We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“calm and tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
Ranked #44 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed March 19, 2013

this little hotel is a charming oasis very close to downtown san jose. the rooms are clean and the little restaurant serves tasty meals.

it's a bit expensive for central america, especially the laundry! but then again, it's a real hotel and not a bnb or hostel.

alejandra, the manager, was incredibly helpful and lovely to deal with.

all in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natantu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments! It was a real pleasure to meet you and help you during your stay in our hotel and while travelling in our beautiful Costa Rica!
We hope to see you next time!

Pura vida!

Le Bergerac Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 422 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to travelers to Costa Rica. I chose this hotel based on a high tripadvisor rating, but was very dissapointed. First, it is not conveniently located to the airport. It is about 30-45 minutes through San Jose traffic. We did not realize this until after we flew into Costa Rica. We tried to change to a hotel closer to the airport, but this hotel has a 72 hour cancellation policy, and would not budge on this at all (we tried to cancel 48 hrs in advance but were denied). Once we arrived, the front desk staff did help us with trying to change rental car drop-off plans, which did make us feel better. The room itself was quaint, but pretty old. We then discovered ants throughout our room, including under the sheets in both beds. We asked the manager for a discount room rate due to our troubles, but were not given one. Finally, the hotel has a $32 shuttle to the airport. They scheduled this for us at our request, but didn't realize that they forgot to bill it to our account until we were walking out the door. Then the front desk staff tried to make us wait while they corrected their error, potentially delaying our trip to the airport. All in all, this hotel did not fit in with our otherwise amazing Costa Rica vacation. The one bright spot was the restaurant, Cyano's. Dinner was very good there. If you find yourself in this part of San Jose, the restaurant is fine, but I would not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Our hotel has a very convenient location as it is 20 minutes walking from downtown San José and around 35 minutes from the International Airport.
We do have a cancellation policy of 72 hours prior arrival time and it is stated in the reservation forms and we follow it strictly specially on high season.
The hotel offers private transportation from and to the airport. This service is provided by a different company and it is very convenient as they offer a fixed rate. From 1 to 3 people the rate is US$32 and from 4 up to 9 is US$50. Regular taxis rate may vary depending on the amount of traffic as they charge for the meter.
Our Boutique hotel has four different room categories. The rooms upstairs are mainly Deluxe and Grande rooms. They have a higher rate than the Superior or Standard rooms. They are spacious, with big bathrooms, walking closet and patio with a beautiful mountain view and gardens. All of our rooms have almond floors, handmade furniture, ceiling fans, digital safety boxes, Led screens, Wi-Fi, hair dryer and direct phone with access to local and international calls.
Our Cyrano`s restaurant serves delicious meals for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Food can be enjoyed either in the restaurant area or at the terrace adjacent to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The staff was very nice and responsive. We arrived at 2:30 am and were greeted by a very nice desk clerk and bell man. Our room was fairly large with a large bath. It was kept very clean. The restuarant staff were outstanding. The two waiters at breakfast treated us with courtesy and were very attentive. The typical breakfast consisted of a fruit plate with pineapple, watermellon and papaya, scrambled eggs with beans and rice, a glass of juice, bread and a hot drink. The front desk staff helped us get a rental car delivered to the hotel. We were very pleased with our stay and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob535H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear guest,

We are more than happy to read that enjoyed our hotel and the serivce provided by the restaurant and hotel staff.
The Front Desk is open 24 hours and there is always available for greeting and checking in or checking out guests.
We offer complimentary Costa Rican breakfast from 6:30 a.m to 10:30 a.m. that can be enjoyed in the resatruant or terrace.
We hope to have the pleasure to seeing you on your next trip to our beautiful Costa Rica!!

Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband & I traveled with two friends and stayed overnight before joining a Road Scholar tour. We arrived in the early evening and were shown two rooms - one was very small with a double bed that filled most of the room and the other a huge room with two larger beds (Queen sized?) Both couples had requested king sized beds which was confirmed in the reservation. We were told that this was all that was available that evening. Since our friend had a broken arm and would have been most uncomfortable sharing the small bed with her husband, my husband and I took the smaller bed and room. It was a most uncomfortable night for us.
As for the service from the staff - it was very good and other than the bed problem, very helpful. The food was good but not exceptional. The setting was quite lovely and within walking distance of downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your Is it possible for you to send us an email to know the date you stayed at as well as the room number? comments. We are sorry to hear you did not have a good night sleep due to the size of the bed.
We have 4 room categories. The Standard rooms have one matrimonial bed. The Superior, Deluxe and Grande rooms have either one or two queen/king size beds.
We look forward to hearing from you soon!

Cordially at your service,

Alejandra García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Tauck Tour people always select excellent hotels, and Hotel Le Bergerac was no exception. Not modern, but full of charm and very comfortable in every respect. All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Definitely worth a second visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your message and telling others about your experience.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property.
We hope to have the pleasure to seeing you again!

Hasta pronto

Le Bergerac Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We traveled to Costa Rica for the first time last February as part of a Tauck Company "culturious" tour. This is a well maintained boutique hotel with character. The Le Bergerac is well located- about a mile easy walk into the heart of the capital city, on a quiet side street. Rooms were generously sized, comfortable and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable. Staff very helpful. One desk clerk steered me to the Food Court at the nearby modern mall as a great place to sample good typical Costa Rican food. We were incredulous, but she was right. There were a half dozen local restaurants selling excellent "casados," at great prices. It was hard to choose. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for telling others about your experience in Le Bergerac. Our boutique hotel is located within walking distance near a shopping mall, a supermarket, international restaurants and San José downtown and its main attractions.
All our rooms have wooden floors, double beds and the Superior, Deluxe and Grande rooms have either one or two queen or king size beds, as well as private patios.
Our staff is more than happy to provide information and tips about what to visit or where to enjoy good food.
We look forward to seeing you next time you visit our country,

Hasta pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel Le Bergerac was a wonderful place to stay. Our room was cute and comfortable with a beautiful view of the mountains. It's located within walking distance to many cute shops and a small mall. The staff was friendly and very helpful with anything we needed. The dining room was lovely with your choice of indoor/outdoor seating. Dinner and breakfast were excellent with a wide variety of choices to make. I'd highly reccomend the Cream of Carrot soup! The waiter was great and we found him very charming and funny. We would have no problem staying here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear guest,

We are more than happy to read your comments about our property and that you have enjoyed the mountain view from your room patio.
Our Cyrano`s restaurant serves delicious meals to all our guests and also is open for people who is not staying at the hotel. We are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and as you have mentioned, we have available indoor or outdoor seating.
Next time you visit our beautiful Costa Rica, we hope you can consider staying with us.
Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
0.9 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,330 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
4.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
271 reviews
2.4 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique

Address: Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Le Bergerac)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $63 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 25 comfortable, colorfully furnished rooms, nine of which are small standard rooms whilst the remainder, from superior to luxury, all have a small private garden patio or balcony.Many of our touring guests have commented on how they look forward to returning to the peace, quiet and comfort of our small hotel. Free services include continental breakfast, Wi Fi and internet connections in all rooms and Secure parking.We can arrange airport pickup and transfer to Le Bergerac, situated in the old embassy district of Los Yoses. Our beautiful hotel is within minutes of the downtown city, while the rest of the incredible central valley is also easily accessible.The hotel has an experienced staff of well trained management that will delight in helping you with any travel or tour arrangements throughout the whole of this exciting and beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bergerac Hotel
Le Bergerac San Jose
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing