We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, nice service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was a surprise since I didn't know nothing of the place and resulted to be a nice place to stay... couldn't find better even if I tried. Nice restaurant with great food. The pool area is a great place to stay cool. Recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FilipeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 328 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stopped at Casa Conde for one night prior to embarking on a two week trip. We were told about the remoteness of the property as it relates to the city center. So we were not surprised that there was no place to walk. Upon arriving on the grounds we were pleasantly surprised but after checking in and going to the room, this is where the disappointment came about. Also it was raining that day and the noise from the rain was so loud that the bellman and I could not communicate. I tried to call the lobby to see about another room and the response is it will get better once the rain stops! The other major issue is with the hot water, or lack of constant hot water in the unit. The other issue was the performance of the air-conditioner. It worked but it blew right on the bed and made sleeping pretty difficult.

Room Tip: During the rainy season, try to get a room without a light-well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFGoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at the San Jose Casa Conde for a week in March...2013 ..for 7 nights. I will start with the positive remarks. The hotel grounds and staff are fantastic....everyone is smiling at you ...the breakfast every morning is awesome..by any standards...the pool is very nice..as is the hot tub. The location is in an older area of SJ....which is fine with me..central to everything....I'm a CR vet....and walking around at night is not my desired activity.....and night time wandering is not recommended...,although I think this is overblown....but there's really no where to walk to anyway. My BIG complaint...was the lack of kitchen tools and pots and pans. This room was described as 'fully supplied kitchen '... WOW...one pot...3 forks...4 water glasses...3 dinner plates .....you could not possibly cook a meal ....My girlfiend called the front desk to see if we could get 2 wine glasses........NO....was the answer.....Overall...I would describe my stay as a 5/10... Repeat...NO....... No...No...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was nice surprise it was great to have a kitchen and washer and dryer. We stayed out first and last night in this hotel. I was traveling with my daughter so having separate rooms was nice.
The hotel is very well maintained and has a lovely appearance. Nice pool and sauna, unfortunately the hot tub was working on our last night, so took a sauna while I laundry was washing!! Great to go home with clean clothes!!

Driving to the hotel even with GPS was challenging, wild driving and motorbikes everywhere!!
Thank God my daughter is less timid than me and she drove, I just sat and prayed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited San Jose, Costa Rica. We got a 2 room apartment- Including washer and dryer, Kitchenette and living room for under $100. Service was excellent and the food was great. We do recommend this place. The only thing we didn't care for was the location. It's a little outside of town. Maybe 15-20 minutes. SO if you want to stay there, make sure you rent a car or you'll be taking taxis to go out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here on our first night and last night in Costa Rica as our flights were in and out of San Jose. My first impression was that it was okay, but after more Costa Rican travel, I realized that it was actually quite nice comparatively. The suites were spacious and some even provided in-room washers and dryers. There was great air-conditioning and even though you are in the middle of a not-so-great neighborhood, it feels very safe. We only had breakfast here, but the fruit options and hot bar were decent. They could use some new towels in the rooms (ours had a few holes) and maybe some basics in the rooms like dish soap or coffee filters to make things a little easier. If I had to stay in San Jose again though, I would stay here.

Room Tip: I would recommend an upstairs room to be away from staff noise. If you need internet access be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I visit San Jose regularly for business purposes since 2007. My first stays in the city were in Casa Conde because of its location, close to the office. It is true the hotel is located in a not-so-friendly neighbourhood; however, I felt myself safe inside the hotel gated area. Rooms are distributed in 2-story buildings and they can not be actually called rooms - they are fully equipped homes with kitchen, washer, dryer, sofas and 2 bedrooms each unit. My critics to this hotel are: furniture is old and thorn, rooms are not clean, staff makes a little noise by speaking just outside rooms. The good about it is: staff is friendly and helpful.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank farmami2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondeMgmnt, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Casa Conde hotel a while back.
We hope you visit us again soon. We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,
Randall Lara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
3.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,424 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Conde Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Hotel & Suites

Address: Transversal 11 | Southwest side from Parque de la Paz, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $78 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is a Four Acre Colonial Village style hotel of 110 guest rooms located within a residential neighborhood where you will be able to share a cup of Costa Rican coffee with our Good Neighbor Package. Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is located 30 minutes from the Juan Santamaria International Airport and just 5 minutes from downtown San Jose where you will be able to enjoy spectacular plays in the National Theatre with our Cultural Package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Conde Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing