We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
Nearby Hotels
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Adventure Inn(San Jose)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$87
$73
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
170
142
71
30
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
142
71
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos yosescosta ricaprivate gardensan pedro mallthe hotel staffminute walk to downtowncharming hotelwithin walking distancerice and beansroom was largebreakfast includedstayed here for one nightneighborhoodtropicalkfcclosetsupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 436 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I am very happy to have chosen to stay at Hotel Le Bergerac. It was very centrally located in regards to where I wanted to be and wanted to go. I especially enjoyed the traditional breakfast every day and appreciated the kindness and professionalism of the staff. I also loved gazing out at the beautiful gardens from the patio everyday. I will definitely stay at your hotel again upon my return to San Jose, Costa Rica. Thank you very much for your hospitality and attentivenes to my needs as a guest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank MARIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed our tropical gardens and that you found our property with a good location in regards where you wanted to go. Many guests use Le Bergerac as a home base while travelling around our beautiful Costa Rica.
Our Cyrano`s staff is always delighted to serve Costa Rican breakfast to all our guest either in the restaurant, the terrace or the rooms.
We look forward to seeing you next time and thank you for reviewing Le Bergerac on TripAdvisor!

Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wonderful staff, delicious breakfast, easy walk to San Jose. Nice place for tea across the street. Especially liked our small garden area off the room. The room was upstairs across from the open courtyard. It was spacious immaculate and quiet. San Jose is a one night stop and this is a good bed and breakfast type place to stay. I can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff and the introduction to Costa Rican breakfast. It's was a great experience. There isn't much to see or do in the immediate area. Going to San Jose is the best bet. Try the Opera House, the Central Market, The Gold Museum for an interesting excursion.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

We are more than happy to read your review about our property.
Thank you for choosing Le Bergerac while staying in San José. All our Staff is pleased to know that you had a great experience and introduction to Costa Rican hospitality and services.
Some travelers stay at Le Bergerac more than one night and use it as a home base for daily tours to volcanoes, National parks, adventure trips and while they travel around Costa Rica.
Please consider our hotel next time you visit our beautiful Costa Rica.

Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My sister and I stayed here after a week of driving around Costa Rica. It was a fabulous destination to end our trip before heading to the airport the next day. We were able to walk easily to the Teatro Nacional and see a little bit of San Jose. The service at the hotel was excellent. We dined at the restaurant there and enjoyed our meal and our waiter, Erick, was fabulous.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziecory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Le Bergerac during your stay in San José and for taking a few minutes to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, the service we provided and the meals. Erick was proud to read your lines and to know that he made a good impression on you.
Please give all our best to your sister and please consider Le Bergerac next time you visit our beautiful country!

Hasta la próxima!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Immaculate, very attractive rooms, a small but varied menu of very good food in the restaurant, excellent service throughout. The hotel is somewhat out of the way, with little access to shopping, etc., but it is a short cab ride to the center of the city. We would certainly stay at this comfortable, reasonably priced hotel again, and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winthrop W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about our property. Our wooden floors, handmade furniture and surrounding tropical gardens make each and every room cozy and comfortable. As you have mentioned, we have a small menu at our Cyrano`s restaurant, however, you can find international cuisine but also can experience real Costa Rican food such as black soup, Arroz con pollo, tres leches, etc.
We are located 20 minutes walking from San José downtown and its main attractions. However, near Le Bergerac you will find a shopping mall, international restaurants, supermarket (all within walking distance)
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Bergerac meanwhile 5 times ( usually once a year for a stay of one week each) and it has been always a pleasure to be there. The staff and service team is very friendly, always helpfull and anticipating what is needed. I like the rooms,very clean and nicely decorated, especially those rooms that go out to the mountains and have a balcony are really nice. I meanwhile really feel like being at home whenever I am there and that is maybe the bext that one can say about a hotel. By the way: not to forget the restaurant where the (included) breakfast is served ( love that gallo pinto) and where one can have a nice dinner served by the friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guenter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for making Le Bergerac your home every year, we are always happy to see you again.
As we read your message we are pleased to know that the hotel and restaurant staffs, we both have accomplished our main goal which is to meet your expectations in service and hospitality.
Thank you for sharing your experience with other readers.

Nos vemos pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews