We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$85
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$85
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santo Tomas(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$51
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites(San Jose)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$119
$97
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$96
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveler rating
170
143
72
31
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
143
72
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricalos yosesprivate gardensan pedro mallthe hotel staffminute walk to downtowncharming hotelrice and beansbreakfast includedneighborhoodtropicalsupermarketcabtours
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 439 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice little boutique hotel; a little dated but all we needed. Has a delightful little garden and charming little restaurant. Staff is excellent! Eric in the restaurant is so friendly. The food was delicious. Ana Hernandez in the reservation office was outstanding with her assistance in planning a tour for us outside of San Jose.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosieskipper1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy to read that you were delighted by our Cyrano`s restaurant and by the friendliness of Eric. Ana is very proud to know that her assistance in tour planning turned out the way you wanted to be.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide our services. We hope you consider Le Bergerac next time you visit Costa Rica.

Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My stay here was very good. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was delicious and hotel staff was super friendly and helpful. I was here with a group and did not choose the hotel, but I was pleased with it. Easy walk to San Pedro and not too far from downtown San Jose as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments! We are happy to know you were pleased with the hotel and staff.
As you have mentioned we are very close to San Pedro were you can find the University of Costa Rica campus, Shopping malls, restaurants. We are also close to downtown San Jose and its Museums, parks, Centrral Market.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you next time you visit Costa Rica!

Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you are looking for a non-standard alternative to the big chain hotels, this boutique hotel is for you. We have stayed there twice: the staff is so accomodating, the service fine, and the lovely restaurant situated in a garden patio offers fine food in the Costa Rican tradition. Staying here I felt like I was getting a glimpse of the real Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the mountains have wonderful views, not to be missed.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann-Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Le Bergerac twice and sharing your experience with others!
We are pleased to know that we met your expectations!
Our Cyrano`s resaturant offers a delightful complimentary Costa Rican breakfast from 6:30 a.m to 10:30 a.m. Lunch and dinner are also available and can also be taken in the terrace area or the restaurant.
Our staff provide personal service to all guests and is eager to help so that your stay with us be an enjoyable experience.
Please consider our property next time you come to Costa Rica!

Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pros
- Nice, large and clean room
- Large, modern and clean bathroom
- Good decor, nothing fancy but nice - flatscreen TV, air conditioning, hot shower
- Comfortable bed, furniture was datted
- Free Internet and access to a computer on site
- Helpful staff
- Full hot annd delicious breakfast included
- Safe
Cons
- Location was a bit out of the way
- Difficult to find for cab drivers
- No pool

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private balcony
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing Le Bergerac on TripAdvisor!
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our property, meals and that the staff was helpful during your stay.
We are located 15 minutes walking distance from downtown San Jose and its main attractions such as museums, theaters, plazas, markets, restaurants, etc.
Please consider Le Bergerac next time you visit our beautiful Costa Rica!

Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay here but were somewhat disappointed. We couldn't sleep as the loud occupants of the room across the hall sounded like they were in our room with us. The patio and garden outside our superior room was nice, but not as large a garden area as we had pictured from the reviews. We knew it was a distance from the main attractions of San Jose and it is. We found the neighborhood more so-so than pretty. The wireless internet doesn't work in the room, only in and near the lobby. Also, on checking out we had a discrepancy in settling our bill. Despite quoting all prices in dollars, they charged us using an inflated exchange rate so that our actual charge was higher than the confirmed rate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear guest,

We are really sorry you were disappointed during your stay at Le Bergerac.
We would have been more than happy to accommodate you in a different room if you had told us about the noise coming into yours.

Regarding internet, it is available in all the rooms, lobby and restaurant. Perhaps, at that moment there was an internet problem and once again if we had been told about it, we would have reset all the routers near your room so you will not have troubles with it.

Concerning, the checking out discrepancy, we would like you to know that in Costa Rica our official currency are the colones and according to our government, bills have to be issued in colones. However, we use dollars rates so that international guests would have an idea of how much are the services we provide. In the bill you also find the exchange rate used by the hotel in order to convert the dollars to colones. If there was a difference it has to do with the exchange rate used by your credit card supplier.
It is our main goal that each and every guest feels like they were at home and experiences an enjoyable stay with us.

We would very much appreciate if you could give us the opportunity to stay at Le Bergerac again.

Cordially at your service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews