We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
171
144
72
31
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
144
72
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica los yoses san pedro mall the hotel staff minute walk to downtown charming hotel rice and beans breakfast included neighborhood tropical supermarket cab tours
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 441 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a gem! This small hotel is very European and spotlessly clean. Room 14 is a corner room with balcony on the second floor of this mansion converted into a small hotel with lots of tile, marble, and stained glass. The complementary breakfast features fresh fruit and juice with unlimited croissants, english muffins, toast, local black beans and rice and mounds of scrambled eggs. This is a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Room 14 has a wonderful view from the balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZEAGLELADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Perfect place to unwind after a long flight and days of traveling throughout Costa Rica. The staff is incredibly helpful in every way. They even helped us get a car brought to the hotel instead of waiting in line at the airport car rental.
The rooms are simple but very clean and quiet. Each room we stayed in had its own private courtyard surrounded by lush plant life. Will definitely come back next time we pass through San Jose.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobbertson2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on two occasions in February. They arranged a car to meet us at the airport on arrival in San Jose for a reasonable extra charge. The staff that checked us in was very accomodating and helpful, as were subsequent interactions with other staff. Rooms were clean, a good size and nicely furnished. Most have a small private outdoor patio. An excellent breakfast was included in the morning. The hotel is in a qiet location a short cab ride from downtown, convenient for visiting the city. All in all, we were very pleased with our stays this hotel.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the top floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed st this hotel for a week while attending Spanish school. The staff was outstanding-friendly, helpful and kind enough to help us with our fractured Spanish! The hotel was convenient to shops, restaurants and quite accessible to the city centre. Definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drbunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is the perfect place to stay! Unlike modern resorts, it has so much character! It is full of tile, mahogany, wrought iron, marble, lush green plants, and the most accommodating staff that I've ever seen. We stayed for a week and felt like family. It is within walking distance of several pub/restaurants, grocery, and a mall. What ever you do, do not skip breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The restaurant serves the most wonderful "traditional" breakfast which is included with your room. The evening meals there were scrumptious also. There is not one negative thing that I can say about this beautiful hotel. We will return to San Jose and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a wrap around balcony with a view of the mountains and faces street side. Facing the street is not a problem as there is little traffic or noise. Room 12 has a small balcony with a table and chairs which has a mountain view and is on the back side of the hotel. Both rooms are upstairs.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews