We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Aranjuez
Nearby Hotels
$112
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn(San Jose)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
$90
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
$87
$73
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveler rating
516
435
94
30
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
435
94
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricathe main hotelmade to order omeletssuperior roomtropical gardenawesome breakfastbreakfast buffet isfresh fruitbudget hotelquiet neighborhoodwalls are thinshared bathroomplantainscommon areascharming hotelstayed one nighthot water
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

the rooms are very small and dark.
far from downtown and no restaurant nearby.
i had booked for 3 nights but i was happy when i was told that they had only one night available.
yes breakfast is good and plenty to eat

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shapirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear customer: Thank you very much for your commentary. All the rooms of the Hotel Aranjuez are different, some are darker than others but they all keep the original structure of the old Costa Rican houses. Downtown is approximately 15 minutes from the hotel and, in the way, you can find a good number of restaurants and sodas. We've also made a little map for our clients with all the attractions, restaurants and sodas nearby the Hotel Aranjuez. Our guests can find that map at our Facebook page or website. Also, they can ask our receptionists and they'll gladly help you out with anything, from restaurants location to bus stations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

we spent 2 nights in the Hotel Aranjuez during Christmas and our stay was fully pleasant , beyond our expectations, the clealiness , style and ornamentation of the building was superb, the room ,very spacious and conformtable and the breakfast, delicious , organic, with a hugh variety of food prepared in site .
If you have to stay in San Jose, withouth any doubt , the Hotel Aranjuez is the best choice, for the very convenient price that you will pay you will get the best quality ......

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandritanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear customer: Thank you for recommending “without any doubt” Hotel Aranjuez. All of us work with pleasure for providing our customers the best lodging experience. It is a pleasure to know that you felt welcoming and comfortable with the services provided by us. We will be very pleased of having you as our guest in the near future. We wish you the best during this 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Spent one night upon arrival in San Jose on our way to Puerto Viejo. Very late arrival, with no problems. Due to the very short time we were going to spend there, we chose the least expensive room. Nothing special, but perfectly reasonable for the cost. The layout of the hotel is quite nice, with a lot of outdoor space for guests to enjoy, and of course with the much talked about (for all the good reasons) breakfast which is included. The breakfast in itself was worth the visit, numerous choices from fresh fruit and salad, to eggs cooked to order, to pancakes etc. Better yet, breakfast is served in a lush garden.

Will definitely stay there again, perhaps in a medium price range room (there are numerous room choices as each room is different).

Room Tip: Choose a room according to your needs and budget. There really is a room for every need!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasasLaSelvatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Gio: Thank you for enjoying our breakfast and considering Hotel Aranjuez an “excellent choice”. It is a pleasure to know that our autochthonous Hotel pleases you that much. We are always concern about improving our services in all ways and the reviews written by our customers are the best feedback. Thank you for mentioning that our Hotel offers rooms for different budget needs. Besides, we offer apartments and studios for those looking for a long stay period. We definitely hope to have you as our guest once again. We wish you the best for this 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hotel is nice. The rooms are nothing special but good, with all you need. I stayed there 3 times and was always good.
The stuff is really friendly and helpful. They are always available for suggestions, helping, etc.
The best thing is the breakfast. A huge free buffet with hundred of delicious and different kinds of food. It is worth going there just for the breakfast!
A nice place to stay in San Jose'.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Gio: We much appreciate your commentary. We are happy knowing that we offer you an “amazing breakfast”. The rooms of the Hotel Aranjuez are original of the houses, for this reason they keep the austerity and the ambience of the old days. For those who prefer the modern architecture, we offer the option of lodging in our Apartments. We are glad you have enjoyed our breakfast and the original recipes made by our staff with native products. It will be a pleasure to serve you in the future. We wish you the best for this 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I spent five nights at the Aranjuez for our first visit to San Jose. Our room, number 5, is one listed as "Superior Plus," which it really was. The rate of $60 (US) includes a breakfast for two which easily has a value of $20-30. Our room was only a few steps from reception but we didn't experience much noise, except chatting by guests right outside one of our two windows. The other window was screened by beautiful and lush tropical plants. Both windows are interior, opening onto some of the many little gardens and sitting areas other reviewers have described. Room 5 includes a bedroom, sitting room, and bathroom with shower. The shower was sunken by a foot or so, thus preventing water spilling out onto the floor. Nicely designed. There was always plenty of hot water too. I think every room is different because this environmentally-oriented hotel was built from old houses and rooms are eclectic. One of the high points, besides the amazing breakfast, was the high standard of customer service. Staff was always helpful and accommodating of our needs and questions. It reminded me of the old (apparently outdated in most places) attitude of "the customer is always right." the local neighborhood felt safe to me (I might have some hesitation if I were walking alone at night), and there were several little "sodas," as small local food places are called. I highly recommend Restaurant y Soda Isabel, as well as Cafe del Barista. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the central city, and the Jardiniere Nacional and Museo Nacional are on the way. We walked back and forth many times, bit it is also inexpensive to take taxis, and I would guess there is a bus you can hop on. Highly recommend Hotel Aranjuez!!

Room Tip: Room 5 has a beautifully screened window on a lush tropical garden and is right around the corner from wonderful outdoor sitting areas.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleSueSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear guest: We are very proud that a Senior critic as you considered Hotel Aranjuez an “Oasis with Superb Service”. For our staff is very stimulating to know that their job, that they made with love and responsibility, is evaluated by our customers in the way you do in your review. Thank you for enjoying the costarrican atmosphere of our Hotel and the native way of welcoming our guests. We are always expecting to be able to serve you in the near future. The best wishes for this 2014! ¡Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews