We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and well priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here on the recommendation of regular clients. Decor is very dated but the staff are wonderful and very friendly. Spent some time in the lobby bar in the evening and staff were eager to engage you in conversation. Everything was spotless throughout. About a twenty minute drive to SJO in the morning traffic.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PocoPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 111 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

A delightful change from the "cookie-cutter" hotels. We stayed there one night before flying to Osa. With several stairways, alcoves, and sitting areas, it was fun finding the route to our room. Breakfast was made-to-order and excellent. The staff was especially helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KenMyrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here on a layover between arrival in San Jose and departure to the Osa Peninsula via San Jose's domestic airport. It was about 5-7 minutes by taxi away from the airport so perfect to get to for our early morning domestic flight. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the place itself is an interesting maze! Every corner is unique and decked out with interesting decor or art. The rooms are modern, clean and very spacious. We were a group of 8 and most of us were placed in this apartment type place with various bedrooms and a communal sitting area and kitchen. Our breakfast was also served to order. The only downside is that it is a little far from downtown San Jose and the international airport (about a 20-25 minute taxi ride which was about $25-$30 each way depending on traffic).

Room Tip: IF you are a group or a family booking various rooms, ask for the apartment/suite area down a flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Casa Roland last week for 2 days. This is a unique hotel, very
cosy with great local artwork on all the walls. There are numerous levels to the hotel and
nooks & crannies with sofas & chairs - it is like an big, multi-level home. There is a nice covered
patio area at the front entrance, a small bar near reception and a dining room for breakfast (which
is included in the room price and is made to order). The staff speak excellent English and are
extremely helpful. We will definitely use Casa Roland for any future trips to San Jose.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casamadara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed three nights hear and loved it. No complaints at all. beautiful hotel, lots of lounge areas, nice covered patio, very comfortable and relaxing, great artwork everywhere. Very friendly staff that went out of their way to find information I wanted and get reservations made (no tipping necessary in costa rica so they were not motivated by how much they thought I would tip).
the rooms can be a little loud because it is a old building with spanish style louvered windows and you can hear a little bit of the outside noise but it did not keep me awake. In my experience the guests were polite and quiet and the hotel is in a residential neighborhood so it was relatively quiet as well

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comstock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Left my ipad in my room... not in the safe (of course not) and checked out. Flew home to Nosara. Freaked out and called hotel. Liza went to the room I had (#14... very nice) found ipad, wrapped it, took it to Nature Air, and had it flown to Nosara the next day. No charge.

Thank you Liza. Thank you Casa Roland.

Room Tip: Room #14 did have noise from the bar but I slept through it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were surprisingly pleased when we arrived at Casa Roland. I say surprised because it was recommended by our taxi driver so we wern't sure what we were going to get and from the outside it didn't look like much. But the moment we walked through the entrance we were in aww. The reception was great and the staff also spoke English. The ambiance in the hotel was very warm. The art and plants all around was simply gorgeous and done with great taste. Woke up the 1st morning to a beautiful healthy complimentary breakfast. The rates were fair, the rooms clean, comfortable, well decorated and air conditioned. Everything about the place was great, I would definetly recommend Casa Roland.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria12341234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
276 reviews
2.4 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#41 of 78 in San Jose
238 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#27 of 78 in San Jose
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#32 of 78 in San Jose
243 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
4 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#16 of 78 in San Jose
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Roland San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Roland San Jose

Address: At the End Of Rormoser Boulevard | 150 mts south, Pavas, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: $69 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Roland San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Roland San Jose is conveniently located near downtown San Jose and Tobias Bolanos Airport, making our hotel perfect for business travelers and vacationers alike. The hotel boasts 27 rooms plus an executive room and two luxury suites. All of our rooms are exquisitely decorated and come with queen-size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, cable TV, telephone and hot water. All guests can enjoy high-speed internet access and a state-of-the-art gym. Additionally, we offer an excellent restaurant specializing in international cuisine and a fully equipped business and conference center. Casa Roland San Jose is a great springboard for enjoying day trips to steaming volcanoes, whitewater rafting, majestic waterfalls, coffee plantations and much more. The capital city's vibrant nightlife and wide range of excellent dining and shopping are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa Roland San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Roland Hotel
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing