We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Clean Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartotel Suites Cristina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartotel Suites Cristina
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Clean Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have been to San Jose Costa Rica 6 times from September 2010 to July 2013 and have always stayed at the Suites Cristina
Of course there must be a good reason why I stayed at the same place so many times.
The location is great, the apartments are large, has a equipped kitchen, living room, bedroom, and a bath room. It is very clean, and comfortable. The staffs are very friendly and speak English and Spanish, the breakfast buffet is very tasty and gives you enough food to keep you going till supper time.
The pool is a nice size and clean, and all the common areas are very clean
There are a lot of good restaurants near buy and it is a short cab ride to downtown and other areas.
I would rate this accommodation a true 5 star and a very good value
Robert Baker

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Our returning customers are the most valuable for us, their comments, critics and observations help us to improve in a sincere, friendly and concrete way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    89
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
71
63
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had 2 adjoining suites, for our group of seven. The suites were clean and roomy, with TV's in each room and a full kitchen. The front desk staff was very accomadating and even provided us with a roll away bed, for one of the kids.

A mile or so away from the National Soccer Stadium, the neighborhood seems very save. We walked on the street at night a few times, and never felt nervous. Walking distance to a Subway, a Small Casino and a few small bars. Every morning they served a traditional Costa Rican breakfast, which is great for the wallet.

I would certainly stay here again if I ever make it back to San Jose.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quota10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Our “Family Suite” apartments were not available during your visit; they are our biggest suite with 1000 Sq. Feet, 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a large living room, maybe next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Coco, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had a full knee replacement surgery and was required to remain in San Jose for a week. I stayed at the Apartotel Suites Cristina for a week after the surgery. The hotel staff from the security guard, front desk, reservations and maids all made my stay enjoyable and comfortable. Because my mobility was limited all staff went the extra distance to assist me whenever I required something I could not get myself. My wife and I have been staying at the Cristina for over 10 years and have always enjoyed our stays. The hotel staff are always friendly and very accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We know we have a compromised and responsible staff at the Cristina and we are very proud about it. Frequently, with long term and returning guests, the familiar faces help to make the stay relaxed and more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for 10 days at the Cristina. We had been to San Jose several times previously and had heard from other travelers about this hotel so we gave it a try. What a pleasant surprise from check in to departure. Rooms well furnished and appointed, everything in working order, convenient and safe. Absolutely no security concerns. Complimentary buffet breakfast every morning by the pool. Custom prepared eggs, fresh local fruit and other local breakfast treats. Just delicious. Local transportation is right at the front, either taxi or van. Complimentaty airport transportation all included in the very reasonable price. Whenever I return to San Jose the Cristina will be my home away from home.

Room Tip: Ground floor inside rooms are very convenient to all services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks for your comments; you listed several advantages that are difficult for us to show in a web page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Came down in October of 2011 for dental work at Prisma Dental. Had never been out of the US. The people, accomodations and everything was perfect! Had 3 more visits in 9 months. Got to know Sergio pretty well! Even was able to reserve the same room in advance the last 2 visits. Love the exectutive suite & price. Will be down again and I know where I'm staying!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
A returning customer is always a matter of proud and responsibility and Sergio, our sales manager, knows it very well when he try to exceed expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Located near a main park, Cristina employees were very cordial, speak English well, gave good advice about sites and arranged for tours and rental car. Fairly close to airport, it is also an easy taxi to the downtown yet in safe neighborhood. Kitchen was very helpful and could access a supermarket a few blocks away. Great jumping off hub for us after arrival - they picked us up at the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Our location is practical for most visitors, not in the center of the city, not far away from it and, most important near the Sabana Park, the key-point of the west side of the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My mom and I stayed at the Suites Cristina while she was having dental work done by Dr. Obando at Nova Dental. We stayed in a two room/one bathroom suite with kitchen and living room. It was perfect for the two of us. The interior of the suite was very nice and we appreciated the daily cleaning service. Our room was near the pool where breakfast is served each morning so we did have the clatter of dishes and the scooting of chairs noises in the morning. This was a minor issue that did not detract from our overall impression of the Cristina. If you are sensitive to that kind of noise, you should probably request a room further away from the pool. We found the airplane that passes over the hotel repeatedly in the morning more disturbing than the breakfast noise, but there isn't any escaping that by asking for a different room. Nonetheless, by the end of our stay, I found I had grown a bit more used to it. The kitchen was easy to work in and make small meals. The breakfast served by the hotel each morning was tasty as well as being convenient. They will make cook to order eggs/omlettes alon with toast, cereal, coffee, tea, etc. We appreciated that the breakfast stayed open until 10am which allowed us to not have to rush down. There are laundry machines on site and they will also do your laundry for you if you prefer.The desk staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdog2855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for your comments about our hotel, we´ll improve the acoustic isolation of the suites near the swimming pool, following the general idea to make the stay in our hotel as comfortable as possible. Regarding your comment about the airplanes that flew over the hotel, this was a special occasion: the Mr. Obama official visit to Costa Rica, during those days three helicopters patrolled the neighborhood several times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.8 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel Suites Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel Suites Cristina

Property: Apartotel Suites Cristina
Address: Norte del Ice 300 | Sabana Norte, San Jose 10108, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartotel Suites Cristina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable and fully equipped Suites-Apartments with 1,2 or 3 bedrooms from 420 to 1000 square feet. We have free airport(SJO) to hotel transportation, and we charge US$5 from hotel to the Airport, both services must be booked with us. Free high speed wi-fi and free buffet breakfast. We specialize in medical tourism, families and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Apartotel Suites Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel Cristina San Jose
Apartotel Suites Cristina Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing