We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Bedbugs in the room” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Tournon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Tournon
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bedbugs in the room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Spent one night in this hotel in 2 rooms (2 adults and 2 kids). When I felt something crawling over my face, I turned on the light and a saw 3 bedbugs on my pillow. Killed 7 more and found a nest between the 2 mattresses (see picture).
The kids woke up with their sheets stained with blood (also picture).
When the reception was notified, the manager printed some pages from the internet on these vermin, but never explained us how he was going to "manage" this.
The real problem is that these bugs can hide in your clothes and infest your home!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yvnieuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    37
    74
    28
    8
See reviews for
18
49
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by EF tours so I did not choose it. I would call it adequate but I wou
Dn't have wanted to stay any longer. The bed was noisy due to some sort of crinkly plastic covering. The pool area looked very nice but we had no time to spend in it. Of the 5 hotels in which we stayed in Costa Rica this one rated the lowest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSturgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Location is fantastic, San Jose Center is just 5 minutes away. I have been staying at this hotel ever since I have been traveling back home on vacations. We feel like we are home away from home, the staff is very friendly, the rooms are very clean and yes maybe a little dated however, they are constantly working to maintain its individuality. Despite the fact that there are issues with the Casino we have no complains. There was an incident once when my daughters stayed there (an incident that had nothing to do with the hotel) and the staff especially the Owner-Manager were very concern and helpful. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amor0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
187 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Avoid this "hotel" and stay somewhere else. They are connected to a casino/dance club and if you end up in a room below the dance club don't expect to get any sleep until the wee hours of the morning. The hallways are very long & narrow and the lights are set on motion sensors. It is very creepy walking down the hallways in the dark waiting for the lights to turn on. The location isn't the best and there is really nothing in walking distance of the place. It is located on a busy street. The hotel is not very clean and it is very worn out. The restaurant was decent with food & service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HavePillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

The hotel is situated near one of the most noisy streets of San Jose. Trucks and buses are passing by non stop and the inhouse casino/disco makes also a lot of noise. The rooms are spacious and clean but either the window could not be closed or,after change of rooms, the safe was out of order. The carpet is worn out and the bathroom, althought clean,needs a renovation too.A flatscreen tv makes no 4* hotel. Staff is friendly and the breakfast buffet is good and plentyfull. The whole hotel has free Wi-FI access. If you want to have a quiet night try to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cirrus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

I came here at two different occasions in March 2012 for a total of 3 nights stay. It's walking distance to shopping and eating. The rooms have beautiful hard wood floors and are more spacious then I was expecting.
The downfall would be noise. It seems to be placed on a rather busy street, and traffic in San José doesn't seem to ever die down much. But their is air conditioning so closing the windows is not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieF59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed in the Villa Tournon for a total of 4 nights during the course of a VJV Costa Rica Garden of Eden holiday. On the first occasion we arrived at about 11:00 pm and were given a room facing the main road. Even though we were exhausted after a long flight from the UK we got very little sleep as the road is very busy on week days (less so on the weekend). The room was large and clean (I later found out it was a superior room). I asked if they had an alternative room the next day and they moved us without a quibble. Our next room was also a superior room on the same floor (level 3) but facing the pool - much quieter.

On our last night in Costa Rica we again stayed at this hotel. This time we were on the ground floor (level 1, room 103 I think) but were not in a superior room; the difference was marked as the room was much smaller, had twin beds which were very creaky, a broken vanity unit in the bathroom and smelt vaguely damp.

The hotel is definitely not a chain - it has an individual feel to it which we liked, but it generally felt tired and needed redecoration in some rooms.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was OK and plentiful, but wasn't particularly inspiring. For dinners we went to El Pueblo just up the street which had a couple of restaurants to choose from (both good).

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior room facing the pool / garden. Superior rooms are bigger and have double beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JH1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#62 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.4 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#39 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.0 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#44 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Tournon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Tournon

Property: Hotel Villa Tournon
Address: San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Tournon 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Tournon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tournon Hotel San Jose
Hotel Villa Tournon Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing