We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Spend your hard-earned money somewhere else” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Tournon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Tournon
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Woodside, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Spend your hard-earned money somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days in early sept (2013). Though the lobby was decent looking, the overall hotel was not. First its located in a "red zone" area. Meaning its not entirely safe. So if you have kids, i would not advice staying here. The rooms lacked renovation. They had a box tv, a non functioning air conditioner: it was barely blowing air, let along cold air. the bed covers were antiquated, and the beds were hard!! definitely not a good night sleep. I recommend spending your hard earned money in other hotels, better area, etc...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Extorsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    37
    74
    28
    8
See reviews for
18
49
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was the starting point for a group tour of Central America. It was perfectly ok after a long flight and slept well. Not in a nice part of town though. Full of young group from USA who were not especially well behaved.
Room was acceptable and clean. Buffet breakfast was very good with choice and staff pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I recently went with a tour group to Costa Rica and we spent our 1st two nights at this hotel. It is a convenient location and the dining room staff is very friendly, BUT, that is where anything positive about my stay ends. I was fortunate to stay in a room with wood floors - the girls who stayed in rooms with carpet described it smelling of "dead bodies". My room was much quieter than the rooms facing the busy street and near the casino (thanks to reading Trip Advisor before my trip). The hallways are pitch black at night until the motion sensor lights go on. My room was at the beginning of the hall, so I actually had to walk down the hall a bit before they came on. Uncomfortable bed and pillows, lukewarm water, broken AC, no peep hole in door, filthy hot tub out back...... The packet of morning coffee in the room was very good, but when I asked for one for my second morning there, I was informed one was provided only the 1st night of your stay. The front desk staff was RUDE! (especially the bald guy). I will pay a bit more to feel safe when I return to Costa Rica!!

Room Tip: If you must stay here, choose a room with no carpet & facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThirstyWineTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Arrived here after 23 hour journey from Manchester. Room was lovely. At the back of the hotel above the pool area. Large, clean room with 2 massive beds. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was great, pleanty of choice on the buffet of hot and cold options inc bacon and eggs, cereal, local dishes, fruit. Pool area was well looked after & lovely to chill out after wandering the busy street of San Jose. Casino next door was good fun too

Room Tip: ask for room above the pool away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rach949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

as per other recent reviews, this is really a place for a stop over for no more than one or two nights. It's dark throughout, rooms are basic but clean and everything worked, breakfasts are adequate only, bar staff a bit miserable, food in the restaurant again adequate but nothing more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We, a family of 4, stayed here on a 2 week self-guided tour of Costa Rica, one night at the beginning and 2 nights at the end. I stay in quite a few hotels but rarely write reviews as I am not fussy and usually don't feel I have anything new to pass on to fellow travellers. Of this hotel I would say the following. Being on a tour, I don't know exactly what it cost. So it may well have been good value. Certainly the hotel was very popular with organised group tours - there were often coaches unloading or loading huge groups into or out of the lobby. Our room was reasonable and the facilities, including a pool which we did not use, seemed OK. 3 important points. 1. Noise. The road outside is busy and noisy ALL night. On arrival we were severely jet-lagged and didn't mind-we could have slept through anything. On returning, we had requested a room at the back, which request had been ignored. We got ourselves moved and our room on the back was much quieter, except for a noise like a jackhammer when next door turned their taps on. 2. Water. We never had any hot water. there is supposed to be a schedule, with the heater only turned on at certain times to save energy. Their website just advertises the availability of "hot water" and on checking in, no-one tells you about this schedule. Reception were quite vague as to when hot water ought to be available and the long and short of it is, we never got any. 3. Location. The hotel is a couple of miles out of the town centre. We could happily walk this in the daytime. At night, knowing nothing about the town or the area, most people wouldn't want to. Thus you're stuck with the hotel restaurant (OK, not great value or great choice) or a taxi. One reviewer notes that just up the hill there is a commercial centre - this is true but we found very few places open there and just a couple of restaurants which were OK but pricey. This centre, "El Pueblo" or something like that is reviewed elsewhere on the net - basicly it's a tourist trap with a lot of expensive bars and nightclubs wanting to attract the younger US crowd - but it seems to be struggling.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are incredibly noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andrewjameshoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Spent one night in this hotel in 2 rooms (2 adults and 2 kids). When I felt something crawling over my face, I turned on the light and a saw 3 bedbugs on my pillow. Killed 7 more and found a nest between the 2 mattresses (see picture).
The kids woke up with their sheets stained with blood (also picture).
When the reception was notified, the manager printed some pages from the internet on these vermin, but never explained us how he was going to "manage" this.
The real problem is that these bugs can hide in your clothes and infest your home!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yvnieuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#62 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.4 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#39 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#45 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.0 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#43 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Tournon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Tournon

Property: Hotel Villa Tournon
Address: San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Tournon 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Tournon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tournon Hotel San Jose
Hotel Villa Tournon Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing