We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Calm, Beautiful Oasis with Awesome Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aranjuez Hotel
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Calm, Beautiful Oasis with Awesome Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I arrived at this hotel harried and overwhelmed. Arriving from the Panama border, my backpack had inadvertently been left by the bus company at the border! I was panicked and extremely distraught. The incredibly kind man who checked me in, Gregory, spoke flawless English and was determined to get to the bottom of the matter. And he did with utmost care and concern for me until my backpack and I were re-united the next day. I remain very grateful to him.

The hotel is lovely, beautiful little sitting areas all around and my room was simple and yet had everything I could want. The warm color schemes everywhere also gave the entire place a homey and cozy feeling. Everything is very well maintained and cleaned constantly.

As has been mentioned by many other reviewers, the breakfast is nothing short of amazing - certainly the best I've had throughout my Central American travels and set in a gorgeous garden setting.

Aranjuez is a wonderful oasis in a city like San Jose and it was the best choice I could have possibly made in the crisis I found myself in. Even if I hadn't been in such a state, Aranjuez is still a fabulous choice!

No need to look any further in San Jose - stay at the Aranjuez and you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different. Mine was great. Ask to see different ones - the ones I peeked into were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohafromChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    391
    78
    22
    14
See reviews for
147
443
111
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel seems to be very well known by travelers who look for great value and wonderful service. The taxi we took at the airport (regular, orange cab) took us straight to the place; our reservation was in place and our room was ready. Spot clean. It's a conglomerate of 5 antique houses with the special charm that it's easy to get lost but one finds the exit right away. The patios are lovely. The personell is knowledgeable and friendly. They organized our excursion to Tortuguero right away, although it was Good Friday when in Costa Rica even the dogs take vacation. The hotel is well located in a popular but friendly neighborhood. You can walk several circuits pointed out on their map, or take a short ride to downtown in a cab they will call for you. When we got back from our 2-week visit to other places, we wanted to stay with them but they were fully booked. Too bad, but we got to stay at a wonderful hotel (4 times the price, though). If you don't want to spend that much, the people at Aranjuez will point you to many other hotels in the neighborhood. But nonce compare to Aranjuez. And, by the way, their breakfast in the garden is world known, rightly so,

Room Tip: Their reservation process is, lets say, "original", but go through it. It guarantees your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aventurero2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed 5 nights in Hotel Aranjuez due to a previous booking and no where else to go. I would have left after one night. The neighborhood was seedy, parking was very very difficult (don't take a car), the walls were paper thin, the wood floors were like a drum with high heels & children playing. The desk people were helpful to a point. The breakfast was OK. The rooms are mostly without windows, dreary, and dark. Yes, it is cheap but sometimes you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank budd113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for arriving and departing San Jose during a 2 week trip with my parents. I have been in Costa Rica for 2 1/2 years and wish that I had found this hotel sooner. I have stayed in private rooms in hostels for the same price that you can get a room in this hotel, which is quite frankly rediculous for the quality of the room and experience here.
The rooms are excellently kept and the staff were extremely helpful with trying to assist us in our every need. Breakfast is simply extraordinary, I would happily pay extra for the buffet they supply, but it is included in the price of the room. I have never had so much choice of things to eat in the morning!
If I am ever in San Jose again, I know where my first port of call will be.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillipsrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Aranjuez Hotel is situated 10 minutes away from the San Jose City Center in a quiet neighborhood. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are small and clean. The inside of the hotel has an outdoor/nature feeling to it which was unexpectant but so pleasant. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Your stay also includes a buffet breakfast which has a lot of variety to choose from. If you choose to stay in San Jose then you should definitely stay at the Aranjuez Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I recently stood at Hotel Aranjuez. My experience at the hotel was great. The room was perfect as well ast the location, not to mention the price. The breakfast was spectacular. All the staff were very nice. A special shout out to Rensio who was our first impresion of Costa Rican hospitality.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Plata
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and let me say, it is an incredible hotel. Very pretty from the inside and for the price you pay, the rooms are beautiful and clean, nice bathrooms, and it's already been said, but the breakfasts. Oh the breakfasts. Omelette bar, breads and fruit, cold cuts, fresh juice and coffee, and the tables are next to this really pretty garden full of trees and flowers. Very nice place, stay here. The only complaint I'd have, if you could call it a complaint, is that it isn't really that close to anything central. While nothing in San Jose is really too far from anything else, it's not easily walkable to the central places.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edavlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.4 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Property: Aranjuez Hotel
Address: 19th Street, Avenues 11 & 13, San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aranjuez is located in San Jose and is surrounded by a tropical garden. Free breakfast buffet, free WiFi access and free private parking are available. Each room here features an authentic historic decor and will provide you with a cable TV, an outdoor seating area and a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hairdryer. All rooms have a desk and a safety-deposit box. Our wonderfull Breakfast Buffet is also included. At Hotel Aranjuez you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a tour desk, luggage storage and laundry facilities. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1.1 km from Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, 1.2 km from National Theatre of Costa Rica and 1.4 km from Metropolitan Cathedral. Juan Santamaria International Airport is 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing