We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveler rating
171
144
73
31
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
144
73
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews los yoses costa rica san pedro mall the hotel staff minute walk to downtown charming hotel breakfast included neighborhood tropical tours
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 442 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My sister and I stayed here after a week of driving around Costa Rica. It was a fabulous destination to end our trip before heading to the airport the next day. We were able to walk easily to the Teatro Nacional and see a little bit of San Jose. The service at the hotel was excellent. We dined at the restaurant there and enjoyed our meal and our waiter, Erick, was fabulous.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziecory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Le Bergerac during your stay in San José and for taking a few minutes to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, the service we provided and the meals. Erick was proud to read your lines and to know that he made a good impression on you.
Please give all our best to your sister and please consider Le Bergerac next time you visit our beautiful country!

Hasta la próxima!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Immaculate, very attractive rooms, a small but varied menu of very good food in the restaurant, excellent service throughout. The hotel is somewhat out of the way, with little access to shopping, etc., but it is a short cab ride to the center of the city. We would certainly stay at this comfortable, reasonably priced hotel again, and recommend it highly.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winthrop W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about our property. Our wooden floors, handmade furniture and surrounding tropical gardens make each and every room cozy and comfortable. As you have mentioned, we have a small menu at our Cyrano`s restaurant, however, you can find international cuisine but also can experience real Costa Rican food such as black soup, Arroz con pollo, tres leches, etc.
We are located 20 minutes walking from San José downtown and its main attractions. However, near Le Bergerac you will find a shopping mall, international restaurants, supermarket (all within walking distance)
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Bergerac meanwhile 5 times ( usually once a year for a stay of one week each) and it has been always a pleasure to be there. The staff and service team is very friendly, always helpfull and anticipating what is needed. I like the rooms,very clean and nicely decorated, especially those rooms that go out to the mountains and have a balcony are really nice. I meanwhile really feel like being at home whenever I am there and that is maybe the bext that one can say about a hotel. By the way: not to forget the restaurant where the (included) breakfast is served ( love that gallo pinto) and where one can have a nice dinner served by the friendly and attentive staff.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guenter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for making Le Bergerac your home every year, we are always happy to see you again.
As we read your message we are pleased to know that the hotel and restaurant staffs, we both have accomplished our main goal which is to meet your expectations in service and hospitality.
Thank you for sharing your experience with other readers.

Nos vemos pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited San Jose for a few nights before leaving on a tour. We arrived mid-afternoon and were able to get massages in our room within an hour of our arrival. We had dinner at the hotel that evening and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the meal. Our room was on the second floor at the back with a small patio. The location was peaceful.

While the hotel is simple and quaint, the hotel staff were outstanding and very eager to make sure that our stay was the best possible. These employees went out of their way to help us out: Lilliam Vega, Sayra Torres, Euclides O'Campos, Erik and Kevin. We were treated almost as though we were the only people that they needed to take care of! They made excellent recommendations for dinner out and where to go shopping. When we asked about going on a tour, they were very knowledgeable and made an excellent recommendation for the "combo" tour - a visit to a local coffee plantation, visit to Poas volcano, and La Paz Waterfalls. When I had camera troubles, they were on the phone trying to find a place where I could get someone to help out.

Should we pass through San Jose again, we would not hesitate to stay again!

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunanegra5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Le Bergerac during your stay at San José. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the meals, the room and the location.
Our staff was pleased to read that you enjoyed their service. We are always eager to help and provide our guests with information and recommendations so they can experience San José and its main attractions.
We hope to have the pleasure to see you on your next trip to Costa Rica.

Hasta pronto,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night between excursions to Arenal and Manuel Antonio. Service was great. Breakfast was wonderful. We liked the location, a bit east of downtown San Jose and not far from Mall San Pedro.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review!
We are happy to read that we met your expectations with our service, food and location.
Le Bergerac is located within walking distance, from commercial areas as the Mall San Pedro, supermarkets, restaurants and downtown San Jose.
Many guests use Le Bergerac as a homebase when travelling through out Costa Rica. We provide luggage storage in case they will like to travel lighter.
We can also assist our guests with travel arrangements such as: daily tours, transportation to diiferent destinations and hotel reservations.
We look forward to seeing you next time you visit our beautiful Costa Rica!

Cordially,

Alejandra G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews