We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“started out on a bad note”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Livonia, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“started out on a bad note”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I booked through an online site where we got a great rate, I believe it was around $80/night. It was me, my husband, and our three girls (all under ten). A week or so before we left I saw the icon on the hotel's webpage too chat with a specialist. Great. One of the reasons we choose this hotel was because of the free airport shuttle. I chatted with the very nice lady who said that a driver would be there as soon as we got off the plane. Awesome, until we got ofc the plane and found drivers for everybody but us. Some guys contacted the hotel and worked it out (for a tip, of course). An hour later we were picked up. I asked if our lunch would be compensated and he said that they had no reservation for our p pick up. Luckily, I chose to have an email of the online chat sent too me, so I had proof! In the end, lunch was covered. Breakfast was good. Not tons of choices, but good. The rooms were old feeling. Mildew on the ceiling above the shower, cigarette marks on the scalloped sink, tilted outlets and soap holders. I am tall, just shy of 6 feet, and I had to sit on an angle in the bathroom because the toilet was so close to vanity. I could have washed my feet and hands while using the toilet, it's that small. The beds were crap. Tempurpedic? Not in our room. My husband and I haven't snuggled that much since we first started dating. A double bed is rough when both people are tall! The girls slept like angels :) the outside of the buildings is beautiful! I really enjoyed looking at them. The service was wonderful as well. All in all I have mixed feeling about this place, but wouldn't return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    94
    66
    25
    18
See reviews for
82
87
23
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

A strange place to book if you are a tour operator. Why on earth would I want to drive from the airport to San Jose in all that traffic after hours of flying, just to drive back in the same direction the next morning toward the Arenal or Monteverde areas (and then do the same crazy thing a week later)? Service and staff very friendly, most speak English amazingly well. The murals on the building walls are picturesque, the fountain with colorful tiles in the center gives it a village feel. Food is fair; eat here it you are too tired to drive somewhere else, although, the kids meals are good and large enough for an adult, if a burger or a quesadilla is ok; breakfast buffet is not the tastiest we've encountered. Ample parking; drive around the block to the Alamo-looking entrance. There is a reason it looks like the Alamo - you are basically inside a very lovely looking and well protected fort, not a place you want to venture out from and take a stroll. There is probably a good reason even the humblest of abodes in the area has iron gates and bars in front of their windows and doors. Rooms are ok, but why would I need a kitchen for an overnight stay? And be careful, the sodas in the fridge were not left by someone else, they are part of the minibar. Check the price list on the counter!!! I'd rather have a nice large hotel room. Small bathrooms (wish it was as large as the kitchen) with mildew odor (the two that I encountered). Room 121 - to avoid getting scalded while taking a shower, let the sink hot water run while you take the shower. Also, bring ear plugs, the room is right by the road, and the motorcycles and trucks are very loud. Room 420 - the hot tub is right outside your bedroom window, could be fun or very noisy. Best to take a taxi if you are planning to go downtown, unless you really enjoy good bumper to bumper traffic with some zipping motorcycles thrown in. Pool looked great, but unless you are a bit of an exhibitionist and enjoy it when the entire restaurant watches, not the best place for a swim (therefore, not one person in it the two days we were there). Wifi works well in rooms (get code from front desk); guest computer in lobby did not work when we were there (and had no printer, in case you want to print your boarding passes). If you are returning from Monteverde area, do yourself a favor and take the Rt 27 toll road (about $3) back to San Jose rather than Rt 1, much less stressful.
Overall, not a bad place if you really need to stay in the San Jose area, maybe for a conference or such, then the kitchen may come in handy. But if you don't have to, just stay in the airport area and make the drive to your next destination an hour shorter (1/2 hr plus traffic).

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and leave the A/C on, best noise cancellation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Conde H, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Google Translation
Buenas tardes, le agradecemos la opinión sobre su estadía en nuestro hotel. Nos encantará recibirle nuevamente y tomaremos en cuenta su valioso comentario.
Saludos y gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

It was nice to have an apartment unit with a full kitchen but the bedrooms and bathroom felt really cramped. The unit didn't seem that old but I think things could have been laid out better. There was mildew and mold in the bathroom shower, walls and celing and the kitchen seemed half completed with not cabinets under the sink counter. Friendly staff, nice pool, good food.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank swxnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Casa Conde is a good hotel under new management since my last visit. Good meals and safe property. Fair value! It has a great pool. The breakfast is a good Costa Rican experience. Access to shopping is easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdraughon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Conde H, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Google Translation
Buenas tardes Sr. Kdraughon, es de nuestro agrado saber que su estadía con nosotros fue una buena experiencia. Nos encantará recibirlo nuevamente.
Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We arrive at the Casa Conda very late at night after a stressful day of traveling. We walked the ought the arch into the dining and pool area which was all lit up with folded napkins and a buffet set out for us. That immediately made me feel so much better. The food is fantastic and the rooms are clean.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Conde H, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Google Translation
Buenas tardes Sra. Sophia F, nos alegra que su estadía con nosotros haya sido agradable, además que le gustarán nuestros platillos y que se sintiera cómoda en nuestras habitaciones.
¡Le esperamos nuevamente, feliz tarde!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville va
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Read other reviews of the Casa Conde and after staying here thought they were petty. I really enjoyed my stay here. I found the staff, attentive and eager to please. The wifi was fast and available in my room and in the dining room. I worked out at a small outdoor gym area that was clean and well equipped. I ate breakfast and dinner here and found the food tasty and well prepared. The breakfast was especially good- a nice selection of fresh fruit and eggs cooked to your preference. It was around a 8-10 dollar taxi ride to the central areas of San Jose. taxis were plentiful, safe and fast. I didn't mind staying at Casa which is away from the crowded and inner city. A huge group of American school kids were staying here as well. They seemed to be happy and well cared for. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nauclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Conde H, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Google Translation
Buenas tardes Nauclair, qué bueno que su estadía con nosotros fua agradable, que le gustó nuestro hotel, sus amenidades, la comida, y que además pudo disfrutar de todo lo que hay a nuestros alrededores.
¡Será un gusto recibirlo nuevamente!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is truly beautiful outside, lovely shrubbery and pool. Very helpful and courteous staff. The breakfast was very good. We stayed there at the beginning and end of our trip to Costa Rica. The rooms are large and adequate with two separate bedrooms, but need some work. A kitchenette was included. There were no filters for the coffee machine and utensils were sparse. On our first stay, the WiFi worked, but could not be received in our room on the second stay. The bathroom floor looked clean, but when we happened to spill some water on the floor, it became a sea of dirt. The second time we stayed, the bathroom window handle was broken off and it took some ingenuity on our part to get it shut when it started raining. The inside needs to be as carefully cared for as the outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,436 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Conde Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Hotel & Suites

Property: Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Address: Transversal 11 | Southwest side from Parque de la Paz, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is a Four Acre Colonial Village style hotel of 110 guest rooms located within a residential neighborhood where you will be able to share a cup of Costa Rican coffee with our Good Neighbor Package. Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is located 30 minutes from the Juan Santamaria International Airport and just 5 minutes from downtown San Jose where you will be able to enjoy spectacular plays in the National Theatre with our Cultural Package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Casa Conde Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing