We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pros
- Nice, large and clean room
- Large, modern and clean bathroom
- Good decor, nothing fancy but nice - flatscreen TV, air conditioning, hot shower
- Comfortable bed, furniture was datted
- Free Internet and access to a computer on site
- Helpful staff
- Full hot annd delicious breakfast included
- Safe
Cons
- Location was a bit out of the way
- Difficult to find for cab drivers
- No pool

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing Le Bergerac on TripAdvisor!
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our property, meals and that the staff was helpful during your stay.
We are located 15 minutes walking distance from downtown San Jose and its main attractions such as museums, theaters, plazas, markets, restaurants, etc.
Please consider Le Bergerac next time you visit our beautiful Costa Rica!

Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    137
    62
    23
    20
See reviews for
68
169
43
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay here but were somewhat disappointed. We couldn't sleep as the loud occupants of the room across the hall sounded like they were in our room with us. The patio and garden outside our superior room was nice, but not as large a garden area as we had pictured from the reviews. We knew it was a distance from the main attractions of San Jose and it is. We found the neighborhood more so-so than pretty. The wireless internet doesn't work in the room, only in and near the lobby. Also, on checking out we had a discrepancy in settling our bill. Despite quoting all prices in dollars, they charged us using an inflated exchange rate so that our actual charge was higher than the confirmed rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We are really sorry you were disappointed during your stay at Le Bergerac.
We would have been more than happy to accommodate you in a different room if you had told us about the noise coming into yours.

Regarding internet, it is available in all the rooms, lobby and restaurant. Perhaps, at that moment there was an internet problem and once again if we had been told about it, we would have reset all the routers near your room so you will not have troubles with it.

Concerning, the checking out discrepancy, we would like you to know that in Costa Rica our official currency are the colones and according to our government, bills have to be issued in colones. However, we use dollars rates so that international guests would have an idea of how much are the services we provide. In the bill you also find the exchange rate used by the hotel in order to convert the dollars to colones. If there was a difference it has to do with the exchange rate used by your credit card supplier.
It is our main goal that each and every guest feels like they were at home and experiences an enjoyable stay with us.

We would very much appreciate if you could give us the opportunity to stay at Le Bergerac again.

Cordially at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, West Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights as bookends on our trip to the east coast. Due to Le Bergerac's lovely staff, relaxing garden, and good location for walking around town, it turned into one of the high points of our trip. If you are looking for a low-key but attentive small hotel, book with confidence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that your stay with us was one of the high points of your trip in our beautiful Costa Rica.
Please consider Le Bergerac next time you visit our country!

Pura Vida!

Le Bergerac staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here three nights on recent visit. Older small hotel in quiet area near (less than a mile) downtown. Not an unreasonable walk to downtown or National Museum. Hotel is older, but well kept, though we did have some mold on bathroom ceiling. No A/C. Lousy pillows, but they were happy to give us some extras. Small bar/restaurant, with reasonably prepared and priced food. Nice outdoor seating area. Very accommodating staff. No fitness center or pool -- it is not a destination hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gamevod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments very much and are checking the bathrooms ceilings in order to fix them. As you have mentioned the main house is old as it was built in 1940. It is has neocolonial architecture and has been kept in good shape for all these years. The stairs, the floors, the lamps and furniture in the lobby are original to the house.
Our Cyrano`s restaurant is daily open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and you can enjoy food in the outdoor terrace surrounded by tropical gardens.
Le Bergerac is located near commercial areas with restaurants, museums, bars, shopping areas. We are in a good location and for this reason many guests choose our property as a home base when travelling around Costa Rica.
We want to thank you for sharing your experience with other readers and hope to have the pleasure to seeing you next time.

Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This French influenced hotel was recommended to us by our rafting company as a good pick up location for a Pacuare rafting trip. It is a nice garden oasis in a so-so neighborhood. We stayed in a Superior Room which had a little patio and garden and our adult children stayed in standard rooms. Our room was quiet and clean with all the amenities needed and a comfortable bed. The service was outstanding from everyone associated with the hotel (this is the norm in the areas we traveled in Costa Rica, not the exception). The bar is located in a garden and the adjoining restaurant served good food. Breakfast was included however we were leaving very early and I did not think we would be able to take advantage of it. When I called the front desk for a 5:15 am wake up call the receptionist asked if we would like coffee and croissants set out for us. At 5:45 the promised coffee and croissants (delicious) were there and when two other unplanned early risers stumbled into the lobby they quickly set them up in another area and accomodated them as well. I highly recommend this hotel and would go back if I return to San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripthetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We are pleased to read that we met your expectations while you stayed in our property.
We appreciate you share your experience with your friends and other readers. As you have mentioned our complimentary Costa Rican breakfast is served from 6:30 a.m to 10:30 a.m, however, upon request we can have coffee prepared before that schedule and serve some bread with it in the hotel lobby.
Our Superior, Deluxe and Grande rooms have a private patio where you can relax while reading a book or having a cup of Costa Rican coffee.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again!

Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We loved Hotel Le Bergerac. It is a slight walk to downtown, but in a quiet and pretty neighborhood. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved our spacious room with a semi-private backyard. We had a relaxing pre-dinner drinks in the open courtyard of the bar/restaurant and highly enjoyed the traditional breakfasts they provided.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you loved Le Bergerac and the services provided. Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Our goal is that every guest feels like home when they stay with us.
We hope to ahve the pleasure of seeing you next time you visit our beautiful Costa Rica!

Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel was a great find! Just on the outskirts of San Jose, but within walking distance of the center of the city. The courtyards and gardens give it a secluded feeling. The staff, particularly Jonathan at the front desk and bartender/waiter Erick, were very helpful and friendly. No need to eat elsewhere -- the hotel restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Jonathan and Erick are very proud to know that they were helpful while you stay at the hotel.
Even though we are 15 minutes walking from downtown, Le Bergerac remains like an oasis of tranquility surrounded by its tropical gardens.
Next time you visit San Jose, please consider staying with us!

Cordially,

Le Bergerac Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#13 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
4.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
2.8 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#42 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
4.8 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#33 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique

Property: Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
Address: Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Le Bergerac)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 25 comfortable, colorfully furnished rooms, nine of which are small standard rooms whilst the remainder, from superior to luxury, all have a small private garden patio or balcony.Many of our touring guests have commented on how they look forward to returning to the peace, quiet and comfort of our small hotel. Free services include continental breakfast, Wi Fi and internet connections in all rooms and Secure parking.We can arrange airport pickup and transfer to Le Bergerac, situated in the old embassy district of Los Yoses. Our beautiful hotel is within minutes of the downtown city, while the rest of the incredible central valley is also easily accessible.The hotel has an experienced staff of well trained management that will delight in helping you with any travel or tour arrangements throughout the whole of this exciting and beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bergerac Hotel
Le Bergerac San Jose
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing