We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our flight was 2 hours late but they were there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Ranked #37 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our flight was 2 hours late but they were there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had made prior arrangements to be picked up at 9:30pm (after the usual shuttle hours) and we had given our Frontier flight number so when we finally arrived at 11:30pm, we were very pleased to see our shuttle driver with our name on his sign. He drove us the 45 minutes to Casa Conde and the next day our rental car was delivered to us so we didn't have any real experience with the neighborhood. The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and comfortable and we were exhausted. Breakfast the next morning was simply amazing, it was so good! We don't think it was because we hadn't eaten since the afternoon before in Denver, CO. All kinds of fresh fruit, waffles, omelets, coffee, juice, cereal, toast, and more. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and it was a good "entrance" to our month long stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonlit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    93
    64
    25
    18
See reviews for
80
84
21
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent four nights here in a four week visit to Costa Rica. The location is inconvenient for downtown but the hotel has a free morning and afternoon shuttle which help to alleviate the problem. Taxis are easily available with the various destinations and prices posted in the hotel lobby.

The neighbourhood in which the hotel is located is unsafe for walkers and we were told by hotel staff to only turn left outside the gates, not right, and to never walk at night. The razor wire and window/door bars on all properties in the area were more evidence of the kind of area we were in.

Our apartment had a kitchen and a very useful washer and dryer, a small sitting room/dining room, two double bedrooms and the smallest bathroom we had during our stay. The sofa (hide-a-bed) couldn't be sat on in any comfort and the tv was disconnected on our arrival but the helpful staff soon got that fixed. The floors were covered in a fine dust which we feel is likely volcanic in origin, so wear slippers! Generally, the whole place looked "tired" and needed an update. The pool is unheated with no loungers available and the spa/hot tub is tepid. We later discovered the loungers near the spa in a noisy location without a view of any kind. Our room was quiet at night.

The staff did their best to make our stay pleasant. Many speak reasonably good English and all were helpful and cheerful. We enjoyed the breakfasts but did not like the one evening meal we ate there as the mushroom risotto was undercooked and made with evaporated milk. We'd recommend eating prior to arriving back for the evening or bringing something back with you. The fully equipped kitchen is not full or equipped as 2 of everything does not constitute a workable situation.

Room Tip: We were in building no. 4 on the ground floor. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaFrankieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend 8 wonderful nights in this hotel. The staff was courteous, my breakfast, which was different each morning, was included in the price. They are definitely large suites. I had a two bedroom, kitchen, dining area and living area with a 20 foot arched ceiling and all this for a very reasonable price. I was able to witness several Costa Rican festivities, like a wedding and a birthday party, in the common reception dining/pool area. The halls are nicely appointed and the walls of the various buildings are all painted with floral/jungle patterns intermixed with actual vines. Very nice.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor suites have vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreggLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I just spent two nights in their modest style apartments, the staff were friendly and helpful, but you can't walkout the compound, very run down area, not safe at night. The apartment needed refurbishing and upgrading, the washroom is so small, when you stood up from toilet you hit the wall. The buffet breakfast included was quite good, as sitting outside on patio. The two nights I was there, the car alarms went on and off all night ruining any chance of a restful sleep. The other concern was they had a large gathering of the outlaw motorcycle gang the Bandito's staying the second night I was there in full colours and revving their bikes at night and morning, which seemed to set off vehicle car alarms. Not impressed staying at hotel which caters to outlaw motorcycle gangs as their clients. I won't go back there.

Room Tip: Away from parking area, many separate buildings on compound,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The buildings in the hotel compound are charmingly painted, and there are beautiful stained-glass windows in several of the buildings, but when we entered the building where our room was located, we were hit by a powerful musty smell which also pervaded our room. In addition to the smell, we had been assigned a room right next to the hot pool, and the noise from the pump was horribly loud, even with the windows closed. We were also desperate for a walk after a long day of traveling, but did not feel safe heading out beyond the guarded entrance to the hotel. My recommendation to the hotel owners is to take those rooms by the hot tub out of commission, or else move the hot tub to another location where it won't disturb people's rest.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4wildness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Overall the stay at the hotel was nice. The problem was, the hotel was in a very bad part if town, so we couldn't go out sightseeing. It was also about 40 mins from the airport, so the cab ride there and back ate up any savings we may have had, but that part was our fault.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I liked the place but was warned that the area was unsafe to walk at night. The accomodations were nice the first 4 days we were there and clean but the floor was very dirty( like I had put my finger on an finger print pad not kidding) my feet were filthy. I thought maybe they had not mopped. The breakfasts were nice but I would not go back for dinner again. We came back for the last day of our trip to stay there and in a different room and the floor was the same way and the shower would not give hot water. I mentioned it to them and they said it was because of the wind etc. what a crock. All the other places we stayed had clean floors even the place we stayed in Monte Verde that has very high winds this time of the year had clean floors. I will never stay in the San Jose area again crazy drivers, people step out in front of you to try to get hit, it is flat scary. We loved the Cloud forest area, Puntarenas area, La Fortuna, Liberia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herorank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
4.5 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
4.7 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Conde Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Hotel & Suites

Property: Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Address: Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, located just 5 minutes from San Jose and 30 minutes from the Juan Santamaria International Airport, offers comfortable facilities to Local and International Guests. Enjoy 110 fully furnished two-bedroom luxury suites, equipped with a kitchen, dining room, living room, TV, air conditioning, secure parking and all the amenities to make you feel right at home. We provide laundry service, prescheduled Hotel-Airport transfers, meeting room facilities, along with wireless Internet access, computer desk and gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Conde Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing