We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
171
144
72
31
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
144
72
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica los yoses san pedro mall the hotel staff minute walk to downtown charming hotel rice and beans breakfast included neighborhood tropical supermarket cab tours
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 441 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We could not give a more glowing review of our 2 ½ week stay at the Hotel Le Bergerac. We (two women) were there on business and from the first moment the staff embraced us and our needs. The Bergerac employs plenty of staff to cover it all: the restaurant, housekeeping, security, front desk, etc. It is obvious that the hotel is well-managed and that excellence is expected. The restaurant is charming and the breakfast that is included is a wonderful start to the day. We ate several other meals there as well and found them all to be of equal quality and service. Our room was ample size for two people on an extended stay—and was always spotless. The location of the Bergerac worked well for us – near where we were working and easy access to all other parts of San José and beyond. At this point, we wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else in San José!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the street and didn't have any problems with the noise. All the rooms are a bit different, though, so ask when you are making your reservation & they will help you decide what will be best for you.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, Gerente at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for the time you are taking to share your experience at Bergerac. We were very pleased assisting with all your needs. It is nice to hear that our central location was very convenient for work and leisure purposes, as in fact, we are very close to the Supermarket, the shopping mall and main attractions like the museums.
We hope you will consider our property next time you are coming to beautiful Costa Rica.
Hasta la proxima! The staff of Bergerac.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our main reason in visiting San Jose was to attend an immersion language school for 5 days and to be tourists for 5 more days.This hotel was withing walking distance (20 min.) of our school, but also close to the Mall and other good restaurants. The staff made us feel at home. When they learned of our interest in Spanish, they spoke slowly enough in Spanish with us that we beginners were able to ask questions about the details of catching busses, about arranged tours, and about little out of the way places that we visited and enjoyed greatly. They really boosted our confidence in speaking their language.The staff was always attentive to our needs and requests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marys s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, General Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear guest,

We are happy to know that we helped you with your Spanish. We are pleased to know that Le Bergerac was convenient for you due to its location near your school, downtown San José, restaurants and shops.
Please fell free to send messages in Spanish whenever you will like to practice it, we will be more than happy to assist you.

Hasta pronto!

Alejandra G
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My son and I spent his 21st birthday staying at Le Bergerac and were treated like family. Great service. Great room. Great dining. Great people. The hotel was a nice oasis in the midst of chaotic San Jose. We'd definately go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, General Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Le Bergerac for celebrating your sons 21st birthday.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our services.
We hope to have the pleasure to see you in the near future.

Cordially at your service,

Le Bergerac Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The pick up at the Airport was effortless and the driver arranged through the Hotel was pleasant and helpful - going back was he was prompt and knew about the road delays leaving plenty of time to get to my flight without it being a stressful experience !! The hotel itself was set off the main road, and within walking distance of everything needed including the local market.What a tucked away secret - the rooms were spotless, the dining room and lobby so pretty, and the staff were charming, friendly and so very helpful. The dining experience was also a treat - the food was good and the service excellent. Sitting out on the terrace in the morning with Costa Rican coffee for breakfast was a luxury. A great place to start and end the day. Definately would return for everything La Bergerac has to offer including the price !!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main lobby as travellers come and go according to flight schedules which can be very late / early. if you can upgrade to superior then you will get the patio / balcony option.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, General Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear guest,

We are hapy to read that you have enjoyed our oasis of tranquility! All our beautiful tropical gardens were specially designed for our guests to enjoy them at very moment they are at the hotel.
Thank you for deciding on Le bergerac while visiting San José.

Next time you visit our beautiful Costa Rica, we hope you consider our property to stay at.

Cordially,

Alejandra G
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

this small hotel is located in los yoses which is a great part of san jose. close to the center but without the hustlers. the facility is nice but what sets this place apart is the excellent service from the well trained staff at the front desk and restaurant. this place is great for couples but also nice for families or business travelers such as myself. the only downside was that my room did not have ac but the fan was enough in june.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, General Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

It makes us happy to know that our staff gave an excellent service to you. As you have mentioned, we are located close to dowtown, historical places, restaurants, museums ans theaters.
We want to thank you for writing a review of us.
We hope to see you on your next trip to Costa Rica,

Pura vida! Cordially,

Alejandra García
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews