We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful staff and well priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Roland San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and well priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here on the recommendation of regular clients. Decor is very dated but the staff are wonderful and very friendly. Spent some time in the lobby bar in the evening and staff were eager to engage you in conversation. Everything was spotless throughout. About a twenty minute drive to SJO in the morning traffic.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PocoPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
33
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A delightful change from the "cookie-cutter" hotels. We stayed there one night before flying to Osa. With several stairways, alcoves, and sitting areas, it was fun finding the route to our room. Breakfast was made-to-order and excellent. The staff was especially helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenMyrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here on a layover between arrival in San Jose and departure to the Osa Peninsula via San Jose's domestic airport. It was about 5-7 minutes by taxi away from the airport so perfect to get to for our early morning domestic flight. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the place itself is an interesting maze! Every corner is unique and decked out with interesting decor or art. The rooms are modern, clean and very spacious. We were a group of 8 and most of us were placed in this apartment type place with various bedrooms and a communal sitting area and kitchen. Our breakfast was also served to order. The only downside is that it is a little far from downtown San Jose and the international airport (about a 20-25 minute taxi ride which was about $25-$30 each way depending on traffic).

Room Tip: IF you are a group or a family booking various rooms, ask for the apartment/suite area down a flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Casa Roland last week for 2 days. This is a unique hotel, very
cosy with great local artwork on all the walls. There are numerous levels to the hotel and
nooks & crannies with sofas & chairs - it is like an big, multi-level home. There is a nice covered
patio area at the front entrance, a small bar near reception and a dining room for breakfast (which
is included in the room price and is made to order). The staff speak excellent English and are
extremely helpful. We will definitely use Casa Roland for any future trips to San Jose.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casamadara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed three nights hear and loved it. No complaints at all. beautiful hotel, lots of lounge areas, nice covered patio, very comfortable and relaxing, great artwork everywhere. Very friendly staff that went out of their way to find information I wanted and get reservations made (no tipping necessary in costa rica so they were not motivated by how much they thought I would tip).
the rooms can be a little loud because it is a old building with spanish style louvered windows and you can hear a little bit of the outside noise but it did not keep me awake. In my experience the guests were polite and quiet and the hotel is in a residential neighborhood so it was relatively quiet as well

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Comstock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Left my ipad in my room... not in the safe (of course not) and checked out. Flew home to Nosara. Freaked out and called hotel. Liza went to the room I had (#14... very nice) found ipad, wrapped it, took it to Nature Air, and had it flown to Nosara the next day. No charge.

Thank you Liza. Thank you Casa Roland.

Room Tip: Room #14 did have noise from the bar but I slept through it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were surprisingly pleased when we arrived at Casa Roland. I say surprised because it was recommended by our taxi driver so we wern't sure what we were going to get and from the outside it didn't look like much. But the moment we walked through the entrance we were in aww. The reception was great and the staff also spoke English. The ambiance in the hotel was very warm. The art and plants all around was simply gorgeous and done with great taste. Woke up the 1st morning to a beautiful healthy complimentary breakfast. The rates were fair, the rooms clean, comfortable, well decorated and air conditioned. Everything about the place was great, I would definetly recommend Casa Roland.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria12341234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#5 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#29 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
3.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Roland San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Roland San Jose

Property: Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Address: At the End Of Rormoser Boulevard | 150 mts south, Pavas, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Roland San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Roland San Jose is conveniently located near downtown San Jose and Tobias Bolanos Airport, making our hotel perfect for business travelers and vacationers alike. The hotel boasts 27 rooms plus an executive room and two luxury suites. All of our rooms are exquisitely decorated and come with queen-size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, cable TV, telephone and hot water. All guests can enjoy high-speed internet access and a state-of-the-art gym. Additionally, we offer an excellent restaurant specializing in international cuisine and a fully equipped business and conference center. Casa Roland San Jose is a great springboard for enjoying day trips to steaming volcanoes, whitewater rafting, majestic waterfalls, coffee plantations and much more. The capital city's vibrant nightlife and wide range of excellent dining and shopping are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Casa Roland San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Roland Hotel
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing