We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice, Clean, Great location and Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Don Carlos
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean, Great location and Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Don Carlos hotel in San Jose was really comfortable. The concierge upon check in was more than friendly, informative and helpful; as well were the staff at the restaurant. The gift shop was quite affordable and had plenty of options of trinkets and souvenirs.

The only downside was that the wi-fi connection in the room was poor but none the less, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Clean and safe rooms, friendly and informative staff, a short cab ride or walk to majority of the city. Loved it!

Room Tip: we booked through the travel agency Anywhere Costa Rica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laure_ent06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    155
    76
    20
    10
See reviews for
72
147
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for shorts days. is a real colonial Building. The romos are largers, basic ist not luxurious.
The staff was the best are terrific. they help us in everything.

Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Also, the location can't be beat either. Very close to all downtown attractions, and a nice little restaurant, especially for sitting outside. Very helpful staff and a welcome drink as well. Parking onsite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalLove247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I just came back from my second trip to Costa Rica...and again spent my last day at Hotel Don Carlos. The staff is exceptional and responds promptly by phone or email. I would recommend a room not on the first floor (too noisy with street traffic and folks arriving late). The hotel is chock full of culture, sitting areas, outdoor dining, etc. rooms are great. The food in the dining area is very good but the staff there did not speak much, if any English...and service was slow. But you know what... It was part of the culture...it made me relax and enjoy. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. When I arrived this time, they did have someone to help with luggage. A delightful man who is a deaf mute...with a fantastic attitude and huge smile! Loved him!

Room Tip: Not on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGTAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

e only had one night here en route to the Caribbean Coast.
We did not arrive until 2200.
It is a beautiful building and full of artwork and wonderful ceramic tiles. It is on several levels with different courtyards, adding real charm to this old colonial building.
The bedrooms are large but rather basic, as is the bathroom. However it is all clean.
We had to leave early the following morning and there was no problem with the staff providing us with a packed breakfast.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would have been OK as the street outside does not appear to be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zintilis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
337 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have stayed here the first night of our last two trips to Costa Rica. Nice little place with all sorts of interesting artwork. We spent the mornings, before breakfast, just looking at it all. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were impressed that on our last trip, with the plane more than 4 hours late, our midnight arrival went smooth. Breakfast is good, best enjoyed on the streetside seating where you can watch the sparrows, doves, and parrots along with the waking city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is glamourous upon arrival, the architecture, paintings and attention to detail make you think that you have found a pure gem of a hotel to stay at! Alas, once you are inside your room it becomes quite obvious that external appearances are misleading! There is so much going on outside keeping the grounds spotless, the tiled floors polished,the waterfall area neat and tidy....that they have lost focus on the main reason tourists stay at your hotel.....for a good clean bedroom, bathroom and a good bed for some quality sleep! Needless to say, the bathroom smelled awful and even though we were staying only one night my wife had us buy some disinfectant to clean the bathroom. The carpet by the bed was quite dirty and the wooden flooring had been moped but was also dirty.......if you wiped a damp cloth on the floor it came up black! The beds matteress was worn out and had seen better days numberous years ago at which time it shoud have been retired. Another thing missing is a small refridgerator....especially in a hot climate! Maybe they want you to purchase your drinks at the bar, but if you have water or food...you are at a loss! Once again, the front desk staff were exceptional and the breakfast excellent! It is really sad that the management can not see that if they rectified these problems that they would have a GEM of a hotel and one of a kind in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the waterfall and common area as I am sure that in peak season it gets very noisy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#15 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos

Property: Hotel Don Carlos
Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel
Don Carlos San Jose
Hotel Don Carlos Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing