We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are very nice, but the staff makes it a great experience”
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dunn Inn
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We wandered into the bar at the Dunn Inn on a Sunday afternoon after an overnight flight and brief nap looking for lunch and drinks. We had a room at a fortress-like hotel 2 blocks away with no restaurant.

The food was good, prices reasonable and the server friendly and helpful. Both my traveling companions and I needed a room on the way home so we inquired about rates. The manager (who's card I can't find) offered to show us a room which was apparently in the newer wing and very nice. The price was more than our current accommodations but the bathroom was inviting instead of musty and tile beats worn out carpet any day. We both booked rooms for out return.

Later that day after a trip to the gold museum and much wandering we were worn out and hungry with a 6:30 AM transfer to Tortuguero. We decided to return to the Dunn Inn for dinner and again had a great experience. The manager remembered us and brought chips and salsa to our table as soon as we sat down. We had another good meal and left looking forward to coming back.

When I stayed on the way home the experience was just as good. No ringing to have a reluctant clerk buzz you through the door and the concierge notices the cab coming and is waiting to bring your bags in. They have a $25 ride to the airport (cheaper than a cab) and I knew it would be on time based on their service so I requested a ride at 3:30 AM. The desk clerk offered a wakeup call but I didn't need it.

She took me to my room which was apparently in the older wing and smaller but recently redone and very nice with a ceiling fan, AC, big wall mounted flatscreen TV and a large shower. After a shower I went down to the bar again for dinner. The server was again very friendly and attentive and the meal was good. If was cinco de mayo and surprisingly the margarita was very good. Shaken and served up, with a good balance of sweet and sour.

On the way to my room I asked the same front desk clerk where I could find ice for my room. She asked if I had the ice bucket from my room (not plastic, with glasses and a tray also not plastic). I offered to get it but she went behind the bar, filled another ice bucket and brought it to me.

At 3:20 AM the same front desk clerk offered to make me fresh coffee while I waited for my ride. I knew there wasn't time but was impressed by her offer. I knew she remembered my by now but even if it was someone else I'm sure the service would have been just as good.

I look forward to returning to CR and know I'll stay here on my way in and out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. This is what makes our job so pleasurable!!! Thank you on behalf of the Hotel Dunn Inn staff. We look forward to be at your service on your next trip to San Jose, Costa Rica.

Kind Regards,
John G.
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 429 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

Ended my 8th stay at the Dunn Inn less than two weeks ago. With minor exceptions, the staff was again very helpful and friendly, providing an at home feeling. The addition of John G as manager has led to significant improvement, as the previous manager was often indifferent to guest concerns. It is a very good hotel for the single male visitor who wants to enjoy the nightlife of San Jose, as well as the recent and very nice sports bar addition. Because it is not a large hotel and located in the historic district the hotel is better suited for stays of several days, rather than one night to or from San Jose. The restaurant menu is typical for San Jose, but has a variety of choices and is being upgraded. New management has expressed an interest in more creative menu choices, which could make the restaurants, both hotel and sports bar, destinations rather than just accommodations. The weekday lunch specials are just that, special and more than reasonably priced. Perfect hotel for visitor without a set agenda who just wants to experience the people and attractions of San Jose on a day to day basis. Also, because of the attentiveness of the staff, a very good hotel for visitors in San Jose for the high quality medical and dental care available in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The newly remodeled rooms at the south end of the 2nd floor are very nice and reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo80218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and share your experiences with others. It is very rewarding for the hotel team to receive such wonderful comments. We are looking forward to welcome you in a near future.

John G.
G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Third time and still happy. Everyone there spoke English, but they were polite enough to let me practice my Spanish in our interactions. Food was good and not expensive and neither were the drinks! Rooms were nice and had flat screen TVs. I would recommend this place and this is my 3rd time there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tucker941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

I would like to thank very much by writting your comments in tripadvisor.com. It was a pleasure knowing that you had a wonderful stay experience at the Hotel Dunn Inn. Your review will definitive incourage our associates to keep on mantain the quality and standards of service.

Thanks again, best regards!

John G.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A big thank you to Guy and John at Dunn Inn for once again going out of their way to make sure I had a great stay. Those two guys are great!! The food was great as usual, the staff was attentive and helped point me in the right direction, and it is always nice to wake up in their beds, most comfortable in San Jose!! Thanks everyone and look forward to seeing everyone again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austintxyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thank for your great feedback. We are excited that you continue to visit us again when you come to San Jose, Costa Rica

We would be honored to serve you again and again. We will be waiting.

Sincerely,
John G.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

On one of my early trips to Costa Rica I Managed to stumble across the Dunn Inn Hotel on an afternoon walk. This is were I met Guy Grand and the rest of the staff. He took me on a tour of the hotel and it was beautiful and refreshing. The staff is very friendly and accomidating to your every need. They go out of there way every time. Since that tour I've stayed at hotel 8 times in last year and a half. There are two bars one which more of a dinning experience and another which is a sports bar with every sport on serveral flat screen T.V. 's and a glassed in enclosure that gives a new eligant appearance. The Food in the hotel is very good, often times I just eat in hotel most of the time. The location is centralized and there are other eating establishments and even a zoo just blocks down the street. This is definitely my first choice will staying in San Jose

Room Tip: there is no swiming pool but there are two computer stations for free internet access to hotel guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DONALD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Wow! This means a great deal to us, thank you so much. Please tell your friends! We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Dunn Inn in the years to come.

Kindest regards,
John G.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Dunn Inn is inexpensive and conveniently located. The staff are very courteous and speak English. The hotel manager, Guy, is very helpful with any information needed about the area. The hotel contains two bars and a restaurant. The food is good and varied if a bit pricey. This has become my regular stop in San Jose and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms in the older section of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best Regards,

John G.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

As a frequent traveler for a hobby as well as being in place like Spain, Greece, Thailand, New York, L.A., the Carribean, and more I must say that my stay at the Dunn Inn has surpassed all of my expectations. The front desk was more than helpful in almost every aspect that I can imagine. The restaurant located inside the hotel had excellent food especially its breakfast serving the best pancakes I have ever tasted. The room I stayed in was so spacious and the bed was so comfortable I can fall asleep in it in a matter of minutes. Room service was also excellent always cleaning my room and provided me with fresh towels everyday. The only drawback from my stay was that the laundry service lost a pair of socks of mine but I won't let that be an overall reflection upon the great hotel.
I plan to stay here again when I go back to Costa Rica and cannot think of any other hotel to stay at in San Jose other than the Dunn Inn.

KC

Stayed for 3 nights (3/30/12 - 4/1/12)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheLastOfFinest80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

You have made us the greatest compliment. I am so very pleased you feel that way about your recent stay at the Hotel Dunn Inn and I sincerely hope that we will be having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

John G.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
985 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11, San Jose 11681-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $73 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home. This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance. Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in any way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose
Hotel Dunn Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing