We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Tournon
Ranked #51 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Gainesville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good location in San Jose”
Reviewed May 20, 2008

San Jose is a jumping point for most travelers to Costa Rica, as it was for my husband and me. The Villa Tournon was chosen for us by our travel agent on our way to an eco-tour vacation. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and adequate. Nothing fancy. The hotel is just a bit from the bustle of downtown, but an easy walk to all the shops, museums, and restaurants. The gardens were a nice touch (did not try the hot tub but it was nestled in the garden area). It is on a noisy street but closing the windows and turning on the A/C cut the noise dramatically (yes, they have A/C!). Don't recommend the restaurant, however, and drinks at the bar were weak. For a really nice meal in a great atmoshpere, try Cafe Mundo (walking distance).

  • Liked — Location, gardens
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lucyspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    44
    89
    31
    10
See reviews for
20
65
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clearwater lake
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2008

We had a stopover nite in San Jose before going on an eco-tour and were booked at the villa tournon. It is on a busy street and quite noisy at night, however there is a small pool garden which is a little oasis behind high fences. The room was adequate and clean, as where the halls and public spaces. The little dining room was pretty and the food was quite good. Desk staff were helpful with info on the surrounding area and amenities.

  • Liked — Good for business travellers
  • Disliked — Noisy street
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank canyonman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

The room was nice but I did not speak spanish so I did have some trouble with communicating with the front desk. They were not very helpful. Cab ride from airport was $20. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank chaba_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2006

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last 3 years (most recently for 2 weeks in Sept/October '06)-my employer chose it.

The staff has been the same at each visit, which is a good sign. The people are really the strength of this property. They are friendly and helpful, more than adequately bi-lingual.

The place itself is a little dim and shabby, by US standards, though clean and well-cared for. The rooms I've stayed in are clean, though not too-well lit. Someone described it as looking like it was designed by Mike Brady (of the Brady Bunch), which I thought was pretty acurate. Internet connection in the room was consistently good.

The small, but well-maintained, garden in the back contains a pool and patio. The gym has 1 treadmill, stairmaster and one other machine. no weights, but there's a Gold's gym at the Radisson down the block ($9/day).

Restaurant serves a good breakfast buffet, with a mix of fresh fruit, rice/beans, eggs cooked to order etc. There's a bar open in the evenings til 10. The lunch/dinner food in the restaurant is fresh and consistent, but not too inventive, featuring chicken, seafood and meat dishes. The salads are a strong point.

Location: 5-10 min walk from Barrio Amon, which has some good restaurants and the local zoo. 10-15 minutes from central downtown. Cabs are plentiful and cheap. There's a hair salon and travel agent and they've just converted the extra restaurant into a casino - it opened while I was there.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — dimly lit room
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank spenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 29, 2006

This hotel looks like it was built by Mike Brady of the Brady Bunch back in the 1970s. The big advantage of this hotel is its location-- it isn't right in the middle of town so it seemed safer and quieter than other central San Jose options. But the rooms weren't fancy and needed to be updated about 20 years ago. Though generally speaking the hotel didn't seem unclean, our bathroom sink did have a small cockroach, our toilent and shower had small black flies, and there was a silverfish running along the floor of our bathroom. The people at the hotel were nice, the breakfast was good, and there's even a guarded parking lot at night for your rental car-- those were the perks for us. But that said, I definitely felt like we should have gotten more for the price we paid. We visited the Hotel Presidente in central San Jose and it offered much more modern rooms (and lobby) for the same price as Villa Tournon.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2006

I spent two days in San Jose on business, and on the advice of my business associate, had avoided the hotels on Central Avenue, instead he recommended the Villa Tournon, an easy 15 minute walk from downtown, and 2 minute walk from the 'Pueblo' entertainment area. From the minute I walked through the door, the hotel staff were friendly and welcoming, and the room was spotlessly clean. The furnishings are not the newest, but the bed was comfortable and the room was more than adequate. For the TV watchers, there are 70+ channels, of which around 10 were in English, mainly cable channels from the US.

The cleanliness and the welcoming staff would certainly make this my choice next time I am in San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.4 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#38 of 77 in San Jose
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#37 of 77 in San Jose
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 77 in San Jose
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#41 of 77 in San Jose
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#28 of 77 in San Jose
233 reviews
2.0 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#39 of 77 in San Jose
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Tournon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Tournon

Property: Hotel Villa Tournon
Address: San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Tournon 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Tournon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tournon Hotel San Jose
Hotel Villa Tournon Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing