We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don´t miss out on this hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colours Oasis Resort
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2009

This is by far one of the better hotels I´ve stayed at in San Jose. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. the hotel has a great vibe to it and is a nice place to hang out. the rooms were clean and comfortable. If you don´t stay here you´ll be missing out. James, the owner is a great guy and he´s done a well job at putting this hotel together...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank undercontrolfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 241 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2009

I have stayed here at least 16 times and the staff and the enviroment here are the best in San Jose!
The breakfast there is great and they are so accomadating.
It is like being at the beach and your are so close to everything yet not the noise that you find at the other Hotels.
I guess That is why the president house is several block away!
I love this place and highly recoment it to anyone.
Barrett from Charlott NC

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barrettklutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

I had only two nights at -- I wish it had been longer. I was here in 2004 and had a nice stay then as well.

The service stands out as excellent. Ed, the manager on duty for much of my stay was professional, personable, fun and extremely helpful with arrangements and tours. Lis was similarly helpful and nice.

I was upgraded to a beautiful suite with kitchenette, living room as well as a spacious king sized bed and bath. The fixtures were a bit dated, but they were clean and in good repair. Everything was clean and neat thanks to thorough housekeeping. The breakfast was extensive, fresh and delicious.

Ed and Lis also helped me to book at fantastic day trip to the Pacuare river for white water rafting. It was exhilarating and tons of fun.

The prices seem a bit high, given the economy and lack of tourists. The hotel was not busy during my stay, although I understand it picks up quite a bit on weekends.

I enjoyed my time here and will be sure to come back. This is an excellent base for discovering San Jose and central Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Swede_Oak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

My partner and I just returned from the most fabulous 2 weeks in Costa Rica. We chose Colours Oasis based on hours of online research and previous reviews. We were very happy with the staff, the property and location, and we are both very confident that it is the best “gay accommodation” option in San Jose. With that being said, Colours is not comparable to a Marriott. It is a smaller boutique property – only 16 rooms. The architecture is Spanish style as well as the décor of the public areas. The hotel is a perfect choice for gay travelers looking for a smaller, more intimate property that is loaded with “local charm.” It is located in a more upscale neighborhood about a 10 minute cab ride from the clubs concentrated around the more “sketchy” city center. We walked all over the neighborhood around the hotel day and night and not once did we feel unsafe nor threatened.

Some of the rooms may be considered small by our (American) standards. With that being said, most people only stay in San Jose for a night or two leaving very little time to explore what San Jose has to offer. Combine that with the perfect climate and attractive outdoor areas, why would one want to come here and spend all their time in their room? We stayed in room 26 which is their King Studio and is very spacious. It features a king size bed, living room, full kitchen and private patio. For those wanting to spend all time indoors, that room would be perfect! All rooms are clean, comfortable and bathrooms feature large showers with ample hot water.

The outdoor areas are well maintained and there is PLENTY of outdoor space (more than adequate for a 16 room hotel) to lounge around despite some of the petty complaints left by recent guests. From the pool there is a spiral staircase that leads to a spacious sundeck that looks onto the pool area. The pool was very relaxing (and a comfortable temperature) during the warm days. San Jose gets rather chilly at night, so a dip in the pool may be a little uncomfortable once the sun has gone down. There is also a Jacuzzi surrounded by plants and shrubs for added privacy. There are buttons to control the water temperature and the jets. When not in use, the hotel staff requests the power is turned off which makes sense in a country where the majority of its inhabitants respect energy conservation. This shouldn’t be a major inconvenience as the water easily heats to 105 F in less than an hour.

The indoor public areas consist of a bar area and a breakfast room. They are clean and well maintained. The bar is full-service and drinks are available until 10PM. We had a great time there meeting other guests at the hotel. The breakfast is included for all guests and consists of cold cereals, fresh fruits, coffee and juices. Pancakes, bacon, eggs, and omelettes are included cooked to order. The hotel does not have a restaurant onsite, however there are many quality and varied options via a short walk or cab ride.

Finally, I’ve saved the best for last – the staff at Colours Oasis. Each member of the staff was very informative on what to see and do not only in San Jose, but the rest of Costa Rica as well. We would like to extend a special thanks to Ed, Luis Diego, Humberto and Liz for their outstanding service.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mattmc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

This property is run down and the staff is not very friendly. My partner and I travel often and always try to stay at gay owned guest houses. The pictures look much better than the place actually is. Forget using the pool or hot tub as they do not heat either of them and they are both ice cold. The room was tiny with a very uncomfortable bed, there is very limited space to sit outside as most of the courtyard is taken up by the cold unusable pool. The staff was unhelpful and did not give good advice as to where to eat or bars visit.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Scottinaboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bond006, owner manager at Colours Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2008

We strive to maintain, continually update and also make major ongoing improvements to our facilities. Guests are encouraged to leave specific comments as to any item they may identify during their visit that is in need of our attention. The comment as to no heating or lack thereof to the pool and hot tub is not correct. Our hot tub has a jacuzzi rated electric water heater which may be used whenever a guest desires; however, it must be noted that if no other guest has recently used the tub, it may take up to an hour for the system to heat the large quantity of water. Our weather during the month of October (when this guest visited) tends to be more overcast with longer periods or even an entire day of rain. This unfortunately does reduce the solar heating capabilities of our swimming pool. After last green season, we made an improvement which doubled the capacity of our roof mounted solar system. With sufficient hours of sun, we are able to normally maintain a pool temperature around 82 degrees. Since San Jose is in the mountains and definitely cooler in general than beach locations, we hope this temperature is considered warm enough since it is generated by an ecologically friendly heating method. Regarding comments about tiny room they originally booked, we do have a couple small rooms with lower rates; however, we offer a wide range of room options and rates...from the simple basic to large full apartments. If a guest is not happy with their particular room choice, for any reason, we gladly offer other room options when and if asked based on our availability as a complimentary upgrade. Comments made as to lack of seating area area are also inaccurate. We have a large tri-level rooftop sundeck overlooking the pool area as well as several social rooms / living rooms with sofas, chairs and tables for general guest use. Colours is well known for its attentive, friendly and informative staff members with full knowledge of gay and friendly bars, restaurants, shops, tours and other activities in the Capital San Jose as well as throughout the entire country. I personally apologize, if for any reason, a guest feels they did not have the opportunity to experience our renowned service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

This was an ideal base for my 3 weeks in Costa Rica. Loved coming back after touring to relaxing hot tub and comfortable room. Staff was amused by my Spanglesh, and very attentive to my needs.
Loved the mix of men and women guests from all across the world. The Colours Club bar is a cozy spot for chatting up locals as well as other guests. Would be better if Colours had a restaurant, but the location is within walking distance of myraid restaurants. True gay and lesbian oasis with its tropical retreat ambience.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Deeported
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We were at Colours last month and had a great experience! The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfasts are terriffic.

The staff is superb. While there, we were hit by a flu bug. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and gracious. When we did feel better, they were very helpful in arranging day trips outside of the city.

This is a great place for a relaxing get away.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sdbaron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
271 reviews
3.6 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
#30 of 78 in San Jose
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#24 of 78 in San Jose
496 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 78 in San Jose
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colours Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Oasis Resort

Address: Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $39 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colours Oasis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verdant, tropical, warm, beautiful year-round raft rapids, stroll rainforests, hike volcanoes, sample hottest gay nightlife in Latin America or just lounge poolside, Colours, your adventure home base exploring "The Wilds of Costa Rica". Premier, largest and only of its kind in the Capital City, designed for our deserving gay guests. Inclusive boutique hotel serving "the community" and their straight friends, conveniently located - stately Boulevard Rohrmoser. Stylish, intimate complex with all the amenities, bar and restaurant plus our renowned attentive 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colours Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colours Oasis Hotel San Jose
Colours Oasis Resort Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing