We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm Mixed with the New” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rosa del Paseo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rosa del Paseo
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
“Old World Charm Mixed with the New”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Background: This was to be the jumping-off point for a 3-week group tour of Central America. I managed to arrive very early on a red-eye flight before the roosters even started crowing, so to speak. This remodeled hotel used to be the home of the Montealegre’s family, one of the main coffee exporters to Europe in the early 1900's, when Costa Rica was the "Coffee Capital of the World." The mansion was designed in a charming mixture of Caribbean Victorian with Art Nouveau styles by the famous Spanish architect Luis Llac, of the renowned Barcelona School of Architecture.

PROS: Location is one of its best assets. Situated close to the city centre of San Jose, the place is a leisurely 20-minute walk to Mercado Central and several museums. It is along the main highway (#2 Paseo Colon) and close enough to McDonald's, KFC, Burger King, Taco Bell, Pizza Hut and other fastfood joints. Room rates are reasonable and of good value compared to its peers for its 3-star rating. The room decor had an Old World Colonial charm to its motif, hearkening back to its coffee plantation roots. There are the usual perks: cable TV, ceiling fan and in-suite bathroom. There is also free WiFi and private parking. Providing a 24-hour receptions desk, service is very good to excellent. The staff may be soft-spoken, but they are very helpful and accommodating.

CONS: I agree when other reviewers say that this establishment is big on security but only because an old iron grill takes the place of keyless door entry and CCTV cameras. True, they prioritize safety over convenience. The entry doorway was always locked and Reception needs to be buzzed every time -- every time -- a guest enters or exits. There were some delays at times when the receptionist wasn't at the desk and I had to wait a few minutes to go out the door. Although there's free WiFi, the signal was spotty and does not reach all of the bedrooms. Furthermore, there were no toiletries, in-suite safe or coffee. Alas, the meals were also not included with the room rates.

Liked: Good value, Excellent service

Disliked: Needing to call Reception every time to enter or exit the front door

Verdict: There you have it -- the positives balance out the negatives. While there are some negatives, they are almost non-issues for me. You see, I'm not such a fussy traveller and I could put up with a lot. By Costa Rican standards, it is good value for your money. Adequate for a few nights as a base to explore the Costa Rican capital. Your call. Grade B+.

.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We loved this beautiful hotel. Each room is furnished with antiques from the Plantation days when Costa Rica was the Coffee Capital of the world. The hotel represents a wonderful past yet is well appointed with modern amenities. The hotel Manager Fernando provided us with its history and made a great evening restaurant recommendation. Would definately recommend staying there again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the interior courtyard.and are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Naumanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I earlier wrote a review on the Casa Colon hostel and it was because of my crummy stay there I knew I had to find another place to spend the night....hopefully one that was quiet, decently appointed and still near the Pulmitan bus station. I needed rest, quiet and calm.

I was walking back up Paseo Colon after a long day of dealing with business matters when I saw an older gentleman emerging from this gorgeous old home.....our eyes met and we both smiled. I looked up and saw the sign and thought, why not check it out?

After being buzzed in, yes this place is big on being secure, I asked the usual questions and was given a tour of this classic Caribbean Colonial hotel that was once home to a former Costa Rican president. To say that this place gave me an immediate sense of calm (old polished tile and hardwood floors throughout and tastefully decorated with art and antiques) would be an understatement.

The courtyard garden was inviting and the first room shown to me with a king sized bed and bathroom replete with a deep bathtub had me instantly hooked. AFter living months in a tiny beach village and only having cold water showers I knew I could not turn this opportunity down especially given that the room was marked down in price to $60 and still included a petit dejeuner. The bath was, needless to say, wonderful.

There are two levels, and plenty of salon space to chill out in.....in fact i felt so relaxed there that the Friday evening rush hour traffic outside ceased to exist for me. I was taken back to other experiences in Merida, Oaxaca, Mexico City and Falmouth.

My bed was quite comfy and the staff was incredibly attentive and helpful. I know that the next time I have business in San Jose, this is where I will be staying. It is so worth it.

There were some issues with the internet but that is to be expected in this country.

Room Tip: Tell them what you need right up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoZeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAlifornia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

I lived in CR for a little of 2 years and barely found out about this place in my last 6 months or so in CR. After staying in countless hotels, I found Rosa del Paseo to be very accommodating, rooms are clean, staff is soft spoken but very polite. We had Thanksgiving at this hotel in November 2008 and they allowed us to use their kitchen to cook. They go out of their way to make you feel as much at home as possible. When I left for the states in June of 2009, I had an early morning flight and the shuttle I book did not arrive. The owner/manager of the hotel woke me up (I did not hear my alarm), checked on the shuttle (although it was nowhere in sight) and then took me to the airport himself. I paid and tipped him but I still think you can't beat their service for that price. Happy Traveling!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zhenadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

This is a nice(ish) B&B but it has the following problems:

1. The owners seem to have different ideas about what needs to be done to accomplish things. They stuffed up our reservation, stuffed up tours and could not work out how to book various things or whether we needed to pay them in cash or card. At one point they paid themselves for a tour and then asked for extra money. It made Fawlty Towers look sophiticated at times.

2. The place is very much a B&B. You have to ring a bell to get into the property and sometimes it is not answered for several minutes.

Apart from this the property is nice. It is a bit overpriced to be honest but then so is Costa Rica overall.

The free breakfast is good.

  • Liked — It is a lovely building
  • Disliked — The front desk does not work. For the price paid they should have some staff.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nljtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Zürich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2007

We booked this hotel via internet and our reservation was confirmed, but when we arrived, the hotel was full and we had to move to another hotel. The next day we came back and stayed for two more nights. The Master Suite has a Jaccuzi and when we wanted to use it, it did not work. Also the TV did not work properly due to a missing cable. The "Tropical Breakfast" was a joke: one banana, some slices of pineapple and some slices of papaya plus two slices of toast. My daughter who lives in San José joined us for the second night and we did not use an additional bed, we shared my bed - the hotel charged us additional USD 30.00, which I think, was not right. The rooms are nice, but the hotel is not worth its price.

  • Disliked — The fan
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Guide_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2007

Rosa del Paseo is a warm and welcoming place to stay in the bustling financial district of Downtown San Jose. My boyfriend and I stayed there our first night in Costa Rica before heading off to Manuel Antonio Beach for the main part of our trip. The historical house and it's lush courtyard was very warm, beautiful, and inviting; being able to relax in such an environment after our long flight was just what we needed.

It's fair to say that this hotel (and it's **wonderful** manager Fernando!!) made a great first impression on our inaugural visit to the beautiful country of Costa Rica.

  • Liked — Historical Building, Friendly Staff, Convenient Downtown Location
  • Disliked — Expensive Airport Transfer
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank auntysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cacts
Hotel Cacts
#41 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#42 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.8 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#44 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#39 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosa del Paseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosa del Paseo

Property: Hotel Rosa del Paseo
Address: Paseo Colon entre calles 28 y 30, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Rosa del Paseo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in a most historical important home of the old coffee families of Costa Rica. This hotel will enchant you with its historical well maintained style and today's comfort. In the city center near to airport and buses and just a 10 minute walk to the central market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Rosa del Paseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rosa Del Paseo Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing