We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Don Carlos
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent a short night at Hotel Don Carlos arriving late and departing for the coast early the next day. It is a well maintained, clean hotel. The staff is exceptional - warm, helpful and go out of their way to help. At check in, they upgraded us without being asked. We were disappointed that the restaurant was closed as we'd heard it was very good; the staff quickly directed us to a nearby restaurant. When one of us lost our passport (we later figured out it had been stolen), the staff helped us turn the place upside down looking for it, even retracing our steps to the restaurant. In the morning, they helped us get to the US Embassy where we got help. Tough start to vacation but the concern of the staff - and the excellent service we received at the Embassy - quickly put this in the past and we enjoyed a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Very few hotels in Costa Rica have air conditioning - if this is a requirement for you, check the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    155
    76
    20
    10
See reviews for
72
147
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We only had a one night stay due to travel plans. Only wish we could have stayed longer and it was pouring down rain. Charming hotel and wonderful service at the front desk and restaurant. The food was very good and the room was very comfortable. We had to leave at 3am the next morning for the airport and the front desk set it all up in advance for a taxi to arrive. Would love to come back and stay for a few days just to get the feel around town. It is a must stay if you are in San Jose!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loulou215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you are looking for a cookie-cutter, American hotel look elsewhere. The Don Carlos is part of why we travel: an authentic Costa Rican experience, a charming hotel in a burgeoning arts district near the marvelous Kalu restaurant. The staff is extremely professional. The location could not be better. One of the airport buses is a ten-minute walk, another a short taxi drive. Shopping and restaurants are just a few blocks away. We stayed two nights on arrival and one on departure. We got a superior room for the two of us and our college-student son. It was inexpensive and comfortable. We loved this place.

Room Tip: Our room toward the back right side was large and quiet -- for the heart of a big city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuburnWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family of 5 spent only one night on the way back to the states. We had the "family room" which was super reasonable at $100. If you want a familiar, never left the states feel, then this isn't for you. Our room was basic but clean and very fun for all five of us to room together. The layout with several floors, iron railings, indoor windows and paintings on the wall give the hotel a unique character and charm. For a tight budget or a little adventure, the Don Carlos is great. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and the arrangements to get to the airport for a 7AM flight went off without a hitch. Our room was on the street and somewhat noisy until about 10PM.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. Friendly and welcoming staff. Safe, quieter part of the city but a short 10min walk from the theatre, museums and centre. The food was good and well priced, the rooms were clean and sufficient and the service was good. Nice courtyard area. Free PC and Internet use 24/7, as well as wireless. Would stay there again. A more authentic experience than the American chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The history of this location drew us in - the former presidential palace, and on a side street in downtown San Jose. And I remember the great gift shop during my study abroad days. But coming back with young kids.... this probably wasn't the right hotel for us. It's a tough drive into town, with traffic, noise, smog, etc. So we were pretty worn out by the time we arrived. And while the country as a whole is safe, we were concerned about walking around the city with the kids. Therefore, for our one night stay, we felt somewhat trapped.

If you are traveling solo, or as a couple, this might be a better fit. Especially if you will be in San Jose for a couple of days. But if you are looking to pass through for one night, pick something outside of the city center.

The front desk staff was very helpful, and arranged a cab for us that night and the following day for our trip to the airport. The gift shop is still great, but it seems to be about half the size it was a decade ago. But if you need to pick up some last minute gifts, this is a great spot. The onsite restaurant was great, and you can sit outside and people watch.

Lastly, there is a nice Jade Museum across the street, which the kids really enjoyed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saprissaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed 5 days at this Hotel. Was really nice, the reception agent was very friendly with us, very informative in all our quetions that we have it. They have a Gift Shop with a lot of costa Rica Art & Craft. The coffe was the BEST =)

I would recommend this hotel for shorts days. is a real colonial Building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#15 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos

Property: Hotel Don Carlos
Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel
Don Carlos San Jose
Hotel Don Carlos Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing