We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was a very nice one night stay in San Jose. It was our last day in Costa Rica after much travel for almost 3 weeks. Our stay was nice and relaxing. The staff is unbelievably warm and welcoming - the front desk, the manager, the restaurant - everyone was so kind and helpful. We were leaving at 4:30am to catch an early flight home. They had coffee for us, juice and fruit for the kids and they even gave our little 3 year old a nice little wooden frog. What service! Thank you so much to the entire staff at le Bergerac - this was a beautiful end to an outstanding trip in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun5Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, General Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing our property on TripAdvisor.
We are more than happy to read that we met your expectations and that you felt welcomed at Le Bergerac.
As you left very early, we are sorry to hear that you missed our complimentary Costa Rican breakfast as the schedule is from 6:30 a.m to 10:30 a.m served in the restaurant terrace surrounded by tropical gardens.
We hope you had a great stay in our country and that you consider our property next time you visit Costa Rica.
Please give all our best to you family.
Cordially,

Alejandra García // Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    138
    64
    25
    22
See reviews for
70
171
43
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mamaroneck, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Small scale hotel with good service in a location off downtown San Jose. We either walked downtown, took the bus or took a taxi.Very safe and peaceful with the rooms around a luxurious garden. The room was large and clean. All the staff was very nice and helpful. A small parking lot to park our car safely.the dining room is nice for the breakfast as it is close to a small terasse. For diner it is a bit dark.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vir265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, Gerente at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are grateful for your comments and for sharing your lodging experience at Bergerac with others. We are pleased that you liked our 25 rooms boutique hotel and the food at Cyrano's Restaurant. Our tropical gardens surrounding the restaurant terrasse make a great experience at breakfast and lunch time because butterflies and hummingbirds are frequently around and guests are seduced by the relaxed and peaceful ambience.
We appreciate your remark about the parking area, in fact we do have two insite parking areas free of charge. One is located in the upper side of the building with a capacity of 7 cars and the other one is located in the lower side of the hotel with a capacity of 3 cars.
For your next trip to Costa Rica, we would love if your consider our Boutique Hotel as the lodging option while you are in San Jose.

Hasta muy pronto, sus amigos del Bergerac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamstown, nj
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at your hotel. Eric, the waiter, was very efficient and personable. The place was beautiful, clean and centrally located. We were sorry to have to leave so soonl

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, Gerente at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear guest,

It is wonderful to know that you and your family had a good time in our hotel during your Culturious itinerary. Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate them very much as we believe it is helps others to know about us through the travelers eyes. I will make sure that Erick, our Cyrano's restaurant waiter, get a copy of this wonderful comment of yours about his service. Bergerac is your home away home. See you soon!

Sus amigos de Bergerac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This small hotel is so nice and friendly that you won't want to leave. As soon as you register, you are given a map and orientation of the area. Everyone is friendly, courteous and eager to help. The grounds are packed with lush tropical plants and is kept very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesf12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, Gerente at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the hotel staff, let me thank you for writing about your experience in Bergerac. We are glad you enjoyed our Costa Rican hospitality and our oasis of tropical gardens.

We appreciate your comment about the city map. This is a tool we use with each of our guests upon arrival so they have a better idea of the area in order to get around smoothly to restaurants, shops, supermarket or any of the major attractions of San Jose, no matter if they prefer by walking, driving or even by taxi.

Once again thank you for choosing our services and in a future trip to the country we will be delighted if you decide to stay with us.

Hasta la proxima! Sus amigos de Bergerac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel with really friendly service. The entire staff made us feel really welcome and at home. This hotel has a good location and the rooms were really nice. I will definitely stay at the Hotel Le Bergerac when I go back to San Jose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grodisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, Gerente at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your comments, we do appreciate your time. I am glad to hear that you found our property charming, welcoming and that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff. The neighborhood of Los Yoses is well known as the old embassy quartier and it offers a great choice of restaurants, cafeterias, stores and green areas, but the most important is that we are walking distance from the main attractions in downtown, less than 15 minutes walking.
We hope you stay with us on your next trip to Costa Rica!

Nos vemos pronto! The staff of Bergerac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel itself was very beautiful with a wonderful dining room. Food was very good. Room was large and clean - but needed modernization. It was very secure in a chaotic area. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pairodocsAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, Gerente at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying at Bergerac during your trip to San Jose. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Cyrano's Restaurant menu that offers a combination of exotic costarican dishes. We appreciate the opportunity you gave us to know our culture through the hotel staff and we would like to take advantage of this to inform you that the owners of the hotel are considering to recoderate the hotel rooms very soon.
When you come back, we would love if you consider our property again for your stay.

Nos vemos pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We could not give a more glowing review of our 2 ½ week stay at the Hotel Le Bergerac. We (two women) were there on business and from the first moment the staff embraced us and our needs. The Bergerac employs plenty of staff to cover it all: the restaurant, housekeeping, security, front desk, etc. It is obvious that the hotel is well-managed and that excellence is expected. The restaurant is charming and the breakfast that is included is a wonderful start to the day. We ate several other meals there as well and found them all to be of equal quality and service. Our room was ample size for two people on an extended stay—and was always spotless. The location of the Bergerac worked well for us – near where we were working and easy access to all other parts of San José and beyond. At this point, we wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else in San José!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the street and didn't have any problems with the noise. All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, Gerente at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for the time you are taking to share your experience at Bergerac. We were very pleased assisting with all your needs. It is nice to hear that our central location was very convenient for work and leisure purposes, as in fact, we are very close to the Supermarket, the shopping mall and main attractions like the museums.
We hope you will consider our property next time you are coming to beautiful Costa Rica.
Hasta la proxima! The staff of Bergerac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
0.9 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
#33 of 77 in San Jose
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jade
Boutique Hotel Jade
#1 of 3 in San Pedro
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#24 of 77 in San Jose
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique

Property: Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
Address: Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Le Bergerac)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 25 comfortable, colorfully furnished rooms, nine of which are small standard rooms whilst the remainder, from superior to luxury, all have a small private garden patio or balcony.Many of our touring guests have commented on how they look forward to returning to the peace, quiet and comfort of our small hotel. Free services include continental breakfast, Wi Fi and internet connections in all rooms and Secure parking.We can arrange airport pickup and transfer to Le Bergerac, situated in the old embassy district of Los Yoses. Our beautiful hotel is within minutes of the downtown city, while the rest of the incredible central valley is also easily accessible.The hotel has an experienced staff of well trained management that will delight in helping you with any travel or tour arrangements throughout the whole of this exciting and beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bergerac Hotel
Le Bergerac San Jose
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing