We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Don Carlos
Nearby Hotels
$129
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose(San Jose)
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$104
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$84
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveler rating
184
198
90
21
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
198
90
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjade museuma large gift shopreal charmcosta ricalocal artistscharming hotelwelcome cocktailthree blocksnooks and cranniesinner courtyardchain hotelsold mansionrooms are largeeasy walking distanceseparate nightsquiet streetrecommend this hotel to anyone
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 504 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here before and after the C2C trip with Coast to Coast Adventures. Small, traditional hotel in a quiet part of town. We didn't eat in, apart from breakfast, choosing to eat at the recommended Cafe Mundo up the road (we recommend it too). Hotel staff were happy to show us the way & didn't seem offended.
Short walk to shops and the artisan's market, as well as the National Museum.
The only gripe was (like in many small traditional hotels)....the lack of a lift, so bit of a pain carrying 4 heavy kit bags.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spd15ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed at several places in San Jose but always end up going back to Don Carlos. Rooms are spacious , clean and comfortable, staff are very helpful , interior is well decorated with Costa Rican art and the location is good for going to restaurants in the area without going too far in the dark. Don' t recommend walking around San Jose at night in any case.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plohrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way back from a trip to the rain forest, just for one night while we waited for our flight. It was a very unique layout, with little courtyards and fountains to walk through to get to each room. We were greeted with welcome beverages and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room itself was very nice - a good size, clean and a nice bathroom. The hotel is within walking distance to a nice little town center with parks and places to sit, and there was a lovely shopping center nearby as well. We wished we had more time to stay here a few more nights!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahB0Barah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. Good service, great restaurant with a wonderful waiter, a limited dinner menu but very good breakfast buffet, and a nice, clean room. The hotel is wonderfully decorated with many drawings and Costa Rican art. It is close to downtown but in a better neighborhood than other hotels we watched on our search in San Jose. All services we requested were completed in a timely manner by the hotel staff. Overall, we stayed there for 3 nights ($ 80 each night, superior room, low season, and with a rebate).

Room Tip: Take a look at the rooms before you take it. Some rooms have a nice view, and lots of light especially on the upper floors while others have a window to the inside patio with less light. It can really make a difference.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indigo655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I should preface this by stating that I haven't actually spent any time in San Jose OUTSIDE of the Don Carlos.

We booked our trip through Costa Rica Sun Tours, and they took care of making these arrangements for us, but I can absolutely say that we'd choose to stay here on another trip through San Jose. For anyone flying into San Jose before moving on to other parts of the country, the Hotel Don Carlos is a perfect stop-over hotel for the night you get in and the night before you leave. We stayed here after arriving in San Jose, and we stayed here again at the end of our vacation the night before we returned home.

The hotel is adorable and charming, and the staff is welcoming. Upon our first arrival here, we were given a free round of drinks to welcome us here. I believe that the tradition is a fruit punch o some sort, but we were offered a Guaro Sour and accepted it happily. Next, we ordered dinner and I tried my first Casado Tipico Comida, the typical Costa Rican dish of rice, beans, chicken (or another meat), and plantains (my favorite!). It was tasty, and a great introduction to Costa Rica.

We had an early bus the morning we left and would be departing before the included (complementary) breakfast started at 7am, so they had a breakfast box arranged for us so that we'd have some fruit and coffee on our way out. I think this was a really nice and courteous gesture.

As for a pool, they have one, technically, but it's more like a fountain that apparently you can wade in. I've never seen anyone in it, but it exists.

All in all, this is a great spot in San Jose that's the perfect place to crash when you get into Costa Rica, and the perfect place to unwind as you prepare to leave. I'd definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Rooms 4-9 are in the cute little courtyard area in the middle of the hotel, away from the registration desk. Room #21 is upstairs and the window overlooks the souvenir shop and a common area and can get kind of loud.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doniree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews