We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Different Kind of Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Del Rey
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Different Kind of Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2006

Let us get something straight here: Hotel Del Rey is NOT a family-friendly hotel by any means, it is not even recommended for single female travelers or couples to stay here, why? Well, it seems that this hotel exists solely to cater ONLY to single male travelers, the lobby is always (24/7) populated by a large all female crowd. These women are very beautiful and most of them are prostitutes, this is not a big deal in Costa Rica since Prostitution holds a legal status in the country. When I stayed there during the tourist season, the female to male ratio would be as high as 15 to 1 on the Weekends. There is a small Casino in the Lobby and multiple slot machines to pass the time, there is an OK restaurant and 3 bars. The overall quality is good and the rooms are Ok, but make no mistake, if you visiting Costa Rica with your family stay away from this Hotel, this also goes to single female travelers, Please, trust me on this. On the other hand, if you are single male...

  • Liked — The surroundings
  • Disliked — The surroundings
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't act like a tourist
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank VirginiaJosh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    47
    28
    14
    10
See reviews for
3
9
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2006

Reality check: This is a brothel, period. Disregard all the reviews about the quality of the food, rooms, etc.

If you are looking for action, companion, etc, I guess this is the place to go, but if you are just looking for a place to stay, definitely not the hotel to choose.

Big NO for families please....

  • Tips/Secrets — This is a brothel, not hotel. Big NO for families
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
11 Thank peflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2006

I have stayed at the Hotel Del Rey four times.....last time in August of 2006. This is a serious place for wild entertainment and fun. If you want at least some quiet time you must get a room on a high floor and in the back. Rooms on the front and lower level get a lot of street noise and noise from the casino. Use the safe. The rooms are clean and the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The location is excellent if you are interested in the entertainmetn district. I enjoy the gambling and it is less expensive than vegas wit hbetter odds. The drinks are good also and not watered down low rent drinks like at all inclusive resorts. I have never had a problem during the 4 times I have stayed here. Not the Ritz but ok for a good time. I like all the bars and the food is good to excellent. I would recommend this place for anyone who wants some serious wild entertainment in a safe environment. Treat everyone with respect and you won't have a problem. Don't walk around the neighborhood at night though.

  • Liked — 24 hour activity
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Tips/Secrets — if you do want some quiet time pick a room high up in back
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank navyjim58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2006

Just got back on Memorial Day and the Del Rey was unreal. We got there after the redeye flight and the four of us started at 9am and went til 10 that night. The most beautiful women come out starting around 7pm but mingle in and out all day. We spent the week in Nosara which is the real CR but for a single guy the Del Rey blows even Asia away!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2006

Don't come here thinking this is just a hotel. This is an adult hotel with some of the most beautiful 'hosteses' in central america.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north tikrit, iraq
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2005

Great place, the rooms are very clean, the staff is frendly. I recomend this hotel to all the single and married guys who are looking for and adventure, this is the place were your fantasy becomes your reality.

Helpful?
12 Thank bushmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2005

Do not be confused. This hotel is actually the most notorious brothel in Central America. This is not a hotel in the traditional sense. if you are looking for a brothel, it is hard to do better than this. Some of the most attractive and available sex workers in the region are to be found 24 hours a day at reasonable rates. If that is what you want, I am not judging you.

But, if you are looking for a decent hotel, this is not the place. The hotel is not very nice. The facilities and rooms are lackluster, about the quality of a cheesy casino hotel off the strip in Las Vegas. The rooms are loud, the linens are threadbare, and services (other than the previously mentioned brothel) are non-existent. The hotel restaurant is not recommended. Plus, the place is crawling with low lifes, hookers, and the atmosphere is like (again) a seedy off-the-strip Vegas casino hotel.

Unless you are looking for a great brothel and okay casino with a lousy room upstairs to crash (or whatever else you may choose to do), this is a definate avoid.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
33 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#16 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Casino Costa Rica Morazan
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Rey

Property: Hotel Del Rey
Address: 1st Ave & 9th St, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 79 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Del Rey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rey Hotel
Hotel Del Rey Costa Rica/San Jose
Del Rey San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing