We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff”
Review of Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Don Carlos
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
New York Mills, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Staff”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed 5 days at this Hotel. Was really nice, the reception agent was very friendly with us, very informative in all our quetions that we have it. They have a Gift Shop with a lot of costa Rica Art & Craft. The coffe was the BEST =)

I would recommend this hotel for shorts days. is a real colonial Building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    175
    77
    20
    11
See reviews for
81
170
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Mercifully we only stayed here for one night and that only lasted about 8 hours due to our late arrival and early departure.
Room was like stepping into a 1970s motel and in the morning the shower was full of bugs, that looked like they'd come out of the woodwork around the door frame.
The hotel is situated in the red light district so heading out after dark is not for the feint hearted!
On the slight plus side the staff were friendly and laid out some coffee and biscuits for us in the morning as we left before they started to serve breakfast

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nottles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Don Carlos hotel in San Jose was really comfortable. The concierge upon check in was more than friendly, informative and helpful; as well were the staff at the restaurant. The gift shop was quite affordable and had plenty of options of trinkets and souvenirs.

The only downside was that the wi-fi connection in the room was poor but none the less, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Clean and safe rooms, friendly and informative staff, a short cab ride or walk to majority of the city. Loved it!

Room Tip: we booked through the travel agency Anywhere Costa Rica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laure_ent06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for shorts days. is a real colonial Building. The romos are largers, basic ist not luxurious.
The staff was the best are terrific. they help us in everything.

Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Also, the location can't be beat either. Very close to all downtown attractions, and a nice little restaurant, especially for sitting outside. Very helpful staff and a welcome drink as well. Parking onsite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalLove247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I just came back from my second trip to Costa Rica...and again spent my last day at Hotel Don Carlos. The staff is exceptional and responds promptly by phone or email. I would recommend a room not on the first floor (too noisy with street traffic and folks arriving late). The hotel is chock full of culture, sitting areas, outdoor dining, etc. rooms are great. The food in the dining area is very good but the staff there did not speak much, if any English...and service was slow. But you know what... It was part of the culture...it made me relax and enjoy. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. When I arrived this time, they did have someone to help with luggage. A delightful man who is a deaf mute...with a fantastic attitude and huge smile! Loved him!

Room Tip: Not on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGTAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

e only had one night here en route to the Caribbean Coast.
We did not arrive until 2200.
It is a beautiful building and full of artwork and wonderful ceramic tiles. It is on several levels with different courtyards, adding real charm to this old colonial building.
The bedrooms are large but rather basic, as is the bathroom. However it is all clean.
We had to leave early the following morning and there was no problem with the staff providing us with a packed breakfast.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would have been OK as the street outside does not appear to be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zintilis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 77 in San Jose
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#17 of 77 in San Jose
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos

Property: Hotel Don Carlos
Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel
Don Carlos San Jose
Hotel Don Carlos Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing