We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect & great food near by”
Review of Hotel Aranjuez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aranjuez
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dawson City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect & great food near by”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Loved this place, a bit of a maze to find your room. You must try the Tico Soda 1 1/2 blocks up ( I think its called Donj D) on the corner its run by a really sweet family that give great service, large meals with a fresh fruit juice for $5 and its clean. The breakfast at the hotel was Fabulous, good idea to make a reservation as they get busy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Amber: We just happy reading that you have found “perfect” your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. For us is a joy to know that you “love” our place and that you have enjoyed the friendly of the costarrican families running the “sodas” nearby. We hope you repeat your lodging experience with us in the near future. ¡Feliz Navidad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    404
    83
    24
    15
See reviews for
154
467
116
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was my second stay at Aranjuez. My group was staying here and I was happy to recognize the name from a prior trip in 2008 when I booked. My room was $40 USD. It was spacious and had a large shower. It's a bit far from the airport - around $30 USD - but is a great jumping off points for adventures. One of the neighborhoods you drive through to get there is a bit sketchy - homeless people sleeping on the street and hookers on the corner, but the hotel seems very secure and the front desk staff is always there. The breakfast buffet is amazing - omelet station, fresh fruit, numerous pastries. It can be a bit noisy but I think that's par for the course in Costa Rica - lots of barking dogs and roosters. I would still highly recommend it especially if you want a more unique hotel experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TaraCanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear TaraCanton : Thank you so much for taking time for writing this review and recommending us. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the “autochthonous” lodging experience that we offer. The breakfast, included in our room rate, constitutes an esential part for showing our hospitality. About our location, we must mention that we are located near downtown San José, our capital. The Airport is located in another city, 22 kms away. We hope to have you us our guest for third time very soon. ¡Feliz Navidad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise providing historic charm, informative & helpful staff and the most wonderful breakfast. The reviews are absolutely correct. I felt safe with security cameras keeping track of the on-goings. An internet connection was available all through the hotel, whether in your room or outside in the comfortable patios.
The only complaint I would have is that the walls are paper-thin so bring ear plugs. But I experienced this in other hotels in San Jose and Costa Rica.
This hotel is definitely good value for money spent. I hope to return again.

Room Tip: My room was close to the Breakfast Room. The walls were very thin. So bring earplugs. The best break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2globe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest: We are always working for providing our customers a secure and charming stay in our Hotel. Thank you so much for letting us to know that you felt welcoming and attended during the time you spent with us. We will keep working hard for solving any detail that can disturb the lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. We also hope you will be able to return to Costa Rica and our hotel once again. ¡Feliz Navidad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We appreciated the helpfulness of the front desk staff to provide directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. Hotel Aranjuez was a great staging point for our onward journey to the CR caribbean coast.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Ron: Our staff is always concern about providing the most hospitality and helpful service. They are very happy of knowing that they provide you the service that you merit. Thank you for been our guest and for sharing your experience at Hotel Aranjuez with Trip Advisor users. ¡Feliz Navidad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Awesome place to stay and AWESOME breakfast :) it's a bit far from the airport but by taxi should run you about $33 USD or so. The garden is gorgeous. The rooms have nice, big showers and safes if you want to put your things up when you head out for the day. Real friendly staff too. Everything you need for your time in San Jose.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzeroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Suzeroos: Thank you for your enthusiastic commentary about your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez . Our garden is a traditional “patio” with mango and “cas” trees and exotic plants as “bromelias” and “platanillas”. We have joined the original patios of the houses that made up the Hotel Aranjuez. We are hoping to receive you us our guest in the very near future. ¡Feliz Navidad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I would highly recommend to stay at this intimate, we'll run hotel whilst in San Jose. The hotel is a series of connected houses with an incredible art collection, comfortable rooms, very helpful staff and great breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jamoi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest: We are very glad of have offering you an “intimate” lodging experience. We are very proud of having an art exhibition of two young women costarrican artists: Patricia Rucavado and Eugenia Barrionuevo. Through these paintings, our customers can get in touch with the customs, nature and colors of Costa Rica. We hope you will visit us in the near future. ¡Feliz Navidad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

With the hotel being made from the houses around the hotel the nooks and crannies are an explorations which is so much fun, Never have I stayed in a hotel so close to the Center of the City yet found it quiet. Meeting people in the hotel over breakfast was a joy...The breakfast is second to none. You don't have the house maid knocking on your door so she can do her work, she waits for you to leave your room , its all so very discrete.

The beds all have new mattresses. The staff are charming informative and totally helpful
I have been to the Hotel Aranjuex twice this year and both times I made friends. The hotel is situated in walking distance to the main st, the National theater and a six dollar ride back to the hotel.. There are no dance, not bar no noise..

Room Tip: Room 11 has great wi fi connection, Room 31 has its own patio so both rooms I enjoyed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rdhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest: For us is always very important to know our customer’s lodgment experience at Hotel Aranjuez. Thank you for taking your time for writing this review. We are proud of feeling out your expectations. Our staff is especially happy of making your stay with us an experience to be repeated. Thank you for visit us twice during the 2014. We hope you do so next year. ¡Feliz Navidad y hasta el 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
6.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranjuez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranjuez

Property: Hotel Aranjuez
Address: | 200 mts. norte, 200 oeste y 25 sur de la Iglesia Santa Teresita., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranjuez 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aranjuez is located in San Jose and is surrounded by a tropical garden. Free breakfast buffet, free WiFi access and free private parking are available. Each room here features an authentic historic decor and will provide you with a cable TV, an outdoor seating area and a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hairdryer. All rooms have a desk and a safety-deposit box. Our wonderfull Breakfast Buffet is also included. At Hotel Aranjuez you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a tour desk, luggage storage and laundry facilities. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1.1 km from Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, 1.2 km from National Theatre of Costa Rica and 1.4 km from Metropolitan Cathedral. Juan Santamaria International Airport is 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aranjuez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aranjuez Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing