We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“hotel in san jose” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Tournon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Tournon
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“hotel in san jose”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

as per other recent reviews, this is really a place for a stop over for no more than one or two nights. It's dark throughout, rooms are basic but clean and everything worked, breakfasts are adequate only, bar staff a bit miserable, food in the restaurant again adequate but nothing more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    37
    74
    28
    8
See reviews for
18
49
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We, a family of 4, stayed here on a 2 week self-guided tour of Costa Rica, one night at the beginning and 2 nights at the end. I stay in quite a few hotels but rarely write reviews as I am not fussy and usually don't feel I have anything new to pass on to fellow travellers. Of this hotel I would say the following. Being on a tour, I don't know exactly what it cost. So it may well have been good value. Certainly the hotel was very popular with organised group tours - there were often coaches unloading or loading huge groups into or out of the lobby. Our room was reasonable and the facilities, including a pool which we did not use, seemed OK. 3 important points. 1. Noise. The road outside is busy and noisy ALL night. On arrival we were severely jet-lagged and didn't mind-we could have slept through anything. On returning, we had requested a room at the back, which request had been ignored. We got ourselves moved and our room on the back was much quieter, except for a noise like a jackhammer when next door turned their taps on. 2. Water. We never had any hot water. there is supposed to be a schedule, with the heater only turned on at certain times to save energy. Their website just advertises the availability of "hot water" and on checking in, no-one tells you about this schedule. Reception were quite vague as to when hot water ought to be available and the long and short of it is, we never got any. 3. Location. The hotel is a couple of miles out of the town centre. We could happily walk this in the daytime. At night, knowing nothing about the town or the area, most people wouldn't want to. Thus you're stuck with the hotel restaurant (OK, not great value or great choice) or a taxi. One reviewer notes that just up the hill there is a commercial centre - this is true but we found very few places open there and just a couple of restaurants which were OK but pricey. This centre, "El Pueblo" or something like that is reviewed elsewhere on the net - basicly it's a tourist trap with a lot of expensive bars and nightclubs wanting to attract the younger US crowd - but it seems to be struggling.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are incredibly noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andrewjameshoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Spent one night in this hotel in 2 rooms (2 adults and 2 kids). When I felt something crawling over my face, I turned on the light and a saw 3 bedbugs on my pillow. Killed 7 more and found a nest between the 2 mattresses (see picture).
The kids woke up with their sheets stained with blood (also picture).
When the reception was notified, the manager printed some pages from the internet on these vermin, but never explained us how he was going to "manage" this.
The real problem is that these bugs can hide in your clothes and infest your home!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yvnieuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by EF tours so I did not choose it. I would call it adequate but I wou
Dn't have wanted to stay any longer. The bed was noisy due to some sort of crinkly plastic covering. The pool area looked very nice but we had no time to spend in it. Of the 5 hotels in which we stayed in Costa Rica this one rated the lowest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSturgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Location is fantastic, San Jose Center is just 5 minutes away. I have been staying at this hotel ever since I have been traveling back home on vacations. We feel like we are home away from home, the staff is very friendly, the rooms are very clean and yes maybe a little dated however, they are constantly working to maintain its individuality. Despite the fact that there are issues with the Casino we have no complains. There was an incident once when my daughters stayed there (an incident that had nothing to do with the hotel) and the staff especially the Owner-Manager were very concern and helpful. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amor0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
187 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Avoid this "hotel" and stay somewhere else. They are connected to a casino/dance club and if you end up in a room below the dance club don't expect to get any sleep until the wee hours of the morning. The hallways are very long & narrow and the lights are set on motion sensors. It is very creepy walking down the hallways in the dark waiting for the lights to turn on. The location isn't the best and there is really nothing in walking distance of the place. It is located on a busy street. The hotel is not very clean and it is very worn out. The restaurant was decent with food & service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HavePillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

The hotel is situated near one of the most noisy streets of San Jose. Trucks and buses are passing by non stop and the inhouse casino/disco makes also a lot of noise. The rooms are spacious and clean but either the window could not be closed or,after change of rooms, the safe was out of order. The carpet is worn out and the bathroom, althought clean,needs a renovation too.A flatscreen tv makes no 4* hotel. Staff is friendly and the breakfast buffet is good and plentyfull. The whole hotel has free Wi-FI access. If you want to have a quiet night try to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cirrus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#62 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.4 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#39 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#45 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.0 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#43 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Tournon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Tournon

Property: Hotel Villa Tournon
Address: San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Tournon 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Tournon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tournon Hotel San Jose
Hotel Villa Tournon Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing