We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$85
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$120
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santo Tomas(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$51
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites(San Jose)
$105
$85
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$119
$97
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$96
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveler rating
170
143
72
31
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
143
72
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricalos yosesprivate gardensan pedro mallthe hotel staffminute walk to downtowncharming hotelrice and beansbreakfast includedneighborhoodtropicalsupermarketcabtours
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 439 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Immaculate, very attractive rooms, a small but varied menu of very good food in the restaurant, excellent service throughout. The hotel is somewhat out of the way, with little access to shopping, etc., but it is a short cab ride to the center of the city. We would certainly stay at this comfortable, reasonably priced hotel again, and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winthrop W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about our property. Our wooden floors, handmade furniture and surrounding tropical gardens make each and every room cozy and comfortable. As you have mentioned, we have a small menu at our Cyrano`s restaurant, however, you can find international cuisine but also can experience real Costa Rican food such as black soup, Arroz con pollo, tres leches, etc.
We are located 20 minutes walking from San José downtown and its main attractions. However, near Le Bergerac you will find a shopping mall, international restaurants, supermarket (all within walking distance)
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Bergerac meanwhile 5 times ( usually once a year for a stay of one week each) and it has been always a pleasure to be there. The staff and service team is very friendly, always helpfull and anticipating what is needed. I like the rooms,very clean and nicely decorated, especially those rooms that go out to the mountains and have a balcony are really nice. I meanwhile really feel like being at home whenever I am there and that is maybe the bext that one can say about a hotel. By the way: not to forget the restaurant where the (included) breakfast is served ( love that gallo pinto) and where one can have a nice dinner served by the friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guenter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for making Le Bergerac your home every year, we are always happy to see you again.
As we read your message we are pleased to know that the hotel and restaurant staffs, we both have accomplished our main goal which is to meet your expectations in service and hospitality.
Thank you for sharing your experience with other readers.

Nos vemos pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited San Jose for a few nights before leaving on a tour. We arrived mid-afternoon and were able to get massages in our room within an hour of our arrival. We had dinner at the hotel that evening and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the meal. Our room was on the second floor at the back with a small patio. The location was peaceful.

While the hotel is simple and quaint, the hotel staff were outstanding and very eager to make sure that our stay was the best possible. These employees went out of their way to help us out: Lilliam Vega, Sayra Torres, Euclides O'Campos, Erik and Kevin. We were treated almost as though we were the only people that they needed to take care of! They made excellent recommendations for dinner out and where to go shopping. When we asked about going on a tour, they were very knowledgeable and made an excellent recommendation for the "combo" tour - a visit to a local coffee plantation, visit to Poas volcano, and La Paz Waterfalls. When I had camera troubles, they were on the phone trying to find a place where I could get someone to help out.

Should we pass through San Jose again, we would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunanegra5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Le Bergerac during your stay at San José. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the meals, the room and the location.
Our staff was pleased to read that you enjoyed their service. We are always eager to help and provide our guests with information and recommendations so they can experience San José and its main attractions.
We hope to have the pleasure to see you on your next trip to Costa Rica.

Hasta pronto,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night between excursions to Arenal and Manuel Antonio. Service was great. Breakfast was wonderful. We liked the location, a bit east of downtown San Jose and not far from Mall San Pedro.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review!
We are happy to read that we met your expectations with our service, food and location.
Le Bergerac is located within walking distance, from commercial areas as the Mall San Pedro, supermarkets, restaurants and downtown San Jose.
Many guests use Le Bergerac as a homebase when travelling through out Costa Rica. We provide luggage storage in case they will like to travel lighter.
We can also assist our guests with travel arrangements such as: daily tours, transportation to diiferent destinations and hotel reservations.
We look forward to seeing you next time you visit our beautiful Costa Rica!

Cordially,

Alejandra G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a stop over when transiting through San Jose. Like previous reviewers have said, the rooms are simple and elegant, and cover the basics although they are somewhat small. Management have done well to keep the French colonial theme going, which gives it quite a bit of character.

We had a room that was street side, so unfortunately noise was a problem (although this is not unique to this hotel). Check in process was easy, and staff were professional.

Recommended as a place to stay if you are not after a large, commercial hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for considering Le Bergerac during your stay in San José.
The elegant warmth of wood floors give each room an atmosphere of tranquility and elegance. The Standard rooms are the smallest rooms in the hotel. Our Superior, Deluxe and Superior are the biggest rooms as they have either one or two queen or king size beds each. These categories also have a private patio or terrace.
Our staff is more than happy to provide assistance to our guests to ensure a relaxing experience at the hotel.
When coming back to San José, please consider Le Bergerac.

Hasta pronto!

Alejandra G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews