 of 78 in San Jose
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaps Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaps Place

Address: #1142 Street 19 | Between Avenues 11 & 13 Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $40 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kaps Place 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Costa Rican family will host and meet your needs providing accommodation, travel agency & personalized services (Spanish lessons, Post Surgery Care & meals). A clean, safe, colorful & comfortable setting w/kitchens, 1st class beds, safety boxes, cable TV, hot water. Complimentary: breakfast buffet, tea, coffee, WiFi, internet access, luggage storage & VOIP calls to more than 60 countries. Walk to: downtown, Gold, Jade & National Museums, National Theater, Plaza de la Cultura, Bolivar Zoo & Central Market. No sexual tourism. We also offer: Free Special Breakfast Buffet Free maps and tourist information Free fresh linens Free luggage storage Free Wifi internet and PC's with internet unlimited Free Parking Free table games (pool , pingpong & fussball) Kitchen facilities Free DVD movies/hometheater Book Exchange Hot showers Reception 24/7 And more…. In addition (optional & for extra fee) Laundry Service Airport Shuttle – Private service 24/7 Free International & local phone calls Tours Booking Car rental Bottled water, juice, beer and sodas for sale Discounted tours Spanish, dance, yoga & cooking lessons Massage &beauty in-house service Medical & post surgery recovery assistance Extra info Just 12 minutes walking distance from San Jose downtown Supermarkets, bars, restaurants, hospital, clinics, around the hotel Breakfast & taxes are included in the rate Front desk 24/7 Check in: 2:00 PM (if the room you booked is clean and available when you get here, you can check in) Check-Out: 12:00 MD (you can leave your bags in our luggage Room and pick it up later on) We offer anything you need during your stay. Kaps Place is Your home away from home "Su Casa en San Jose" PURA VIDA!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Kaps Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kap`s Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place San Jose
Kaps Place Hotel San Jose
Hotel Kaps Place Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing