We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restful stay with an amazing breakfast”
Review of Hotel Aranjuez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Aranjuez
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fremont, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“restful stay with an amazing breakfast”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Recently we stayed at Hotel Aranjuez for two days at the beginning of our trip and two days at the end of our trip to Costa Rica. What a great place! The desk clerks were so helpful in getting cabs for us, arranging for tours, helping us with directions, etc. We slept very well and were provided with an amazing breakfast of hot food including omelettes made to order, fruits, small pancakes and quiches, finger sandwiches, and a huge array of pastries. I highly recommend this establishment as a place to stay while you are in San Jose!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Becky: We are very happy to read that we've achieved our goal of providing you a friendly and professional service. We must thank you for recommending the Hotel Aranjuez and specially for taking your time to express your experience in our Hotel. We hope you repeat your visit to Hotel Aranjuez in the near future. We hope, by then, to have done the improvements in rooms and social areas planning during this 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    408
    83
    24
    15
See reviews for
158
470
116
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We arrived in San Jose and stayed just one nigh.The place is ok. Location is not the best but i didn' t mind.
Great BREAKFAST !!!!!!!. Staff not so helpful ( common in this country )
All in all I liked but not loved !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Greg: We much appreciate your review. Honestly, we're surprised about your commentary related to the unpleasant treatment received in Costa Rica. Our country is known for the contrary. In general, tourists are giving the highest qualifications to the warm treatment received from the costarrican people. We also regret not to fill out your expectations of Hotel Aranjuez. We are going to work harder in our customer service in order to evade any disappointed from future guests. Once again, we thank you for your commentary and we hope that you'll give Costa Rica and the “ticos” a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We are Tru customers from THE hotel till à point it ended !! We planned à 3 night stay at Aranjuez ,comming from à traumatic expierience from THE hospital on THE second night an accident happend with THE cheets we immediatly called THE cleaninglady to ask her for new cheets And sche looked up on me Strange And called THE receptionist And hè told us we dont usualy do this type of laundry !!! So you have THE option to Pay for THE 1 cheet !! À white matras cheet they charged us 50 dollars
For THE cheets !!! Verry disapointed with THE hotels reaction !!!! And Will never stay there aggain . I still feel pretty upset About this incident !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
The Hotel Aranjuez, for security healthy reasons concerned our staff, has a policy about the lingerie. We wash in our professional laundry, only lingerie with normally use. We do not wash sheets presenting an irregular use. If any of the lingerie presents irregular problems, the maid won’t make the room until the customer is present. In cases like this, the customer must pay for the damaged lingerie. The customer can take the damaged lingerie with him. The customer can take it also to a laundry outside the Hotel. If the laundry does not present any problem, we accepted and washed again in our laundry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

As others have said, awesome breakfast. Rooms are a little cozy, but you are not on top of the other guests because of the asymmetrical floor plan. Great place to stay on the way into or out of San Jose.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Paul: We are happy to read that you have had a pleasant stay at Hotel Aranjuez. Will be a pleasure to share with you all the innovations we have made to the rooms and social areas in your next stay in our Hotel. Once again we thank you for your commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is my second one month stay at this hotel.

I stayed in the high rise building in a superior studio apartment with a great kitchen, everything was there and it was sparkling clean. The people at the desk are fantastic and very friendly. I kept my studio in very neat condition and the maid seemed to appreciate that. She made a centerpiece with towel swans and flowers that was really great, I have a picture.
The people there at the hotel were so nice. Senor Jose was very accomodating and the Costa Rica people very friendly.

In fact, please go to YouTube and check out my video "San Jose, Costa Rica--Faces of the People Living There" also any of my other videos, type in my signin "Touchesolver".

Thanks---Rudy Aukschun

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touchesolver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Rudy: We much appreciate your commentary. Overall, we are happy to read that you enjoy your second stay in our apartments. . We also thank you for your friendly treatment with all our staff. All of them have a nice memory of you. Wihtout a doubt we hope you repeat your stay in the near future. We also enjoy the videos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just when I thought my Costa Rican vacation couldn't get any better, I woke up to have breakfast at this hotel. I wish I had taken some pictures so you could see the unbelievable bounty. About nine different types of fruit, ten different pastries, made-to-order omelets, traditional Costa Rican rice and beans and plantains, cereal, passionfruit juice, and this eggnog-like concoction to top it all off. I gorged myself and had about three cups of coffee while sitting in their garden breakfast area. The seating area is full of trees and bromeliads, and you can relax while listening to the birds chirp. My friend and I even saw a hummingbird come to snack at some of their flowers!

We only stayed one night before heading out to the airport, and the hotel was more than sufficient for that. It's a very funky old house that has been revamped into a hotel. The result is lots of nice common spaces to hang out. The room was adequate - comfortable beds, clean, good water pressure and heat in the shower - and it felt very safe. The location felt safe but a little quiet - we were able to find a great restaurant within a five-minute walk.

Highly recommended if you're stopping over in San Jose!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurawantstoroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Laura: We are very proud of making your stay at Hotel Aranjuez a top experience. We thank you so much for taking time for written this stimulated review. We hope you give us the opportunity of having you through us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Not sure what to expect, but were very pleasantly surprised to arrive at a charming hotel, with great service and a pleasant garden area to just relax. Everywhere very clean and staff extremely helpful. Blown away the next morning by the incredible breakfast. Great value for the price. Would recommend it to everybody.
Patricia, Gretchen & Cris.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Patricia, Gretchen & Cris: We much appreciate your commentary. Thank you so much in advance for your recommendations to everybody. Will be a pleasure becoming your reference place for you and your friends in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
950 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,454 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
6.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranjuez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranjuez

Property: Hotel Aranjuez
Address: | 200 mts. norte, 200 oeste y 25 sur de la Iglesia Santa Teresita., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranjuez 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aranjuez is located in San Jose and is surrounded by a tropical garden. Free breakfast buffet, free WiFi access and free private parking are available. Each room here features an authentic historic decor and will provide you with a cable TV, an outdoor seating area and a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hairdryer. All rooms have a desk and a safety-deposit box. Our wonderfull Breakfast Buffet is also included. At Hotel Aranjuez you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a tour desk, luggage storage and laundry facilities. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1.1 km from Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, 1.2 km from National Theatre of Costa Rica and 1.4 km from Metropolitan Cathedral. Juan Santamaria International Airport is 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aranjuez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aranjuez Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing