We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Our home in San Jose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Don Carlos
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in San Jose
Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our home in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have stayed at the Don at least a half dozen times and when friends from out of the country go to San Jose this is where we recommend they stay. The location is excellent, the ambience is Costa Rican and the service is outstanding. The amazing art collection and comfortable lobby areas make this a destination in and of itself. It is an older building, so if you want a brand new corporate chain hotel stay elsewhere, but it will be your loss. You can rely on the gentlemen at the front desk for solid restaurant recommendations , directions and they can even tell you the best place to bumpy what you are looking for. All of the staff is friendly and helpful. I would give it 10 stars if I could.

Room Tip: If you have a problem climbing stairs or have a lot of luggage be sure to tell them you need a first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoonstruckArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    152
    75
    20
    10
See reviews for
71
146
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Like many guests, we stayed here for one night prior to taking a flight out of San Jose. The hotel has a lot of charm and the staff in reception and in the restaurant were all most friendly and helpful. Many of the older buildings in San Jose have been destroyed to make way for offices, impersonal hotels or even parking lots, and it is refreshing that the Don Carlos remains intact. The hotel is on the north side of the city centre and has a lot of charm. It is quite an easy walk into the city centre. We didn't feel threatened even at night but can understand that this may happen on occasions. We liked the hotel notwithstanding the rather dated look and feel to the bedrooms which would require attention if the hotel were to attract guests wanting to stay for much longer than one night. We thought the pricing was good value for money and the sheer quirkiness of the hotel made for a memorable visit.

Room Tip: Room 25 was quite a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valence, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

After arriving in Costa Rica we stayed one night in San José before moving on to Limón. For the city that was more than enough, I find it an ugly city where I do not feel safe. The dangerous areas are incredibly photogenic for street photography, but it gets crossed off the map for tourists as an absolute NO GO.
Hotel Don Carlos is nice. We had spacious rooms with AC, and a view on the hotel's backyard and city. The public areas of the hotel are filled with little corners to lounge in, and national art or historic items. A free glass of punch on arrival, a safe in the room when you place a deposit, and a good breakfast in the morning with very friendly staff made this one fine stay for the night.

Room Tip: Invest a little more when possible to take one of the bigger rooms. The smaller ones are incredibly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The place is definitely eccentric with lots of art, history, and quirky touches throughout. I'm not sure how "authentic" it all is, but there are plenty of curiosities to explore which make this place maybe worth checking out for a night. The location is nice as well, on a quiet street just a few blocks from the city center. The rooms are very dated though, and there is zero sound barrier between rooms. We aren't too picky about this kind of stuff, but this place is quite ancient for the price - toilets don't flush well, broken beds, old upholstery, cloying flourescent lights, etc. Also, yes, the place is small, but doesn't have that quaint, owner-operated kind of personal service that we usually prefer. The service felt more corporate to us, even though it's an independent place. It's clearly been operating for a long time and doesn't really have that personal feel anymore. Could definitely use a makeover.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieandJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed there twice on a 2 week trip in costa rica. the rooms are large and clean. the breakfast was nice and we ate in the restaurant for dinner twice and had very nice meals. the décor of the hotel is positively charming

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is situated on 15 minutes walking distance from what is supposed to be the central square and shopping streets of San Jose. Any expectation of this city is one too many, by the way. In daylight it's kind of o.k. At night the streets are roamed by thiefs, robbers and transsexual hookers, no further than a couple of blocks away from the hotel. But don't let this put you off from visiting this hotel if you want (or need) to stay in San Jose. This hotel is furnished in a very pleasant colonial style. Rooms are allright but nothing special, Buffet breakfast is ok. Returning from Tortuguero National park we arrived half an hour too late for dinner, but the kind gentlemen that are probably running the in-house adjacent restaurant for decades let us in and served us a good meal anyway. Hotel has an excellent service desk for reservations for trips and hire cars. Don't organize from home, but do it via these guys, they do an excellent job for their customers. All in all: friendly staff and very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed here for two separate one night stays in April. My first room (#14) was probably one of their smallest rooms, but it was cozy and a respectable size for one person.

My second room(s) were #6 and #3. #6 was probably my favorite of the three, large and opening up into the courtyard. However, when I went in to brush my teeth at night, a cockroach greeted me on the counter. I tried to capture him under a cup (my response to all bugs that are too big to squish) but he was too quick for me.

The night manager very kindly tried to exterminate the little guy, and moved my room without my asking when he couldn't. Normally a cockroach would indicate a lack of cleanliness to me, but honestly, the rooms here did seem very clean. I suspect it's just an unavoidable part of being in a city hotel such as this.

I appreciated the kindness of the gent at the front desk, suggesting the room move and not making me feel like a goof for being creeped out by a bug. A big bug, but a bug nonetheless.

The food in the restaurant was delicious, and the atmosphere was very welcoming. The maids always smiled and greeted me, and I generally felt very welcome at this property. Would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunCatchKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#37 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#34 of 83 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#9 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos

Property: Hotel Don Carlos
Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel
Don Carlos San Jose
Hotel Don Carlos Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing