We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Hotel Aranjuez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aranjuez
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Good location, quiet residential neighborhood, 20 min walk to center. Breakfasts are great! Service though from the front desk was very weak. I am the owner of 3 Central American hotels, all highly rated on Trip Adviser so I think I can judge with some degree of authority the quality of service offered. Service by front desk people was consistently lacking in sincerity, warmth and friendliness. Sure they are more than capable to check a guest in, take payment, etc. ... But when it comes to genuine warmth and service to guests, personnel were sorely lacking. Part of this is simply cultural, after travelling thru Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Guatemala and Mexico, we have found genuine warm and personalized sercice to be woefully lacking in Costa Rica during this trip. A shame and a bit surprising especially given Costa Ricas privleged position as a regional tourism powerhouse. Efficiency and professional service are not substitutes for genuinely personalized and warmth of service. Being treated as just another tourist may be ok for some tourists, but this does not score high marks in my book. Costa Rica needs to do a much better job at making guests feel wanted, appreciated and valued - otherwise they are just another tropical, exotic locale like so many orher destinations.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mochilero22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

First of all, we must apologize for not feeling out your expectations about the welcoming treatment of the costarrican people. We much appreciate your punctual observations about this subject. Even if our country is known for the affectionate way of welcoming the foreign people and most tourist remark this characteristic of the “ticos”, we recognize that we always have to keep working for improving in all ways. Hotel Aranjuez, for this reason, has a campaign through our staff for reinforcing all those friendly valuables that naturally distinguished the costarrican people. We are sincerely looking to leave in our guests the best impression of our staff and services. Thanks to your feedback, we will redouble our efforts in achieving this goal.. Once again we thank you for providing us this valuable information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aranjuez
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. It is centrally located. Service was excellent and very gracious. The breakfast brunch is remarkable. I have. Never had something as delicious and complete anywhere else. I recommend it heartily.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Carmen: Thank you so much for your words about your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. We´re especially proud of the remarkable experience you have had with our breakfast. We have being working very hard in the last month, introducing new recipes and innovating the presentation of our buffet breakfast. We are going to continue with the hard work! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We adore this hotel. There is no way to put the breakfast into words. Simply amazing. And the gorgeous outdoor living areas are perfect for spending a rainy evening reading and reveling in the jungle in the middle of the city. We moved from here to another hotel nearer the museum (we are checking out hotels for a group we are guiding next year) and immediately missed the Arunjuez terribly upon arrival. For example: the very kind staff, the quiet, serene atmosphere, the very thoughtful management, the ice machine!!
This a great place and a great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sewiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear guest: We must thank you for appreciating our autochthonous lodgment proposition. Our goal has always been introducing our guests into an authentic costarrican lodgment experience which includes the warmth treatment of the costarrican people. We had been working very hard during the last 20 years in keeping and maintaining the atmosphere of the wooden houses as an historic and cultural heritage. We are very happy knowing that you have appreciated our efforts. We hope to see you and your group at Hotel Aranjuez very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Currently staying at the Aranjuez, , what a find. Good location to walk to Centro. Buffet breakfast exceeded any expectations. Nothing fancy, but updated, eclectic. Parking available, and can be a bit hard to find until you understand the street numbers, odd and even, one way, etc. nice place to relax and unwind, lots of sitting coves, plants. A gem of a place and real value, which is what we looked for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brodyman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear guest: Thank you for your commentary. We are especially proud of providing you a lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez that deserves to be repeated. We are always looking that our services, all together, leave in our guests the sensation of passing through an autochthonous costarrican lodging experience. The wooden houses, the internal patios, the social areas, the neighborhood where you can find plenty of little sodas and cafes, the “pulpería” in the corner, the church, the school and the park, are part of this authentic costarrican experience that we are looking to leave in our customers. We hope to see you very soom!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel for our short stay in San Jose and looked up tripadvisorbefore deciding - all comments were true! This is a lovely simple hotel with wonderful staff that met all our needs before heading back home. Great breakfast!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie1983il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Natalie: We are glad that all your expectations concerning our hospitality were satisfied. We work very hard to improve our customer service and the commodities of the Hotel. The feedbacks provided by our customers through Trip Advisor have been extremely useful in this subject. In the near future, we hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Aranjuez in a Superior PLus room for 4 people. The hotel is built around 4 or 5 houses with a couple of open garden areas with resident hummingbirds. My children particularly enjoyed night spotting for opossums. As the hotel is a mix of houses I think each room is different - some are better positioned than others. I heard from a fellow resident that room 27 is the best one - but I haven't seen it so I can't confirm. Ours had two large beds, a bathroom and cable tv - the tv reception wasn't great but really were weren't in Costa Rica to watch movies.

I booked the hotel in advance on the basis of other Trip Advisor reviews about the garden and breakfast and wasn't disappointed. The breakfast is fantastic - far better than anything we'd had up until then - omelettes made to order, fresh juice, fruits, pastries, bread, and Gallo Pinto of course. We have 2 more nights booked over the next 4 weeks and will be looking forward to the return visit(s).

We organised a tour to the Poas volcano and travel to La Fortuna, the guys on reception rang around to get a good price for us so that was appreciated as Costa Rica is not a cheap place to travel!

Our room (22) was a bit dark but away from reception and the road at the front so was generally very quiet - the worst of the noise came from some neighbours who clearly had no idea just how loud their voices were!

Wherever you stay in San Jose expect to hear the traffic noise from about 4:30am onwards - its in the background.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CookCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear guest: We much appreciate your review. We celebrate that we have filled your expectations, based in the reviews genteelly written by our customers in Trip Advisor. We are taking note of your observations about room 22. We will find a way to improve the illumination. Due to the fact that Hotel Aranjuez is made up of five wooden houses, we ask our customers to reduce the “noise contamination” by the nights. Once again we thank you for your review and we are hoping to see you and your family very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We (11 year old son and I) had a great stay at the Aranjuez Hotel. It's a quirky place with tons of charm. Rooms are adequate with TVs, hangers and phones. Bathrooms are stylish and clean. Breakfast is just great - over flowing with treats - though a bit spendy if you don't stay at the hotel ($9/person). What made the hotel was the staff - always available to meet your every need.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PF_Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear customer: It is a pleasure to know that you find “charming” the houses integrating Hotel Aranjuez. We are glad you have enjoy our buffet breakfast which includes a big variety of plates, fruits, pastries, five types of bred, gallo pinto and two additional hot plates, omelets, eggs to order, pancakes, coffe, ten varieties of the, chocolate and many others goodies. Usually, in Costa Rica, you pay around US$6 for only a typical breakfast (gallo pinto, one egg, two toasts and coffee) in any little soda. We must thank you for the warmest words about our staff. We hope you are your son visit us pretty soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,475 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,313 reviews
6.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranjuez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranjuez

Address: | 200 mts. norte, 200 oeste y 25 sur de la Iglesia Santa Teresita., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $50 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranjuez 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aranjuez is located in San Jose and is surrounded by a tropical garden. Free breakfast buffet, free WiFi access and free private parking are available. Each room here features an authentic historic decor and will provide you with a cable TV, an outdoor seating area and a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hairdryer. All rooms have a desk and a safety-deposit box. Our wonderfull Breakfast Buffet is also included. At Hotel Aranjuez you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a tour desk, luggage storage and laundry facilities. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1.1 km from Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, 1.2 km from National Theatre of Costa Rica and 1.4 km from Metropolitan Cathedral. Juan Santamaria International Airport is 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aranjuez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aranjuez Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing