We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the city”
Review of Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Don Carlos
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the city”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed two nights at Don Carlos and it's a wonderful place in the old part of San José. Surroundings are beautiful and it's walking distance to the main shopping street with a lots of restaurants.

The rooms are a bit dated although they are very large with lots of space. The bed gnarled each time we moved or turned around, so we didn't get much sleep. Walls are thin like papers, so it's like living with the neighbors.

We would definitely stay here again only for the beatutiful location in this old part of the town, and also for the cozy design and atmosphere of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malin_o_Jonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    175
    77
    20
    11
See reviews for
81
169
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Good value, but they would benefit from updated, renovated rooms, furniture, TVs, etc. Good breakfast and excellent location only three blocks from downtown pedestrian area! Beautiful artwork and general look...super gift shop (and I don't usually notice gift shops!)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jeffandsalimalash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I went through an interesting attitude change at Hotel Don Carlos. At first our room seemed a little dated, and we had problems getting hot water in the bathroom sink. But as we settled in and enjoyed the surrounding neighborhood, which has several excellent restaurants, coffee shops and galleries, it got to feel like home. As several other reviewers have mentioned, the staff is extraordinarily warm and helpful.And you need to wander around the hotel a bit to see the statues, fountain and so on. After two days we changed our reservation for a few days later to come back to Don Carlos for our last night in Costa Rica. Would return to this friendly, unique hotel, definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in - and I've been all through europe and the US, including hawaii! Old world charm, extremely helpful staff, wonderful nooks and crannies to just sit and enjoy, beautiful woodwork, tiles, amenities, good food, exceptional breakfasts, an affordable and extensive gift shop, little things like disposable slippers - I just can't say enough good things about this place! If you need a hotel in San Jose for just 1 night or for a longer visit - this should be your FIRST option!

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are great - basic but clean, quiet, good, hot water, etc.!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aannafred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night upon arrival in Costa Rica from the UK. We arrived just after 9pm and left just after 7am so our visit was sadly very short. The staff were genuinely very friendly and have the impression that nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were fairly basic but very clean and on the morning that we left breakfast started early so we were happy with that. The main attraction of this hotel is the colourful Costa Rican artwork dotted all the over the place. The hotel is only 20 mins from the Airport but even closer to the red light district!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent a short night at Hotel Don Carlos arriving late and departing for the coast early the next day. It is a well maintained, clean hotel. The staff is exceptional - warm, helpful and go out of their way to help. At check in, they upgraded us without being asked. We were disappointed that the restaurant was closed as we'd heard it was very good; the staff quickly directed us to a nearby restaurant. When one of us lost our passport (we later figured out it had been stolen), the staff helped us turn the place upside down looking for it, even retracing our steps to the restaurant. In the morning, they helped us get to the US Embassy where we got help. Tough start to vacation but the concern of the staff - and the excellent service we received at the Embassy - quickly put this in the past and we enjoyed a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Very few hotels in Costa Rica have air conditioning - if this is a requirement for you, check the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We only had a one night stay due to travel plans. Only wish we could have stayed longer and it was pouring down rain. Charming hotel and wonderful service at the front desk and restaurant. The food was very good and the room was very comfortable. We had to leave at 3am the next morning for the airport and the front desk set it all up in advance for a taxi to arrive. Would love to come back and stay for a few days just to get the feel around town. It is a must stay if you are in San Jose!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulou215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 76 in San Jose
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 76 in San Jose
1,233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos

Property: Hotel Don Carlos
Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel
Don Carlos San Jose
Hotel Don Carlos Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing