We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at La Amistad”
Review of Hotel La Amistad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Amistad
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Not only is Hotel La Amistad a nice place to stay it has a wonderful restaurant and bar. The chef Jose prepares some wonderful meals and the bartender Jenny will fix you some awesome drinks. Breakfast at La Amistad is amazing too, with fresh fruit, eggs to order, rice and beans, meats and pancakes or french toast along with fresh coffee and juice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharkhunter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Amistad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 232 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel came recommended to us from our son, who wanted to stay here but it was full at that time. So he just took a short tour, and was impressed by the size of rooms, cleanliness and ameneties etc. to make a long story short, we booked a month in advance and booked the penthouse suite. Upon arrival, everything was ready, got picked up at the airport, within minutes, got settled in our room. Found the room to be comfortable, really good bed, excellent hot jacuzzi tub, shower, and air conditioning, all working well. Walking distance to the main park, currency exchange, bank, and the tour guide was very helpful in arranging tours. Not cheap, but good quality tours, and good english speaking drivers. The owner of bar and kitchen, was very helpful in making us feel welcome, and a generally great guy to ask any questions of. Excellent food quality and drinks were well made! I rate it 9/10. Excellent ! Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrotter120201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at La Amistad back in December 2011 and March 2012, and am getting ready to stay again February 2013.

The Owner and Staff are excellent - Matt, Rudy, Carlos, Jorge, and staff are all extremely helpful and willing to assist whenever needed. Don and Mike are also awesome as part owners of the newly renovated restaurant!

I arrived at 6am (red-eye flight) before my room was ready and they allowed me to stay in another room until check later that morning/afternoon.

There is a train that operates during the week that could affect light sleepers, but ear plugs do the trick. The water pressure is awesome. La Amistad has the most comfortable beds too! Free calls to the US, and laundry add to the amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Latin1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Great place. Excellent service. Not a bad location, short walk to town. Safe area right near the hospital. I have stayed here several times. The owner is grate and very helpful. Staff is great also. Rooms are very clean. Also has a good breakfast and a nice bar area. Very modern place. I will stay here again when I have to come to San Jose.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Haze70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the hotel in mid-october. I tried out several rooms but the penthouse suites were the nicest. Extremely roomy with nice modern amenities, including a jacuzzi. Of them all, I think room 202 had the best layout and was the most comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the girls working the bar were fun to chat with. Alex Palma, the taxi driver/tour operator who works out of the hotel is a great source to use if you have questions about San Jose or tours. Overall, I would have given this hotel an excellent rating except for one big drawback...the train noise! There is a commuter train line that runs right next to the hotel and every morning (and evenings) the trains come through. Depending on the location of the room, the train noise can be absolutely annoying. Definitely recommend having earplugs available if you stay here.

Room Tip: Penthouse suites are like apartments. Also, bring ear plugs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at various points throughout our 2 week Costa Rican honeymoon in February 2010. The major shuttle services (Grayline and Interbus) pick up from this hotel, and cabs come here often as well, so we stayed for a day or two when we first arrived in Costa Rica, got picked up and went to La Fortuna/Monteverde, and on the way to Puerto Viejo we stopped here again for a night to break up transit time.

First of all, the service is very friendly. Front desk is helpful with recommendations and such. The free breakfast is great and definitely hits the spot after a long flight (or before a long drive across the country). But best of all, we didn't really have to stray too far from our hotel at night (which was good, because we were trying to save money on cabs and weren't entirely comfortable walking around at night) because the room service menu is excellent. We had ordered a salad, the four cheese risotto, and numerous other things, and everything was delicious! We still talk about the food at this hotel, to this day. Best hotel food we've had, probably because it doesn't taste like hotel food, but rather a legit restaurant.

We were given fairly large rooms (maybe most/all of them are relatively large) and found them to be clean.

The only heads up - since prostitution is legal in CR, we found that when we came to the hotel in the middle of the week, there was a lobby full of male tourists with some not-so-fashionably dressed women, if you catch my drift. If this kind of thing bothers you then consider yourself warned. If it doesn't (it didn't bother us - we didn't hear anything and they leave you alone) then this is a great hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel recently and couldn't be more happier. Nice, neat and clean hotel with decent sized rooms/ Free breakfast. Has few english channels. One of the most friendly management team I have ever come across anywhere, very helpful folks. Feels like staying at home. Train noise is minimal towards back of the hotel although light sleeps may have a bit of problem in rooms facing the tracks. The overall great experience at this hotel more than makes up for train noise issue which runs like 3/4 times an hour between 6 AM and 10 PM on weekdays only. Will love to stay back here

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 189SuperNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#22 of 77 in San Jose
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#20 of 77 in San Jose
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#44 of 77 in San Jose
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Morazan Hotel & Casino
#56 of 77 in San Jose
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Amistad

Address: Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: $65 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Beach Miami meets Costa Rican Culture. Located in Barrio Otoya and Amon, upon entering the Hotel you see the beautiful Art Deco Tile and Marble, surrounded by rich, dark native wood beams and floors. 34 rooms include 6 Penthouse Suites with King beds, 24 jet Jacuzzi tubs and personal dry sauna as well as, another 26 Luxury Rooms with either King or Queen size beds. All rooms have 80 channels of Cable TV with HBO and Cinemax, flat screen TVs, hardwire and wireless internet access, refrigerator, digital safe and luxurious mattresses. You will find these quiet Barrio's are away from the noise and traffic of downtown but still only a short 5 minute walk to all of San Jose's main attractions - The National Theatre, Museums, Shops, Restaurants, Casino's, Nightlife and Exotic Parks. As always free wireless, long distance calls to USA and Canada and laundry. Breakfast included in price. Ask about our ALL INCLUSIVE options. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, All domestic Beer and Wine, Well Drinks, 50% off top shelf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad San Jose
Hotel La Amistad Costa Rica/San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing