We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super great place to stay in San Jose,Feels like home!!!”
Review of Hotel El Maragato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Maragato
Ranked #41 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Super great place to stay in San Jose,Feels like home!!!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Once again super great place. I stay at this hotel all the time. The staff are the very best. When your here they make you feel like your home. The manger Luis also makes sure your stay is great. Any problems and he will get it fix for you. If you need to find a place. All the staff try to help , like finding the bus, or a taxi. Very very helpful staff. Rooms with air. Very clean. Price is good ,right in the center close to everything. You coming to Costa Rica and San Jose. It's your home away from home. Thanks again Luis for everything!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Digness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    18
    9
    15
See reviews for
12
24
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A centrally located hotel in San Jose, Costa Rica, right in the pedestrian second avenue, near the National Theater. Clean, large rooms. Reasonable priced, breakfast included. Clean basic rooms with satellite TV. Only complaint is that you have to run the hot water for several minutes to have it warm. Ask for rooms far from the street, since the street becomes very noisy early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms far from the street, since noise starts very early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Once again my stay was the very best. The rooms are always clean. The a/c always works great. Out of 1 to 10. I rate this hotel 9. Your right in the center of all the fun day or night. Thanks once again to all the staff that made my stay great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Digness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2008

I stayed three nights at the hotel, after two nights at the Gran Hotel Costa Rica, which only has a much nicer lobby. Changed Hotels due to the preponderance of large, boorishly behaved North American 'tour' groups. Not at all civilized! Happily, the rooms at the Maragato were much cleaner and better kept than the Gran Hotel. The bed was newer with nice, clean white sheets, and the bathroom was spic and span. Yes, there was plenty of hot water, too! The front desk staff were obliging and professional. Didn't use the restaurant, but it looked just fine. The location of the hotel is great (I got a room with a balcony overlooking the pedestrian Avenida Central), and it was nice to sit outside and watch the world go by. Will stay there again when in San Jose.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Antonio Banderas wasn't in the house.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CarefullyConsidered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2007

This was the best value in San Jose. Its in a great location, right downtown on one of the more central avenues. The hotel concierge was very helpful, spoke excellent English. He showed us the room before we took it. The room was nice clean and reasonably priced. The room included continental breakfast in the morning and the waiters were very nice and friendly. They have security that stay in the lobby at night and they lock the doors. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it over the Gran Costa Rican which was down the street.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank orbit001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 22, 2005

In the middle of San Jose-Rooms are spacious(larger and cleaner than Hotel Costa Rica)English speaking employees. Rooms on the street side all have a balcony as does the dining room. Rooms on other side are very quiet with great views of the mountains. Noise on street side is mild and gone by midnight. Noise at the Hotel Costa Rica is 24/7 due to the 24/7 casino noise that shoots up to all the rooms there. Great home style meals in the dining room(2 balconies available to eat at). No "heating" or air conditioning necessary at any time of the year due to the mild constant climate. Safest hotel in San Jose as there is only one way in or out and door is locked at midnight. I have never seen any bug at the hotel. Rooms are thoroughly cleaned everyday by a friendly staff.

Stayed November 2004
Helpful?
25 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2005

Now, I've stayed in some dives all around the world, but this one sure tops my list as the skeeviest hotel I've ever stayed at. When I walked in the front door, I just knew we should have turned around and walked right out. Thinking our room was pre-paid (like the website said) we stayed. First of all, the rooms have absolutely no air conditioning, so if you do decide to stay here, ask for the lowest possible floor. The noise level will be greater down there, but at least you'll be comfortable if you dare to slip in between the sheets of the beds. The ceiling tiles were stained and we even were graced by the presence of a roach! Yippie! At night, the active foot-street is bustinling until the wee-hours of the morning. If that's what you're into, then this is the hotel for you! Otherwise, trek across the foot-street to the Gran Costa Rican and stay there!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jesikah6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 77 in San Jose
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#54 of 77 in San Jose
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#37 of 77 in San Jose
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#24 of 77 in San Jose
481 reviews
3.7 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 77 in San Jose
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Maragato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Maragato

Property: Hotel El Maragato
Address: Avenida Central, Calle 1 and 3, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Maragato 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Maragato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Maragato Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing