We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really Cool Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aranjuez Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Really Cool Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our first stop on our trip to Costa Rica in Mid-May 2012. It was really great. We were looking for 'different' experiences throughout our trip and this fit the bill. Situated in a neighborhood outside the heart of town it is a quirky arrangement of rooms around gardens and sitting rooms. We were able to walk around and found a local bar to hang out in during the afternoon (learned some Spanish, figured out the money, watched some soccer), found a grocery for supplies and everything else we needed the hotel had. Our room was just fine, bathroom adequate. It's cool, not necessarily fancy. We just wanted to get off to the rest of the country the next morning and it was great. It was only a few minutes drive by taxi to the regional airport (by a cabbie who was probably an ex-Formula 1 driver). Many reviewers have mentioned breakfast and justifiably so--it's wonderful! We stuffed ourselves on great food in the garden, already seeing birds and plants we'd not seen before, making us even more anxious to get out into the rainforest.

This was a great first stop for us and we'd recommend it to others!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomK959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are happy to read that your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez complete your expectations, as the one at the country. We hope to have you or your friend as guest in the near future. We wish you and your family a very pleasant 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    372
    73
    22
    14
See reviews for
140
407
108
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you are looking for a clean and friendly place in San José, this is where you should go. The walls are leaf thin and the doors do not offer much of a lock, but the windeling corridors and hidden rooms in a garden is much to look for. The place is clean, neat, very friendly and the breakfast worth to kill for! We met a LOT of nice people there too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klimpen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We much appreciate your commentary about your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. We have been working in isolating the rooms, but in some cases, due the patrimony structure of the houses, we are forbidden to do it. About the doors, they are part of the patrimony structure for the houses. In any case, we are going to make some improvements in this subject during this 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was a nice and inexpensive hotel, not far from downtown San Jose. I stayed in the cottage rooms and they were very spacious and clean and had a cozy feel. The staff was very polite and helpful. It's a good place to stay if you're doing a transfer since all the tour operators know the hotel.

Room Tip: The cottage rooms are very cozy and delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freds335i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are glad you have spent a nice vacation at Hotel Aranjuez. After 20 years operating, all the tour operators know the Hotel. Also, we offer a large discount service in daily tours and overnights that we operate with different tour operators for getting the best prices. We hope you come back to Hotel Aranjuez in the near future. We wish you the best for this 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We enjoyed our first two nights in San Jose at the Aranjuez hotel. The front desk clerks were very friendly and helpful with finding restaurants and a bank in the area. The nightly price including a "deluxe" breakfast buffet was very reasonable. The breakast was amazing, with made to order eggs, and pancakes, high qualility fresh produce, fresh fruit juices and homemade breads and pastries. The rooms were kept very clean. This was a great start to our 3 week vacation in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: $65/night for Room 9 - large room with king bed, with a sitting area that's great for "hidi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethH409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We feel very stimulated by your commentary. All our staff is given their best in order to make Hotel Aranjuez a pleasant place to stay. We began this 2013, introducing new recipes and products for making our buffet breakfast even better. We also are continuing the reconstruction of the bathrooms of the social areas and in some rooms. We wish you and your family the best for the 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband & I arrived @Hotel Aranjuez from Playa Corillo arranged by a friend
When we arrived ,we were supprised tht it did not quite seem like a hotel.
We quite enjoyed our stay,it was very clean,the breakfast was a delight!!!!
We decided to stay a extra day,
Will come back again ,I also tell all my clients about this hotel ,when they like to visit costa Rica.

Room Tip: Room up the stairs is quite nice & roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johannab45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We appreciate your commentary, especially because we are very concern about cleaning. Our staff is receiving constantly training from our cleaning products supplier. Besides, the House Keeper is always after our staff. For our breakfast, we are always looking to use new recipes which incorporate local products. All the products we serve are purchased at the local market from the producers. We do not use any plastic contain and all the organic garbage is donated to a farm’s pork. We hope to can come back soon to Costa Rica and the Hotel Aranjuez. We wish you the best during this Christmas time and for the 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was slightly nervous driving to this hotel...San Jose is your not so typical large city but the Hotel Arenjuez is a little gem. They staff was very helpful and polite. There is a gas station and few diners just down the road and in walking distance for lunch/dinner. But the best part of was the breakfast buffet. It was so amazing and delicious. They made it picture perfect and the seating area is open to a garden oasis. The rooms were spacious and the showers were hot. There was a small safe for your important belongings. It is a little far from the airport so if you have an early flight you may want to find a closer place but we stayed there the first night of our stay and it was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinaleelox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed there several times within the last 2 years - the rooms are fine and breakfast is really good. If you want you can reach the centre of San José within 20 minutes walking distance or the reception will call you a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guest, we appreciate your review and specially, that you choose our Hotel each time you come to Costa Rica. Downtown is located within walking distance, and in the map we provide to our customers, are indicated the different best routes to get there. We must mention, that the famous museum “Calderón Guardia” and “Casa del Cuño” as well as “La Aduana” are located only 4 blocks ahead from the Hotel. We hope you can stay with us once again soon. You will appreciate the renovation of many bathrooms and rooms in the last 3 months. We wish you a wonderful Christmas time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#9 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Property: Aranjuez Hotel
Address: 19th Street, Avenues 11 & 13, San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aranjuez is located in San Jose and is surrounded by a tropical garden. Free breakfast buffet, free WiFi access and free private parking are available. Each room here features an authentic historic decor and will provide you with a cable TV, an outdoor seating area and a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hairdryer. All rooms have a desk and a safety-deposit box. Our wonderfull Breakfast Buffet is also included. At Hotel Aranjuez you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a tour desk, luggage storage and laundry facilities. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1.1 km from Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, 1.2 km from National Theatre of Costa Rica and 1.4 km from Metropolitan Cathedral. Juan Santamaria International Airport is 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing