We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Interesting place...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Roland San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting place...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed here one night because we had an early morning flight to Tortuguero from Pavas airport. If you are looking for something just for that purpose this hotel is perfectly adequate and reasonable in price. It was a 6 or 7 minute drive to Pavas airport. The hotel is really interesting, it obviously caters to businessmen who are in town for business. There is all sorts of art all over the walls and it is very dark inside, almost like a bordello. Our room has no windows, only a balcony door that led to an airshaft, However the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Also they had free strong WIFI, which after traveling through the less populated areas of costa rica was a nice change. I certainly wouldnt stay here as a vacation destination but for transient purpose I thought it was a great hotel

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the lobby and ask if you can have one with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    18
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
32
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
estarillos oeste
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

great place to stay . full breakfast with waffle's very very clean staff is the greatest. you can not do better I have recommended it to all my friends and they all love it. enjoy we all have. .

Room Tip: ask the staff anything they will tell you the truth i like ground floor back but they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Interesting and beautiful art. Located in a quiet area and it takes about 20 minutes by taxi to the city center. Friendly staff and good breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HamiltonSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

It was not what I had expected.
We were on the third floor (walk-up) in very interesting room with very interesting artwork.
There were two TV sets with one set up to only play CDs or VHS tapes.
It is pretty close to the US Embassy and that's why we chose it.
By Costa Rican standards it was overpriced.
HOWEVER, the breakfast was EXCELLENT.
Cooked to order.
The staff was another plus... helpfull and friendly.

Room Tip: Take a look at it first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandL830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had to stay at Casa Roland when our flight to Puerto Jiminez was cancelled due to bad weather. It is located quite close to the Pavas (Tobias Bolanos) Airport, so it was very convenient place to stay in time for an early morning flight. The staff was nice, the inn was nicely decorated, and it's located in a pretty safe area.

However, we got stuck in Room 1, which is right in the front of the hotel. The bed and room were comfortable, but it was extremely loud. We could hear the music in the lobby blasting all evening, then a bunch of drunken revelers were hanging out in the bar until 1:30 am (on a Sunday night) shouting for drinks and food until my husband called the front desk and complained. I'm not sure whether the rest of the hotel was subject to this level of noise, but I would guess not, since no one else seemed to be bothered. So ask for any room except rooms 1 and 2 and you should be safe.

Complimentary breakfast was fantastic and we got a ride to the airport as well.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annak78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

My son and I discovered this wonderful hotel quite by chance. We randomly chose it from a list of hotels on our GPS. What a god send. This is a beautiful, classy hotel and was wonderful break from the crazy traffic and rain we experienced in San Jose. It is a beautiful facility with a nice, helpful bilingual staff. The space is gorgeous. There is a plethora of artwork in this wonderful hotel. It has a bar and restaurant. The rooms are incredible with awesome linens, a refrigerator, DVD, phone, WIFI, etc. Our room was on the second floor. In the morning I got up to read in a lovely sitting area outside of our room while I waited for my son to wake up. They serve a full breakfast cooked to order. They also have properties in Manual Antonio, Golfito, and Nosara. We absolutely loved this hotel and it was only $80 a night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bfutterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We arrived here late from the International Airport. We had booked this hotel as it was close to the domestic airport, Tobias Bolanos airport, for our early flight the next day. It had good reviews and did not disappoint. The welcome was friendly and the room good. Breakfast was included and was enjoyable. The hotel booked us a taxi to take us the 5 minutes to the airport the next morning. This hotel was perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somersetgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#29 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#10 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#5 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
2.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
4.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa las Orquideas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Roland San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Roland San Jose

Property: Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Address: at the end of Rormoser Boulevard | 150 mts south, Pavas, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Roland San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Roland San Jose is conveniently located near downtown San Jose and Tobias Bolanos Airport, making our hotel perfect for business travelers and vacationers alike. The hotel boasts 27 rooms plus an executive room and two luxury suites. All of our rooms are exquisitely decorated and come with queen-size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, cable TV, telephone and hot water. All guests can enjoy high-speed internet access and a state-of-the-art gym. Additionally, we offer an excellent restaurant specializing in international cuisine and a fully equipped business and conference center. Casa Roland San Jose is a great springboard for enjoying day trips to steaming volcanoes, whitewater rafting, majestic waterfalls, coffee plantations and much more. The capital city's vibrant nightlife and wide range of excellent dining and shopping are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Casa Roland San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Roland Hotel
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing