We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved”
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Probably one of the cleanest and beautifully furnished hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms - fantastic!
All rooms are furnished with large traditional wooden furniture. Air conditioned and fidge with bottled water, and the beds so comfortable.
Breakfast too was very good.
If you visit - there is also a wonderful restaurant directly opposite. (looks as though you would need a mortgage to eat there) - but is very reasonably priced and the food is fantastic.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Catwoozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    24
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
43
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf of Papagayo, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

These people really know how to treat people. My aunt stayed here on her way to visit us in Costa Rica, and suggested I stay there whenever I overnighted in San Jose. The main reason we stayed was because they allowed our dog Capòne to come. They welcomed us and our dog with open arms! The hotel and rooms are not that big, but they paid attention to detail with luxurious linens, a makeup mirror in the bathroom, dvd player and a great bar in the lounge and setting in general.
The breakfast (which comes with your room)in the morning is not your typical continental. Custom made to order waffles, eggs how you like them, bacon etc.etc. Security outside the hotel is phenomenal and the staff....amazing! You feel like you are at your own home here. Also their prices for rooms are extremely reasonable. I will stay here everytime I over night in San Jose and look forward to seeing these wonderful people who manage and run this hotel.

  • Liked — That they took pets
  • Disliked — no deck area for sun tanning
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dalecandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2007

We were searching for somewhere close to Tobias Bolano airport since we were flying out on Nature Air next day and we found Casa Roland. When we arrived on April 20 electricity was just returning after country wide blackout the day before. We went to the restaurant right next door for dinner (pretty with nice service that night - appealing sounding food - but really not very good).

Didn't get much of a look at the place till next am. Quite lovely. Really interesting art throughout. Nice furnishings (except for ugly rolling contemporary desk chair, spacious room, nice bed, small step out balcony for checking out birds and trees in the am. In room TV. Nice bath. Lovely common areas!! Nice little breakfast area with fast good cooked to order full breakfast included. We chatted with owner and the manager drove us to the airport herself. Couldn't have been nicer! We definitely recommend Casa Roland - especially if you're flying out of Tobias Bolano next day. We did not explore the neighborhood at all, but it looked OK - some nice tropical trees anyway.

  • Liked — The art and charm
  • Disliked — The restaurant next door
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

Paintings and sculptures, plants everywhere. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great little local eatery 1/2 block away, complete with local soap opera TV on the counter. A hoot and a great deal of a meal. Wish we could have stayed longer than the 10 hours we did before our flight home! Will go back again.

  • Liked — proximity to airport without being a chain
  • Disliked — bad neighborhood
  • Tips/Secrets — get good directions in order to find it
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank suzypeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2005

A friend once told me "The best way to see San Jose is on the way out of San Jose". I agreed with this advice and for many years absorbed San Jose from my rear view mirror while driving out from the airport as quickly as possible to the greener pastures and jungles of Costa Rica. The problem I always had with San Jose was not the city itself but the lodging therein. Cold hotel rooms with no soul, noise, unwelcoming neighborhoods, unfriendly staff...
All that changed on a recent visit.
After a long delay at the airport and a cancelled flight, while reading the local paper and seeing their ad, I decided to overnight at Casa Roland.
Not only did I overnight but I delayed my journey home by 3 days!
This small luxurious hotel has an ambience unparreled in all of San Jose..and maybe even Costa Rica. The collection of Costa Rican art in the lobby extends to each and every room (I insisted on a complete tour!)and conveys the sense of enjoying a fine cognac, slowly sipped. The feeling is that of being encompassed in a warm and friendly environment comparable to a mountain lodge in the Alps. All in tropical Costa Rica.. amongst lavish greenery! And in San Jose at that! The staff, notably Eliana, provided me with every comfort I requested and then some. Day tours (fishing, volcanoes) are arranged, as is transportation, from the front desk and the cozy bar and lounge awaits you upon your return.
Future trips to Costa Rica will see San Jose not as a city to avoid but as a base to enjoy the Central Valley and surroundings. Thanks to this quaint little hotel!

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JBD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 24, 2005

The Rooms are clean. The breakfast is good and they will prepare what you want. The location is just OK. I really felt the price was reasonable for San Jose $70 /including tax and breakfast.,but they prefer cash and charge$25 to use a credit card. The hotel has a charming atmosphere and a lot of local art work. This is a great value and location if you are flying out on a hopper flight from the small local airport nearby.Cab to int'l Airport is $12.
They will change dollars to Colones and give a good rate. Overall staying there was a positive experience

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BusinessManager1, General Manager at Hotel Casa Roland San Jose, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a true pleasure to read your review of your recent experience at the hotel, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We were delighted to learn that your experience at the hotel was a pleasant one and we hope you to stay again at the hotel whenever you get the chance.

We are thrilled to have gained your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 77 in San Jose
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 77 in San Jose
239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 77 in San Jose
994 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
881 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Roland San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Roland San Jose

Property: Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Address: At the End Of Rormoser Boulevard | 150 mts south, Pavas, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Roland San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Roland San Jose is conveniently located near downtown San Jose and Tobias Bolanos Airport, making our hotel perfect for business travelers and vacationers alike. The hotel boasts 27 rooms plus an executive room and two luxury suites. All of our rooms are exquisitely decorated and come with queen-size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, cable TV, telephone and hot water. All guests can enjoy high-speed internet access and a state-of-the-art gym. Additionally, we offer an excellent restaurant specializing in international cuisine and a fully equipped business and conference center. Casa Roland San Jose is a great springboard for enjoying day trips to steaming volcanoes, whitewater rafting, majestic waterfalls, coffee plantations and much more. The capital city's vibrant nightlife and wide range of excellent dining and shopping are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Roland San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Roland Hotel
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing